We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit #801”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nihi Kai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nihi Kai Villas
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unit #801”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We just returned from our first Hawaiian vacation and I am so glad we chose Kaua'i as our island destination. We stayed in Princeville (at the Westin) for the first two nights and then moved to the Nihi Kai villas on the sunny south shore for the final seven days.

The location of the Nihi Kai villas was superb! It was literally steps from the beach. The property itself was very pretty and it had a pool (although a small one) that was perfect for my 3 year old. Our unit (#801) was described as "Island Casual" and that it certainly was! It really hasn't been upgraded at all, except for a flat screen TV. That being said, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked. There were even a couple of boogie boards in the unit for us to use. My one complaint was that there was a strong smell in the front bedroom that would not go away even after leaving the doors open while in the unit. I think maybe the carpets need to be cleaned, but as the manager said they need a good three days with no bookings to get it done properly. There are certainly nicer units on the property but we booked through RCI, so didn't have a choice as to what one we booked. For the amount of time we actually spent in the unit, this one was fine for us. There was no A/C in the unit, but frankly people that complain about that annoy me! Sit on the lanai and enjoy a cold drink. At night with the windows open and the fan on, we were fine - and during the day when it was hot we were at the beach, or kayaking, or touring the beautiful island...you get the point. After staying at the beautiful Westin in Princeville this was a step down, but we were still more than comfortable there.
I only spoke with the management upon check in, but they were very friendly and offered to answer any questions we had or help in any way if needed.
I would say this is a nice family spot steps to the beach, and #801 is a perfectly fine unit if you are not a "diva" and don't need granite counters while on vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    46
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had unit 401, it was perfect, comfy beds and nice furniture, everything you need, however having never been to a tropical place had no idea it would be so humid. Got off at the airport and nothing but ceiling fans, even in the airport, got to the condo and thrilled with the place but no AC and felt like going home, the humidity was clost to 90 according to the car hire place. We had two days where it dropped down and went out and about enjoying the AC in the car. The local restaurant Roy's also just had ceiling fans and the entrees alone were around $35 so this is common place. My husband spent most of the time in his shorts with a small towel drying himself he was sweating so much.
The two bedrooms and bathrooms were downstairs so not for anyone who has trouble going up and down stairs all day.
The view was fantastic, just across from the beach but if you have trouble dealing with humidity stay where you will be comfortable, I was told that Parish does have some units that do. Needless to say I would never go back or to any other tropical paradise unless I made sure we would not just swelter the whole week and drained of energy, I notice the office in the complex had a unit in the window so I must not be alone with this.
Everything was expensive, eating out and buying groceries, bread was around $5, one orange was $1:59 and so on. Cheapest steak was a chuck steak for $10:98 a pound. There are no pepper/salt in the unit, I can see why, the salt I bought stuck together from the humidity after a couple of days. We shopped at Safeway and prices were usually double of more.
The AC problem I have not seen mentioned in other reviews so it may be we had a bad week for weather, was a joy to get on the plane and feel that cold air blowing on us.

Room Tip: Get a AC unit in case of humid or hot weather, most do not have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in condo number 400 for 7 nights in late August 2013. We had just come from spending a week in Ohau in a 1 bedroom apartment so were very excited to see how much room apartment 400 had for our family (travelling with 3 adults a child and infant). Two bedrooms, one with queen bed and the other with two singles. Both very comfy. There was also a fod out couch upstairs. Kitchen and bathrooms were very modern and fully stocked with what you need. Big modern fridge with plenty of room to keep all the groceries. The view from the balcony was much better than described by Parrish with whome we booked, so this was a great suprise. We the condo was positioned in a great spot to see the ocean views as well as pool (partial), and was located right in from of the on site office. Great location within the property itself. Pool accessories and beach chairs were also used and were great to have there for us. Service from Parrish was exceptional. They were welcoming and friendly and ensured that we knew we could come to them with any problems.
One minor problem within the unit was when you used the toaster and microwave at the same time, it tripped the power, but Parrish were quick to attend. Unfortuentlty during the time we travelled the tradewinds that normally cool the island and condo down were not there and the humidity whist we were staying was really bad and being that there was no air conditioning, this made it somewhat uncomfy at times and hard for the baby to sleep. Some of the locks on the screen doors were also not locking which meant we couldnt leave the screen doors open to let the air in. As a result we spend lots of time in the big deep pool at the villas, up to 3-4 times per day. Pool is great and is a feature of the Villas. It was very quiet during the time we travelled and so we often had the pool to oursevlves.

Location of the villas is good, there is a tiny small sandy beach strait across the road and Brennecks beach is a 5 minute walk. Two places to eat that were good and very close by were the Italian Restaurant behind Nihi Kai, and Brennecks across from the beach. We had good service and cocktails at both, food was yummy.

Overall the villas was a quiet and beautiful place to stay, no big resort feel, very much a private holiday. Walking distance 15-20 min to other big resorts and shopping centre. I would recommend the Villas and also booking through Parrish who were very proffessional.

Room Tip: Unit 400 was in a great spot with a great ocean view and easy access to car park and office. Bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearbinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family stayed in unit 400 in late July. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beautiful kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary pots, pans, plastic containers, cups, plates and serve ware. The closet upstairs was full of beach chairs, boogie boards and sand toys as well as tennis rackets and balls. Downstairs, the bedrooms were a nice size and beds were very comfortable! The bathrooms were very nice and have blow dryers as well as shampoo, conditioner and body wash which smells amazing. The upstairs lanai has a beautiful view of the ocean and large enough for the family to eat outside. The swimming pool is a nice size. This is not a resort so it's not huge or fancy, but well kept. We walked across the street to go to the beach where we did find that the waves were either too strong on one end (perfect for experienced boogie boarders) or too shallow (perfect for small children and snorkelers) but not great for swimmers, which was a little disappointing for our family. However, we had a great time and we would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in unit 831, building 8, floor 3. The views were awesome. This is the least expensive of the 4 villas on the floor 3 because of the decoration, so if you care about a deluxe kitchen, this isn't the unit for you. If you like great views at a pretty good price, and like to get out to explore the island, than this is a great value. We had a great time, and the pictures of the pool doesn't do it justice, its not as small as it appears. Also very close to all the Poipu attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eluvity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, UTah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in number 806 which we leased through Garden Island Rentals. The condo was a townhouse layout with the main living area upstairs and the bedrooms downstairs. The closet was stocked with all sorts equipment, including tennis rackets and balls, boogie boards and beach umbrellas. The ocean view from the living room is gorgeous. My son had a great time using the pool. It was never crowded. We were able to walk to Poipu Beach for snorkeling and just having beach time. We loved sitting on the lanai in the evening and enjoyed the ocean breezes. The grounds were beautiful and immaculately maintained. On the day we left we had a late flight and were allowed to stay in the condo until 6:00 p.m. which was great as it gave us a place to work from on our last day in Hawaii. The price was fantastic. I would highly recommend that anyone who is looking for a condo in Poipu contact Garden Island Rentals. Everything from the reservation process to instructions on how to drive to the property were fantastic. We would rent this unit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musicman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Since our flight was only leaving at 10 pm, we called 2 days ahead of time to ask if we could check out late. "No problem" was the answer. When I asked what time they would like us to leave the condo, no specific time was given. Hence we assumed there were no other guest checking in that day and we planned our day accordingly with the intention to check out by 5 pm.
When we came back from the beach for a quick bite at lunch, phone was ringing and we were informed that we had to check out immediately as next guest would arrive at 4 pm and the condo still had to be cleaned. We rushed back to the beach to pick up our belongings and started packing. By that time the guest were already waiting and picked up the cooler to store their groceries. Understandably, they were annoyed and so were we! When I explained that we were only informed at 1 pm that we had to leave the condo they were surprised as they has made their reservation well before and the fact that new guest were checking in should be no surprise. Anyway, we checked out at 4 pm and at that time the cleaning crew arrived. As a result of our late check out, damages were incurred, which I understand. However, this was not our fault especially since I had asked for a late check out 2 days earlier! As a result our deposit was not reimbursed which I find extremely unfair. If you run a business, run it professionally!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sonja t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrishKauai, Front Office Manager at Nihi Kai Villas, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Aloha Sonja,

Even though you did not stay with Parrish Kauai, I wanted to respond in defense of Nihi Kai Villas since this review affects all the units at the property. I completely agree that the way you were handled was unprofessional. It saddens us to hear that guests are treated this way and that other companies and/or owners do not take the time to ensure the guests experience is nothing but positive. At Parrish Kauai, we take great pride in our service and had you stayed with us, I guarantee you that your experience would never happen. Our front desk is open 6 days a week and our staff is on property 7 days a week working with all our guests to make sure the check-in and out process for all is seamless and pleasant. Next time you find yourself visiting Kauai, I hope that you give Nihi Kai another chance, but select The Parrish Collection Kauai as your host. We guarantee it will be better.

Mahalo,

The Parrish Kauai Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#5 of 30 in Poipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihi Kai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihi Kai Villas

Property: Nihi Kai Villas
Address: 1870 Hoone Rd, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8504
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nihi Kai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nihi Kai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihi Kai Villas Hotel Poipu
Nihi Kai Villas Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing