We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHRIMP”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savage Shrimp

Savage Shrimp
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SHRIMP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

It's just Gooooood! This is a small, cafe-like restaurant. Don't let the casual vibe fool you. It's fresh, quality food. My favorite is the scampi and butter-prepared shrimp. Simple and Tasty. Nice owners and staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    235
    111
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Othello, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serious shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place was fantastic!! The garlic shrimp was absolutely fantastic!! Nice little place to kick back and relax.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“It is OK, but not a repeat visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had heare of the Savage Shrimp and its history as a Food Truck in Koloa, Kauai, near Lawai Beach. The local authories were able to get the owner to move into the shopping mail behind her to eliminate the food truck.

The restaurant is a small hole in the wall operation. Inside are 4 table and outside 2 or 3. Interior decorations are typical of a food truck atmosphere, with graffi all over the wall like you see on a food trunk.

Menu striclty shrimp, prepared in several different ways. We had the garlic shrimp and the Lava Rock shripm ( very spicy) If you get the Lava Rock shrimp take some extra napkins it is messy to eat especially when you have the remove the shells.

Shells are split on all entrees and you remove the shells. They will do it for you for a $2.00 charge per plate. Alcoholic beverage is not available. Service is prompt and friendly.

The shrimp, well it was ok but it was over cooked. The seasoning was good.

You can also call in for take out.

Price: overpriced for what you got. One can do better!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not as good as we hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Maybe we were spoiled with a few amazing shrimp trucks as we visited Hawaii but Savage Shrimp was just ok. I had high expectations for the coconut shrimp, it was bland and tasteless. Maybe some of the other dishes are less disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PankeyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Try the spicy shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am giving this place 4 stars for price. The food tasted great - we tried the spicy, garlic shrimp - however it's a little pricey for what it offers.
The shrimp plate comes with rice (or fries) and coleslaw.
Seating is a little limited as well.

Service was great - do give this place a try if you are in Poipu :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMaxPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savage Shrimp also viewed

 

Been to Savage Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing