We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Hawaii”

Beach House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 16 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the Beach House offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best food in Hawaii”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my favorite restaurant in Hawaii. First of all the views can't be beat. You can sit right by the large open windows and are just feet from the water. While you wait for your food you can walk right out there and take photos. I saw a large turtle just relaxing by the rocks. The sunsets are picturesque. The food was incredible. We got steak and fish both were superb. Appetizers, salads, drinks--were plentiful and tasty. The dessert topped off the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,453
    1,082
    570
    265
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite view - average food - exorbitant prices.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our kids bought us a gift certificate to the Beach House. Having been there several times previously, we knew that lunch would probably be a better value than dinner. The view was beautiful, but the food rated only good, in our opinion. My wife said her mango chicken wrap was very good, but my fish and rings had a paltry amount of protein on the plate - three SMALL strips of Mahi Mahi. Dessert was decadent, as advertised, and the service was excellent. The quantity of fish was disappointing, but we found small to paltry portions of protein to be the norm among most of Kauai's over-priced restaurants, this trip. Go for the view, if you can afford it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been coming to Beach House for over 15 years. We were known by first name, had great service and the food and wine list were very good. This is NOTthe case anymore! Food is WAY over priced! Wine list used to be top notch, NOT anymore. New staff is poorly trained. The former local staff are all gone. Food took way to long. We were charged for a picture that we never asked for. Manager looked out of place and was more interested in his wine than saying goodbye to us as we were leaving. Very sad that this place is NOT what it used to be.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, service, etc. No complaints!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went for a night out. Excellent filet, great flavor. Good drinks, friendly staff. Brett was very knowledgeable about the dishes and explaining what drinks would go well with the different foods. Quick with his service, attentive but not overbearing like some places - was able to enjoy the meal and dining experience. He had some great recommendations for things to do on the island too! We had the crab cakes and calamari for appetizers, really enjoyed them. The view can't be beat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KauaiNikole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had a wonderful time with the family here tonight. Food was outstanding as was the service. I would recommend the Mahi Mahi with lobster tail side and definitely sit in Edwins station as he was outstanding (knew the food, kind, polite and very friendly). Would definitely return!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brewsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing