We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidepools is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Embrace the tempting combination of contemporary Hawaiian cuisine served in a unique Hawaiian setting. Thatched-roof bungalows float above a koi-filled lagoon at the base of a waterfall to create romantic ambiance. Inspired by local ingredients and the rich culinary traditions of Hawaii
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went here on our last night on the Island, best restaurant so far and very good service, there are a lot of good restaurants here but this one was the best, if you only get to go to one fine restaurant on your trip make it this one, NOT the Beach House

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    383
    192
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Romance and Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

On our first night, we chose Tidepools and we were impressed. The cocktails were novel (not just your ordinary Mai Tais and Blue Hawaiians) and quite tasty. Watching the koi swim all around from your table is relaxing and beautiful. Everyone raved about the seafood, but since I'm not into seafood, I had the prime rib. It was probably the best I've had in my life and it was HUGE. Unfortunately they changed the menu the next night, so no more prime rib, but the filet was just as impressive. Once again, perfect service with a smile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food; service slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the food was good, we expected great service for this top-rated restaurant, but we did not get it. Service was really slow - which is why I only gave it an average vote.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went there the night before we flew back home, we had seen it on the net. My husband wanted to go somewhere special for our last night there. THE FOOD IS WAY TO OVERPRICED FOR WHAT YOU GET! I got the NY Strip and if I remember correctly was between $35-40 it was okay but nothing spectacular! This was by far the most expensive place we ate and the least impressing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacque T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Must for any couple!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

By far one of the best places in Kauai!!! Fantastic food and service! Definitely get the chocolate lava cake! As well, the scenery is beautifully with the waterfall and ponds! Can't go wrong eating here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing