We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Wonderful”
View from our lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from our lanai
Living room with A/C & flat screen TV under granite kitchen counter-top. Open fully equipped kitchen to dining and living areas.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View from our lanai
Living room with A/C & flat screen TV under granite kitchen counter-top.
Open fully equipped kitchen to dining and living areas.
View from dining area.
Dining area buffet
Sunrise from lanai
Comfy King size bed
Walk in Shower - you can see the ocean from here!
Kauai Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt-Jode
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Kuhio Shores 212 is absolutely wonderful. Everything looks just like the pictures. Betty and Bart are great communicators and no detail is left to question. We arrived late at night, and everything went without a problem. The condo is well appointed and perfect for 2 people. There are nice additional features as well; beach chairs, cooler, beach towels, suntan lotion, boogie boards, etc. The kitchen is well appointed and our occasional meal prep was a breeze. We spent most mornings (with coffee) and evenings (with dinner) on the balcony watching surfers and dolphins - and our days exploring Kauai. It is kind of funny, lots of people want to get a sunset reservation at The Beach House restaurant (next door to Kuhio Shores)...we had the same view every night from our balcony!

We will return to Kuhio Shores - 212 the next time we visit Kauai. I wish all property owners operated like Betty & Bart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendycat
Pacifica, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Betty is the best!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our vacation so much! Betty responded to our inquiry immediately! She responded to all our questions like; Where can you get good coffee? Where to shop for groceries? etc. She calmed my jitters about hurricane Guillermo (nothing happened).
We saw sea turtles and dolphins from our lanai. There was a sea turtle in the surf in nearby Poipu Beach close enough to touch! ( I found out later that it's against state law to touch a sea turtle.) Beautiful red crested cardinals visited outside our window on the lawn.
The bed was so comfortable. The sheets and pillows were soft. The kitchen had every convenience. The building had an elevator. That made getting luggage in and out a breeze. We dined at the Beach house and enjoyed a sunset cruise with Captain Andy. That's a great way to se the Na Pali coast. We hope to return again and would certainly recommend 212 and Betty to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining area and lanai.
Liked least: I liked everything!
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ocean Front & Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Kauai, and we are so happy that we found this gem on the South shore. The unit was spacious, clean, very well appointed with all of the necessities, and even included some fun extras! The lanai is a perfect place to start and end your days on this beautiful island. Actually, I could probably spend the entire day there listening to the waves and watching the many sea turtles and surfers right out front. Betty was great to deal with and very helpful and responsive via email. We look forward to going back to Kauai and Kuhio Shores #212!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean View
Liked least: Lack of restaurants & groceries within close walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ron e
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island Paradise”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The wife and I stayed at Kuhio Shores for the second time and our second trip to Kauai. This is a fantastic location right on the ocean, next to one of the best snorkeling beaches in Poipu, close to many activities on the south side of the island, and thte Beach House restaurant. We stayed in unit #212 and what a find! Great view from the lanai, spacious layout, perfect for two, very modern decor, beautiful kitchen. The owners did a great job of providing all the comforts of home here. If you plan to come to Kauai, I'd book this unit early!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
“We hit the jackpot in vacation accommodations!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay at Kuhio Shores #212 could not have been more enjoyable and pleasant! It was all that we imagined and more. My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on Kauai. It was our first trip to Hawaii and we can't wait to go back. This condo is beautiful and the location is perfect! Not only is the immediate area around the condo, including the beach, excellent, but the condo is located in a great place for easy exploration of the entire island. Betty was very helpful too! I'd highly recommend Kauai and Kohio Shores #212!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire place!
Liked least: Nothing, we liked it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
endless19...
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just returned from our stay at condo #212. The only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.
The unit was all that we hoped for. A great location, prompt and friendly correspondence with the owner, a fair price, and most of all the unit itself which was carefully updated and appointed with everything needed. A really cozy feel to the place.
We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no air
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry B
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Kuhio Shores condo #212; Great location; South shore paradise.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 weeks in condo #212 at Kuhio Shores to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. This was our first stay at Kuhio Shores and had only read about it online. After spending 2 weeks there, and visiting other island locations, I don't think we'd like to stay anywhere but the south shore at Kuhio Shores #212!

Even though we've only communicated via email, the owners of this unit were extremely informative and made the reservation/arrival/departure process extremely easy. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the condo accommodations and blown away by the location and ocean view! The bottle of champagne/note left for us by the owners was also a nice touch! We watched every sunrise from our condo balcony, and took our lawn chairs/cooler (provided in the condo) next door to the Beach Restaurant to watch the sunset and surfers each evening. We had dinner at the Beach Restaurant one evening and experienced a great sunset from our table.

During the first 2-3 days of our stay, Kauai was experiencing some unusually hot/humid days which, we were told by many, is rare. Having air conditioning during that time may have been nice, but honestly, the bedroom remained the coolest room in the condo, thanks to the trade winds, so sleeping was always comfortable.

Kuhio Shores is a short drive away from the airport in Lihue and close to many fine golf courses which we experienced. It appeared that the ocean waters were much calmer on the south shore than on the north shore, making conditions better for those that like to snorkel or swim at the beaches.

My wife and I were barely into the 2nd week of our stay when we started to discuss when we could return to Kauai. If we're lucky enough to go back, we'll be making plans to reserve unit #212 at Kuhio Shores. I don't know how our experience could have been any better!

Jerry & Lisa Burns

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and ocean views.
Liked least: No A/C on humid days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing