We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”

Beach House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$47
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 16 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the Beach House offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Absolutely amazing ambiance - surf, surfers, sun and sand. Excellent service - knowledgeable waitress who, without the annoying 'hover' so often seen in aspiring servers, was always then when needed. Decent wine list, good food and reasonable prices. What's not to like? Every couple wants their photo taken with the surf in the background and the staff are quite willing to help. Parking's a bit of a pill, but valet service is available. Reservations strongly advised.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,483
    1,090
    574
    267
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach House - memorable dinner”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We went to Kauai to celebrate our anniversary and decided to book a reservation for dinner at the Beach House. It was the perfect choice for us. Our waiter Jerry was funny and attentive. We had a wonderful leisurely dinner at a table overlooking the sunset.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybuglv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is NOT good”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for dinner and I was expecting to love this restaurant based on all the race reviews.... BUT the food was actually horrible. You are paying for the location/view and that's about it.
Price: 2 cocktails,1 appetizer, 2 entrees = $120 (before tip).
I don't mind paying extra for a nice meal add long as it's tasty....I would settle for good since the view was so great. Unfortunately, we both agree that we would never come back here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch with wonderful views”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went to the Beach House twice for lunch since we enjoyed our first trip so much. The burgers are excellent and made with fresh homemade rolls. The location is on a lovely beach with open air windows and can't be beat. I thought they were a very good value too, especially the kids menu items.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clydes Beach House”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had an amazing sunset dinner at the beach house near poipu beach on the island of Kauai. Our server was a man named Clyde who was very funny and helpful! The food was akin to that you would find at a Maestros or Flemmings steak house with a bit more of the seafood influence. We ordered lobster and local Mahi Mahi dish and couldn't have been more pleased. The view is amazing! All windows open on two sides of the restaurant open lanai style to the beautiful pacific. Book reservations ahead of time as everyone wants a seat at sunset!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing