We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for lunch”
Review of Casablanca at Kiahuna - CLOSED

Casablanca at Kiahuna
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Koloa
Cross street: At the Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club
ann arbor, MI
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“nice for lunch”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Always go here for lunch and have enjoyed the Mediterranean themed food for several years. It is at a tennis club off of poipu road. They have a nice happy hour from 2-6 with some interesting cocktails available. Now for the bad news. The owner is leaving the restaurant and starting an Italian in Old Koloa town soon (a month or so we were told). So, I'm not sure this review will be helpful in relatively short order. Still if you are here over the next four weeks it is nice for lunch (never tried for dinner).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    25
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Locals Love This Place”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The BEST place for an early afternoon happy hour. We tried the dinner here but were unimpressed. We probably should have asked our server for recommendations but instead we ordered several appetizers that were only so so. What did impress us was the preponderance of locals eating here. I think it is the fish that the locals are there for as well as the drinks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We actually ate here twice during our stay in Kauai. Friendly staff, not that busy and excellent food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JTK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland oregon
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Food”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We went for lunch. The Greek salad was very good; me husband had panini, fresh mozerrala and prosciutto ...he loved it. We are going back to try tapas plates for dinner

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have been to Kauai many times and always wondered about this restaurant. We felt it was okay but probably will not return. There are just so many choices in Kauai which are more interesting. The décor/ambience do not come close to the expectations raised by their website photos. The menu is limited and the preparations unimaginative.

On the plus side, we enjoyed the music of Mike Young. As we were leaving, we offered a small gratuity and he gave us a nice CD, which we enjoyed in our rental car around the island.

So, maybe you should go for drinks or a light snack, and hear the entertainment. Just don’t expect fine cuisine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca at Kiahuna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing