We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dog, Novel Bun”
Review of Puka Dog

Puka Dog
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Koloa
Central USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Dog, Novel Bun”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped in for for a Polish dog for dinner. The dog was fresh and juicy with good flavor. The bun completely surrounded the dog, with only a hole in one end. All the topping goodies were slid in with the dog. This made for a very neat presentation and no mess during consumption. There were a couple of small tables, but I would really classify this as a take-out joint. Good taste, complimented well with a fresh-squeezed lemonade! I would return for a try at one of their other condiment combinations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steelaway81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    849
    337
    102
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad I tried it! ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We went on a zip line adventure and our guide recommended a trip to puka dog before leaving the island. He told us it was features on the travel channel. I had the pineapple relish with their special mustard and a fresh squeezed lemonade. While the hot dog didn't fill me up, it was delicious and I've been craving another ever since, and I am NOT a big hot dog fan. The lemonade was also very fresh and flavorful. For a quick bite or to try something different and original you should check this place out. My friends dog had all of the relish at the bottom (mine didn't have that problem) but if you take a bite and don't taste any relish you might consider opening the bun to spread it around which is what he had to do.

Helpful?
Thank kimattx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE THESE DOGS”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a simple concept, yet so intriguing! I don't normally eat hot dogs, however, since I heard about this place, I told myself why not try it. The sauces are absolutely amazing and delicious!! I had the regular puka dog with the mango and pineapple relish, and sides of banana, papaya and coconut relish!! OF course, I had to try most of them!!! I definitely also love their garlic mayo...extra yummy. This is a must if you visit KAUAI!

I love this place--I definitely would open one here in San Diego. It would be a great hit!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good idea but poor execution.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I kept eating my polish sausage wondering where all the wonderful sauce and relish was that I ordered. It was at the bottom seeping out of the bun but by that time there was no dog left just bread and sauce. Look for free lemonade coupon in dining magazine on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank City_Girls_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You have to check it off your list”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is not that great an experience or meal BUT if it is your first time in Hawaii you have to do it,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank texascoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puka Dog also viewed

 

Been to Puka Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing