We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Vacation Spot”
Review of Nihi Kai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nihi Kai Villas
Ranked #17 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Favorite Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We just booked out 3rd trip to the NIhi Kai Villas. We've stayed in units 603 and 400. 400 is updated, has a great view, and is closer to the beach and pool. But 603 is a bargain and also great if you're looking for a deal. 603 doesn't advertise a view, but does have a distant peek-a-view view. The condos are 30 plus years old, but well taken care of. The windows and a few other things are very worn. When you book a condo here, you can get everything from a condo that hasn't been updated in 30 plus years to something that's completely renovated, and everything in between. 603 is not renovated. 400 has a remodeled kitchen and bathrooms. The condos are large and perfect for families of 4-6. End units are great for the extra breeze ( no ac) and extra square footage. Top floors are also good for the vaulted ceilings. The grounds are beautiful, pool is basic, and you are a close 4 minute walk to beach. If you are used to fancy resorts Nihi Kai is probably not for you. Our family enjoys the quiet home like feel of the NIhi Kai. We've used The Parrish Collection to book our trips. You can also find NIhi Kai condos for rent on VRBO. Love this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveHawaiiLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    46
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in unit 511 which has three bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms are downstairs and have large, private bathrooms. One of the rooms also has a TV. The other bedroom is upstairs and is smaller with no private bath. It shares a small 3/4 bath with the upper level. This setup worked perfectly for our family. We shared the unit with my cousin and her daughter. The kids slept and spent quite a lot of time in the bedroom with a TV downstairs. This was good for them and for us. We slept in the small upstairs bedroom. This also worked fine for us as we kept all of our clothes downstairs and mainly used the downstairs bathroom. There is a nice breeze upstairs day and night. This unit has only a small ocean view, but the garden view is lovely. It is only a short walk to Brenneke's Beach and Poipu beach. There was a TON of beach gear on the lanai that we could use (sand chairs, grass mats, goggles, balls, buckets, a boogie board, a cooler, tennis rackets, etc) This was very nice to have and meant we didn't have to rent/purchase as much. The kitchen also had a lot dishes, pans and silverware. Much more than we saw in other units. We had several other family members who joined us on this trip and stayed in other units at Nihi Kai. They were all happy with their units, but when we all wanted to get together they joined us in 511 because of all the space and seating room. There are 8 chairs on the front lanai alone. The decor is not top of the line, but was fine for us. The pool is close, but not very big. It is also quite deep. It starts at 3ft, but very quickly gets much deeper, upto 9 ft. More than half of it was over my head. There is also a very small "footbath" that little ones could play in . My kids did not seem to mind the depth and my daughter leaned to dive, but it could have been better. It was a very comfortable stay and we will plan to stay there again the next time we are in Poipu.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationwarrior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We had read a Tripadvisor review of Nihi Kai Villas #700 AFTER we had booked it and were a bit worried after reading it. After our stay there we must point out a few pros and cons: it was not as bad as the other review stated. The overall Nihi Kai Villas property is very well maintained; nice well kept grounds, tennis courts, communal BBQs that we always found (and left) clean. Unit #700 is a two story condo which, being an end unit, has more square footage upstairs than other units. The living area upstairs is huge with a nice deck, free wifi, new HD TV. It is equipped with new granite counter-tops and stainless steel appliances. The unit, the carpets (do as the owners request and take your shoes off) and furniture are clean, not worn and up to date despite the fact that holiday condos such as these see a lot of traffic. It is well equipped with chairs for the nearby beaches, sun umbrella, other items for sand and surf and more dishes, glasses and silverware than we could use in one sitting.

I agree with the previous review in that the bathrooms downstairs need an upgrade. They were very clean, the washer and dryer were new and had no problems. There was no mold anywhere nor any musty or moldy smells. However, the bathtub (blue one) and sink (blue one) still has drainage problems, the tub is very old, the shower rod is rusty. It appeared to us that the owners had completed numerous upgrades over the past year or so. I can only trust that they carry on and complete required upgrades of bathrooms. And some heavier curtains in the bedrooms would add more privacy than is available.

Overall, with minor problems, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEC053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Think beach house, nothing fancy, but comfortable, clean and nice. We stayed in 801 and we thought it was perfect. Was a short walk to the beach, which was really nice as the grounds are pretty. Sure it's a little outdated, but it added to the charm. It was great having a kitchen and often used the lanai to sit and enjoy our meals. The view was a little bit of everything, from mountains, to the resorts, and a little bit of water in there as well. The only thing we'd change is the length of the trip. Unfortunately we didn't take advantage of some of the amenities, like the tennis courts or the BBQ's but we did check out the pool. Went at night so it was a little chilly without the sun, but it's a very nice area and the ocean is a short distance away. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDavis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Nihi Kai #700, Fresh from my memory: Horrible showerheads that hurt, rusty showerheads, moldy wallpaper, mold inside washing machine, gross smelling overall, certain fans either did not work or were too loud, I was creeped out the entire time to walk barefoot on bathroom floors - outdated and gross, moldy weirdness around windows, hardly any closet space - space belongs to owner, one bathroom was 70's yellow, the other 60's blue, yellow bathroom sink clogs, blue bathroom shower clogs, imagine taking a shower with your new husband in a shower that fills up 4 inches clogged with god knows whose hair and what not, not the condo's fault but should never get a 2 story with a 1 year old, yes - it did say it had no air conditioning, but this place was HOT - bad circulation (window placement) every interior door slatted - no privacy, windows slatted - no privacy, curtains sheer - no privacy or heat protection. Overall - bad. Not happy. Went to get remarried - was SO excited... very disappointed. How can anyone say it is good?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Nihi Kai Villas is a great condo choice if you are looking for a place to stay on the South Shore of Kauai. We have been to Kauai many times and have stayed at Nihi Kai many times. We just returned from another wonderful stay. The units are clean and have alot of space, ours had a nice ocean view. The pool is great, lots of chairs, a kiddie pool and bathrooms at the pool, slong with a soda machine. The condo is right at a cove where you can watch sea turtles daily and walking distance to Brennecke's and Poipu Beach. The condo is also walking distance to a couple restaurants, deli, surf shop and the green belt walking trail at Poipu Kai taking you to the Hyatt. There are many great places to stay in Poipu, this is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiaYiaOpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Our family-- mother ,father, 9 and 12 year old children- stayed in Nihi Kai Villas Unit 820 in late August, 2010. The unit was very spacious. The kitchen was well-equipped with modern appliances, and there was a large gas barbeque steps from the unit. Beautiful views from the lanai. The pool was large and very clean. It was steps from a beach with great waves for body boarding, and a body board was included. One beach over you could snorkel. There was some snorkelling equipment in the closet, not bad but not the quality you get from the rental shops. We loved the place and would return in a minute. It is only minutes from some great attractions like Outfitters Kauai, which runs zip line safari trips I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4travelinfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#5 of 30 in Poipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihi Kai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihi Kai Villas

Property: Nihi Kai Villas
Address: 1870 Hoone Rd, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8504
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nihi Kai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nihi Kai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihi Kai Villas Hotel Poipu
Nihi Kai Villas Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing