We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, large units” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nihi Kai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nihi Kai Villas
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location, large units”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We traveled with our extended family of 6 and rented 2, 2 bedroom units next to each other for 2 weeks.

We booked through the Parrish Collection and specifically booked 2 units that were next to each other so we could easily move between units. We were never informed that even though the units were right next to each other, the don't share a common entry hall. We had to walk DOWN 3 flights of steps, over 25 yards and BACK UP 3 flights of steps. Some people in our party were pushing 70 and this proved to be quite a challenge. Shame on the Parrish Collection for not mentioning this during the booking process! There WERE side by side units that shared a common entrance that would have worked much better for us.

I will be reviewing the grounds and common features of all units in this review. Since each unit is individually owned and furnished they are all completely different.

Pros:
1. Location - right across the street from Brennecke's Beach on a hillside so that the top floor of most units have an "ocean view". An easy walk to Poipu Beach.
2. Very spacious floorplans: These units were built in the late 70's at a time when size was king, literally. Many of the units have king beds in at least one bedroom and still have plenty of room to move around. I believe the smallest 2 bedroom unit is 1400 square feet, which is pretty big!
3. Beautiful grounds - lots of flowering trees and shrubs, many of them with placards indicating the name.
4. Fast, free internet.
5. Ceiling fans in all rooms - a must in July!
6. Washer and dryer in each unit.

Cons:
1. Swimming pool is not very exciting. It was heated, but within 5 minutes my eyes were stinging and I reeked of chlorine when I got out. Also, no jacuzzi which is a big bummer.
2. Only about 1/3 of the units have an ocean view, and of those that do you are usually looking at roofs, power lines, and then the ocean beyond that. There are very few units that you can actually see the coastline from.
3. Some of the higher numbered buildings are quite a hike up from the ocean.
4. The toilets in both our units were ridiculously loud - think of the loudest airport bathroom toilet you have ever used and multiply that by 2. They were so loud they startled out children - aged 6 months and 3 years old. Because of this we were forced to either not use the bathroom while the kids were sleeping, or leave our "business" in the toilet until after the kids woke up.
5. No AC (Air Conditioning): Out of our 2 week vacation, there were 3 days when the tradewinds died down and the units became quite uncomfortable. On those days it was over 80 degrees in the units with no breeze whatsoever. The ceiling fans could not make up for this. This was in July and I'm sure would not be an issue in January.


All in all, not a bad resort by any stretch of the imagination, but slightly overpriced for what you get. One evening we took a walk through the Poipu Kai greenbelt to the Hyatt and were quite jealous to see they had newer units, many with central AC and lots of open, green space everywhere you walked.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hbsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    45
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in unit 403. The unit has an ocean view, and overlooks the pool area. The unit was clean, and contained most of the comforts of home. These villas sit pretty close to Brenneke's beach which was perfect for body surfing for our boys. Also, Poipu beach park is right there, and we had fun snorkeling there. This unit had an apartment sized washer/ dryer which was important, as they charge extra for clean towels during your stay. We didn't mind doing a load of towels each night, but that might be something to consider. The only reason I gave this place a 4 star rating instead of a 5 was because it could have provided a few more basic items in the unit to make our stay better. Providing laundry detergent, basic kitchen items like foil etc would have been helpful. Now that I write this I think...what the heck! It was a great place, and minor issue with laundry soap! I am changing my rating!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit in the 400 unit. Nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We really enjoyed our unit #806 in the Nihi Kai Villas. It was a 2 bedroom villa with lovely ocean views. The location was great, and it had been refurbished with new bathrooms and bedroom and attractive kitchen.. The condo was clean and comfortable, although furnishings were not luxurious, much to our relief, as this was a family trip. Everything we needed was in place, from games to a beach towels. Our family of six, with 4 grown kids in 20's/30's had a wonderful time walking to the pool and beach every day and snorkleing, surfing, swimming, and exploring the island, and hiking. We had some great meals on the deck, and inside the condo. Used the community BBQ once which was cool. We had friendly neighbors who offered us their tennis rackets, and generally had a fantastic time. There were things in the closet for young kids, and I'd say for relaxed family vacation, this is an ideal spot. The only thing we would suggest they change would be to put solid wood doors rather than the louvered ones on bathrooms and bedrooms for a bit more privacy, but the 2 story set up helped in this regard. Ceiling fans worked, wifi worked, shower granite tiles were particularly attractive. Our price through the owner was reasonable.

Room Tip: The condos are on a hillside, so it's nice to get an ocean view, although some with knee problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CamasHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at #803 in Nihi Kai Villa from March 28th to April 7th 2012. We felt this condo was expensive for what was really there. The pros are: Large and spacious, 2 flatscreen TV's. Large Lanai, good wifi reception and an over the rooftops view of the ocean. Very comfortable king bed. The condo had a washer & dryer. Also a safe for valuables. Kitchen supplies were adequate. It was mostly clean and staff were friendly.

Now for the cons: There was no air conditioner, windows face away from the breezes, so the condo was always very warm. Hard to sleep when the air is so warm at night. Furnishings were 1980 vintage. Only 2 small hand towels were provided and 1 facecloth, 2 bath towels. Bathroom fixtures need a complete upgrade. The toilet is held up with a chunk of wood. The finish on the sink and toilet are worn badly. The shower curtain bar is all rusted. (Don't hang anything on it, or it will be stained permanently). Also lots of hard water buildup on the taps and faucets. The couch had been recovered, but the cushions were too small. When you sit on the couch the cushions slide towards the back and you end up sitting with your legs on the hard wicker edge. Dining room table has an arborite finish and the leg of the table is missing a large strip of arborite. The carpet was stained and we did not feel like we could walk around barefoot. The can opener did not work. There was no tea kettle. Also no boogie boards. We had to rent them. Most condos supply boogie boards. We give the condo and furnishing 2 1/2 stars. We bumped it up to 3 stars because the staff was so good to work with.

Room Tip: Look for a better maintained condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Respectfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrishKauai, Manager at Nihi Kai Villas, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Aloha Respectfully,

Thank you for choosing The Parrish Collection Kauai and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We strive to meet our guest expectations and thus maintain a four-tier rating system in addition to detailed photographs and descriptions on our web site. I see that you booked on-line booking based on that information. Most units at Nihi Kai do not have AC and we do not otherwise. I am sorry you expected it. I also see that the unit you chose online was rated “Island Casual” and it clearly states that the unit has not be upgraded recently. That said, the units are well maintained and we strive to keep them in the best condition. If we missed something on this visit we certainly do apologize. We have noted some of the maintenance issues you mentioned and have immediately addressed them.

Again, thank you for your kind words about our staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This property worked great for our family vacation (1 week). We traveled with grandparents, 2 adults and 2 children. Location was perfect! Just off the main road but close to beaches. The condo was clean and spacious. Comfy, not luxurious or 5 starish. Nice balcony with tables and chairs for sunset viewing (well partial view). Kids used the pool. Plumbing worked and it was nice to have washer and dryer. Only complaints would be that curtains not so good for privacy at night, can see in rooms. Some lighting upgrades would be nice (in kitchen) and we couldn't work the DVD player in the living room.
Another tip - there are no supplies in condo except 1 roll of TP (couple extra under sink) 1 box kleenex for each bathroom and part roll of paper towels for kitchen. If you plan to make meals - plan to go to store right away. There is a Big Save market about 10 min or so away in Koloa. No food items at all except salt, pepper, a hotel size thing of coffee. This unit had plenty of serving dishes & utencils. They did have shampoo, conditioner and body wash which I used and liked.

Overall - great place to stay and we would come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjcjhaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nihi Kai Villas #203

We stayed at this property from March 14 – 24, 2012. We just returned and we are all feeling sad that we had to say goodbye to our lovely villa and the gorgeous weather and beaches of Poipu.

Our villa was newly renovated and you could tell. I usually wear socks in hotels or other rented places, but the carpets were so clean and nice, I didn’t bother. The kitchen is lovely with brand new appliances, cabinets, etc. You could cook a thanksgiving dinner there and have every possible pot, pan, utensil, plate, bowl, bakeware, etc. you need.

The little kitchen ‘bar’ area was a hit with my kids, but my favourite was the huge dining room table. It was a great setting to have your dinner in this sunny and breezy corner of the suite.

Televisions are new. We had lots of fun using the living room TV to project our videos and photos we took each day. It was usually our dinner time entertainment.

The bedrooms are comfortable, but slightly cramped. Be careful moving around the corners of the bed, especially the one at the end of the hallway (it faces the stairs leading up to the suite). My husband banged his toe so hard, I think he broke it. I had bruises on shins and ankles from it, as well. Loved those big beds, but man it was tight quarters in some spots.

The bedding and mattresses were great. Soooooo, comfortable.

Bathrooms were clean and bright. The master bath was recently remodeled, but the second one didn’t look like it had been touched since 1970 (avocado coloured bath tub!). But, that was the one the kids used, so they really didn’t care. It was clean and functional.

Washer and dryer appeared new. They are TINY, so don’t plan on doing huge loads. You’ll need to buy some detergent, but there is one box (for one load) of Tide that was supplied when we got there.

Our main (largest) lanai looked onto the pool and had an ocean view. It was gorgeous ! You had to contend with the pool noise in the evenings, which was a bit of a bummer having to hear ‘marco polo’ during dinner… but it wasn’t excessive. It ended up being a nice ritual to spend our days out at the beach or touring and then coming home to splash in the pool with other guests. Lots of families, so my kids were always excited to go there to play.

There is a lovely table and chairs to seat four on the lanai. Perfect to have a meal out there or a cup of coffee in the morning.

The pool was very clean, well maintained (as were the rest of the grounds). Great shrubbery, nice seating options with umbrellas and some tables. There are bathrooms there too. Warning that the pool is pretty deep. 9ft at the deepest and really doesn’t have a ‘shallow’ end. There was, however, a baby pool just off the side of the larger one, so my 4 year old was able to hang out there and we didn’t have to worry about her safety.

The suite is stocked with beach items (e.g., chairs, umbrella, beach toys, inflatables, life vest, two boogie boards, beach mats). There is also a small cooler which we used to take drinks and stuff to the beach. The freezer makes ice so that was a bonus.

The wifi was excellent. Great reception in all corners of the suite, including the lanai.

This suite and particular property, was one of the best rentals we’ve ever had. The location, was excellent as well (a few steps and you are on the beach). However, a couple of improvements could be made:

The drapes in the suite are paper thin. You have to keep the windows open to get the breeze (no A/C). This means that the paper thin drapes blow a fair bit. Because the bedrooms are on the ground floor, you really have to be careful about where you dress !!! I mentioned this problem to the management, so hopefully they will take care of it. Some privacy curtains would be useful.

Condiments and other ‘non perishable’ items for use by suite tenants would be appreciated. I’m thinking that we weren’t the only ones who had to buy ketchup, salad dressing, sugar, etc. I appreciate that people may not want to use someone else’s ketchup, but I’m sure you don’t think twice doing it in a restaurant. Anyway, small thing… but we had to leave a lot of those items behind. I’m hoping that what can be kept, will be kept. We left about 6 beers too… so I hope the next people got to enjoy them !

They had a small amount of dishwasher tabs for our use. There were plenty for our stay. The dishsoap was also provided. Papertowels, tissues, toilet paper and other things were plentiful and we didn’t have to purchase those. A few cleaning products were there, too.

I am not sure what the other suites are like, but this one is a real gem. If you have the $$ to upgrade to one like this, I’d strongly recommend it. In for a penny, in for a pound !

Fantastic place !! We will probably do a cheaper holiday next year, but if we were to do Kauai, again we will be back to Nihi Kai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife, daughter (6 months) and in-laws recently stayed at the Nihi Kai Villas for 10 days.
We had selected the Nihi Kai Villas based on the proximity to the beaches, and the fact that the condo was large with 2 master suites.

Overall, the condo was nice. It had a lot of room, 2-floors, and 4 patios/balconies.
The views from the condo, and layout were very accurate based on the website.
On the plus side; the condo was very close to 2 beaches, lots of restaurants and activities in Poipu. The condo was updated, clean, and fit our needs perfectly. The bathrooms were a little outdated, and need to be updated/upgraded. The shower was very loud, and as were the toilets. The toilets in each of the bathrooms were shakey and sitting on a brick.

The pool area was clean and had a great view of the ocean. While we did not use the tennis and paddle ball courts, they were well maintained. There was also 2 gas BBQs for grilling, and picnic tables under a covered area-- which is an huge plus for cooking at the complex.

The down side of the condo was that it was at the edge of the property next to a private home. The people at the house next door were smokers. While the entire property of Nihi Kai Villas is smoke free; we were getting fresh gusts of smoke from the home owners next door.
Additionally, the home owners were working on their boats--- so there was hammering and drilling going on throughout the day.

There were 3 spottings of cockroach looking bugs. 2 times in the kitchen, and one in a bedroom.

On the walls on the top floor, it appeared as though there was blood splatter on the walls.
I was informed by the front desk it was oil being sprayed from the fans--- which has been attempted to be cleaned, but poorly.

The condo is furnished with beach fun activities which is a plus.However, all of the snorkeling equipment with the exception of the masks was broken. Broken flippers and holes in the snorkels made all of the stuff useless.

The service at the condo was great. One afternoon the blender was smoking while we were using it. I called the front desk, and they had a new one for us the next morning. They also called us 2-3 times during our stay to check it we needed anything.

Overall I would say it was a 3 star condo. While most would have not noticed some of the smaller issues, over our 10 day stay, the smaller items were apparent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greek1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#6 of 30 in Poipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihi Kai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihi Kai Villas

Property: Nihi Kai Villas
Address: 1870 Hoone Rd, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8504
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nihi Kai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Nihi Kai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihi Kai Villas Hotel Poipu
Nihi Kai Villas Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing