We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort ”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time visiting this resort. Our room was big and comfortable. The resort offered lots of activities for kids. It is a short walk to Shipwreck beach or Poipu beach. The staff were helpful and attentive. Great views from the property as well.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JCarterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week vacation in Kauai, where we were lucky enough to stay at the Point at Poipu with some friends. What a great experience. We stayed in two different rooms, a garden view the first week and an ocean front the second week. They were both very well maintained, and made for a very comfortable stay. It was wonderful having the full kitchen and the washer/dryer. We took advantage of the grills on a few of the nights, but it was also easy to go out to different restaurants as there are many to choose from that were close by. All the employees were friendly and always had a smile on their face and an "Aloha" for us. Special kudos to the people working the Honu Grill at the pool. Coleen, Zada and Mel were awesome. I can honestly say we made three new friends. They remembered us whenever we stopped down, and even remembered our favorite beverages. The pool was wonderful - hit the spot after a day of doing touristy things. Overall a WONDERFUL experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My parents are silver members and we are here for our second visit. The first visit in December of 2013 we were in 10307 and loved it. We requested it again, but got 10207. I crossed my fingers and hoped that ALL of the reviews about the noise issues of being on a lower floor were not true. Alas- WRONG. All the review were true true TRUE! At 6:30 AM the first morning the kids directly above us were up and probably just being kids, but it sounded like a herd of elephants. My sister who were in 10204 said they had the same issue above them. The point is that the insulation/construction between floors is not good. You can actual feel floor reverberations at times from big movements. We made it a point to try to walk softly so the people below us hopefully didn't get the same treatment. Who knows? Maybe they are thinking the same thing about us. For the rest of our trip I am going to try to get on the same sleep schedule as the kids above so I can hopefully get some sleep. The accommodations are otherwise fine. The staff are always friendly, the grounds acceptable. The beds are surprisingly comfortable and I find the linens of a nice quality.

Room Tip: top floor or don't bother. Earplugs don't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giaco1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are sorry to read that your stay at the Point at Poipu has been disturbed by the sound of guests staying on the floor above. We want all our guests to have a relaxing time while they are staying here, and our team would have been more than happy to try and source an alternative apartment for you elsewhere in the building if this had been requested. We hope that this does not mar the remainder of your stay here, and that you go on to have a lovely vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My friend owns a timeshare here, and we stayed here for a weekend. The staff was helpful in helping us get settled in. The concierge was also great giving us many options for activities and helping us decide to take the helicopter tour of Kauai! Overall the place was very clean. The pool area is nice with concrete on one side, and sand on the other. On Mother's Day, we had a free water aerobics class and ceramic plate painting crafts available all day. Overall nice place to stay for an extended vacation!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank dippat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

It is our goal to provide all our guests with amazing, memorable vacations, and we are delighted to read that you had a great time here! We hope you’ll consider us for future visits, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was very concerned about our week long vacation to The Point at Poipu, when I learned that there was some major construction going on at the property. Friends that spent the week with us had stayed there during their Honeymoon and they said that the place was nice.

There are a couple of things to be aware of if you are thinking about staying here:

First, there is no real restaurants at the resort, mainly because everyone is using it as a timeshare and they are grilling out every single night. The grille at the pool bar s very good and I recommend the pork tacos for lunch. Happy Hour specials are the best.

Also, there is no real "direct beach access" from the property, but there are a number of nice beaches that are a few minutes walk or less than a minute drive away.

There is no real shopping on site at this property, but there are a bunch of stores less than a mile away.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Point at Poipu. It is in a great location which is very easy to get to all of the towns on the south side of Kauai, 15/20 minutes to the airport, close to shopping, beach bars and other local hang outs.

Best recommendation for food is Savage Shrimp in the shopping center about a mile West of the property. It is very good and as close to authentic Hawaiian Shrimp Shack meals as you can get. But, do not order the most spicy meal, because you will not be able to handle it. Trust me.

Room Tip: The only acceptable rooms are the newest ones that have been refurbished. All of the others look li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brostyle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Point at Poipu, and that your experiences here exceeded your expectations – thank you for your review! We feel sure that the recommendations you’ve given will be much appreciated by future travelers, and we hope you’ll come back here in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Part of the Diamond Resort properties, one should expect the sales pitches. Even to buy excursions from the concierge, I was given a spill of how much I could save by going to a presentation. The furnishings are nice and appropriate for a beach environment. The bed linens and towels were exceptional. Rooms are spacious with a well-equipped kitchen, great for a several day stay. However, you do have to haul all of your beach gear with you on your trek to a beach. There's just a rocky shore at the hotel. That being said, the pool on site with sandy beach & sloped entry is very nice if only a facsimile. It is good for children.
In my bedroom, I could hear the pounding steps of the people above me, even before 6:30 in the morning.

Room Tip: To get a room with an ocean view or Oceanside, you will need to ask and pay more. Some 1st floor &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Point at Poipu. We are really pleased that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay here, although we regret that you had cause for complaint about your experiences with our concierge team. While we do invite guests to learn more about vacation ownership, we don’t feel that high-pressure promotional tactics are necessary, and we are sorry that this doesn’t reflect your experiences on this occasion. We hope that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and that you’ll consider us for future visits to Kauai – we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location is relaxed spread out and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped if cooking is planed. Master bedroom was spacious and the king bed was comfortable. The pool and amenities were up to date and we'll taken care of by friendly staff, Adult beverages and food was available at the pool area.. If you are a craft person there are plenty of projects that were enjoyable and will last for years of memories. The guided hikes were pleasant and very informative. Evening dining was near to the location with choices from burgers at the beach to fine dining. To say the least my wife and I had a great time and look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better ocean view. All views appear to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are delighted that you had a great time at the Point at Poipu, and that the resort had everything you needed for an enjoyable vacation! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £205 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing