We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the catch of the day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Gardens Restaurant

Plantation Gardens Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Plantation Gardens Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$33
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Plantation Gardens Restaurant & Bar is located in a beautifully restored plantation manor on the Hawaiian Island of Kauai. Dating back to the 1930's, the estate once served as the plantation manager's home for Hawaii's first sugar plantation, the Koloa plantation. Later, the estate was acquired by the Moir Family who built the world famous gardens that surround the restaurant. Our menu reflects the heritage of old plantation Hawaii, which celebrates the abundance and beauty of the Hawaiian Islands. Our fresh fish is caught daily by local fishermen in waters off Kauai. We use organically grown vegetables and herbs picked fresh on nearby farms and from our own gardens. Guests may choose to dine on our lanai overlooking tranquil gardens, lily ponds and tropical foliage or in our exquisitely refurbished dining room which features gorgeous Brazilian cherry wood floors, woven bamboo tables and plantation ceiling fans.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try the catch of the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Food and service at this restaurant are always excellent. Restaurant is situated in the Moir gardens with lovely views. Seafood is the specialty, delectably prepared. It's easy to share - and the entree is even served already divided on two plates.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    296
    119
    57
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
548 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Make sure you sit on the porch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This restaurant is located on the grounds of the Kiahuna Plantation. It looks like an old plantation house with a wrap around porch. The view is of a tropical garden that you can wander through before or after dinner. It's a little pricey but the food is worth it and the setting is memorable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samndjsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've been there each time we visited Kauai and love this restaurant. The food and service are great, but the cocktails always exceed average. We were not able to eat on the deck due to a large, drunk, and noisy party of umpteen people in the garden who moved to the deck for dinner, waaaay too noisy. But if you can get a table on the deck on a quiet evening you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redhawk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fine dinning in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have visited Poipu many times over the last 30 years & always intended to dine at the Planation. It is unpretentious but charming. We made reservations to be able to sit on the deck in full view of the gardens which I recommend. The menu had some unique items which made the dining experience a little more adventurous. We were not disappointed in the food. The presentation was wonderful & the flavors just made music to your taste buds. The food was done to perfection. I had a combination of seafood & of all things pot roast. This was the best meal we had while on our trip to Kauai. Don't be put off by the humble setting because the dining experience will likely exceed your expectations as it did ours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KahunaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is probably the best restaurant in the Poi'pu area. This large plantation house, turned restaurant, is the perfect setting for a quiet dinner or special occasion celebration. The offerings always feature local ingredients, the presentation is lovely and the service is very good. The bartender creates a perfect Lychee and Asian pear infused vodka cosmo, by far the best cosmo I have ever tasted! The special desserts are delicious and quite large for such an elegant dining experience. While not heavily advertised and a bit difficult to find (it is located across the street from the Poi'pu Shopping Center in Kiahuna Plantation), the search is worth it. We always save Plantation Gardens for our "special" dinner out when visiting Kauai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plantation Gardens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing