We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Nice Location”
Review of The Point at Poipu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Point at Poipu
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Fair Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Nice Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are staying a week with two tween boys. Our first unit is located directly over the housekeeping and grounds maintenance area, and it's been very noisy early in the mornings. We spoke to the front desk folks today, and they're moving us to a quieter unit tomorrow. The unit is very clean and well equipped--not luxury accommodations, but quite comfortable. The pool is lovely but shallow: perfect for small children! The bar/snack shack at the pool has very reasonable prices, especially on the kids' menu. The location of this resort is beautiful, though the coastal access is rocky right out front, so if you wish to swim in the ocean, you need to walk a quarter mile to a small cove that seemed a bit rough, or drive to another beach altogether. Nevertheless, there are several great beaches in the general Poipu area, a number of great places to eat (all types and for all budgets), and plenty to see and do on this side of the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room placed away from the parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    332
    98
    33
    16
See reviews for
342
261
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed a week and overall were extremely happy. Loved having 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, washer and dryer in the unit, dining table and patio with big table and chairs and lounge chair.

To get a unit with a partial ocean view and without construction we would have been farther away from the pool and ocean with twin beds in one bedroom and an older unit. So we switched to a partial ocean view and construction to get bedrooms with a king and queen and closer to pool and ocean. This meant construction was across from us. Our view was more construction then garden or ocean. Not great. But noise wasn't too bad. And we loved the newness and proximity and better beds. Places with construction are challenged. But given the circumstances it was good.

One complaint is they don't do any room service even when there a whole week. We changed our own sheets and took out our trash. And called several times to get old towels taken.

We loved the walkways along the water. And the complex was nice and very kid friendly. Lots of activities for kids. One activity person (I think her name was Ellie) was so wonderful and played with the kids. She painted snakes on the kids arms and stayed late to do everyone. Staff was friendly.

Also the pool could have been a little warmer for my taste. And if you got there late there were no chairs for your stuff. They sold stuff so they didn't really try to give or hold on to leftover pool and beach stuff from previous vacationers. You just had to talk to other families that were leaving.

We would go back here again. Also like the Hyatt next door but in the end we really love having the full kitchen which the Hyatt does not have.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buzzcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of four (two teens) stayed at The Point from July 6 - 13, 2014. We are Diamond owners and this was our first trip to HI and this property. The property is lovely and very well maintained: koi pools, landscaping, lobby areas, pool. Our two-bedroom unit was large and in beautiful condition with all the amenities we needed. The kitchen was well stocked. We had a first-floor garden view and although we could not see the ocean, we enjoyed sitting on our lanai -- great breezes! Each staff person with whom we interacted was friendly and helpful. As other reviews mention, the ceilings are thin -- we definitely were distracted by twin toddlers in the unit above us, especially before they adjusted to the time difference, but it was a small annoyance not a major issue. To avoid, perhaps request the top floor (but then be thoughtful about those below you :)). We never ate at the poolside grill -- expensive for the quality. Although the property is not on a beach, this never proved an inconvenience to us. Poipu Beach was a 3-minute drive and parking never seemed to be an issue. Plus there were so many great beaches to try around the island, we would have driven every day anyway! The property is directly along the Mahaulepu Heritage Trail (map at the front desk) and we greatly enjoyed an afternoon hiking along it plus climbing up to watch a sunrise. The Point is adjacent to The Grand Hyatt and we enjoyed being able to walk to the the luau there. We also enjoyed the view and drinks one evening from the Hyatt Terrace -- included a torch lighting ceremony -- well worth the cost of a few drinks! We stocked up on groceries before leaving Lihue, but there was a large grocery in Koloa which was less than 10 minutes drive. Property is convenient to many South Shore dining options. On a side note, there was construction taking place on the property, but we never saw or heard it so no inconvenience there. We truly enjoyed our week!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebekah5720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Love the location. Beautiful layout and I love having a beach trail that adjoins multiple properties for running. Last time stayed on point in room that lanai opened onto grass. Could see whales jumping from living room. No better place for a family vacation. Love being able to stock up at Costco on way, yet also be a short distance to Poipu for meals and happy hours.

Room Tip: Hyatt and Shipwreck Beach are next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JensOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in building 2, renovated. We were directly next to the construction at building 3 but parked right near our room. We did not mind being near the construction as we were out sightseeing all day everyday and never experienced any interruption. Even when we were back at our room early there was no noise. Yes, we saw workers, equipment and fences, but that's a positive they are working hard to make this property even better. We were on the top floor with a nice partial ocean view. Very very large property so if you want to be near the pool, request to be near the pool, if you want to be near the parking lot ask to be near the parking lot, if you want to be away from construction, ask to be away from construction, if you want a renovated building ask for a renovated building....but you cannot have all four requests! Then, after you get settled, don't complain what building you are in! Be realistic....They are all great,this is a very large property on many acres. It is a walk from building 2 to the pool, but we didn't use the pool once. I cannot comment on anything but the room since we were sightseeing all day. The room was very nice, remodeled, fully equipped, the second bedroom had a full size bed so we asked for a rollaway in the living room and there was plenty of room with the pullout sofa. Family of 5 fit comfortably. Very friendly staff and concierge for discounted activities. A/C in both bedrooms but not the living area. Absolutely no complaints about anything! Wifi is per room, and we had 7 devices (iPhones,iPads,Laptops) logged in at once with no disruption of service or speed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabolover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughson, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I stayed in room 7101 from 7/8 to 7/15 and I have to say the resrt is beautiful and staff is very friendly. If you get a room up close to the parking lot it will be better for those who have a harder time walking. Our room was about as far from parking as possible with a partial view of the ocean, so the walk was not really worth the view but we could walk out of our room slider directly on the grass to the shore line. The first morning I was there I nearly got soaked from the upstairs neighbor sweeping water off their balcony through a drain that is directly over the exit from my ground floor patio. The ceiling was very thin which I noticed when new neighbors moved in about three days into our stay. Unfortunately they were not the most curteous of neighbors like the previous ones. The woman had 4 children(I know this because I called to inform her of the thin ceiling and asked her to be considerate) who she blamed on the need to make a bunch of noise. Pounding her feed back and forth across the entirety of the upstairs rooms in a frantic gesture like a mother bird getting squacked at by her 4 hungry chicks. She had no consideration in her voice and it only made her make more noise in the form of slamming cubords, drawers and the like. The following morning was awakened to the noise at 5:30 am!! Called again and only made it worse so I banged my fist on the ceiling 4 times to let her know how thin the ceiling is,she proceeded to jump up and down in every room in her unit. The most rude and uncurteous people I have ever encountered in my travels. Security promised to try and relocate either of us but never got back to me. This behavior of noise never ended for the rest of our stay and got worse at 2:30 am the morning we left. I woke to a bunch of noise an could never go back to sleep. The asst. manager the night before was very kind in listening to my concern and offered to have security come listen and possibly kick them out if they heard the same thing, but it wasn't frequent enough that following evening to bother makeing the call. All I can say is, if you stay at this resort, you are taking a chance of the same problem if you are not on the top floor and you get stuck with a crazy mother of multiple children who can't seem to get a handle on things!! I actually fealt sorry for her, sorta! More sorry for us!!!

Great view of the ocean and picture opps, but the only beach worth going to was down the road a long walk or short drive, Poipu Beach. This is an awesome beach for everyone. Great boogie boarding and good snorkeling on the furthest west portion.

We arrived midweek so seemed to miss out on the presentation about the island and excursion opportunites, bummer. I did notice a presentation taking place the day before we left, too bad we didn't get an invite earlier, so make sure to ask about this when you first arrive or you may miss out on some good deals.

I will likely try to find another place to stay next time by trading out of Diamond.

Room Tip: Get a top floor gauranteed or bring really good earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiamondOwner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I joined my father and stepmother for our first trip to kauai. The Point has been a great place to stay. When we arrived we were placed in a ground floor unit, we thought of moving to the second or third floor via the recommendations on line but it turned out we had a corner unit. Highly recommend it. Huge patio. Ours has a view of the garden and koi pond. Very nice. It is very quiet here, short walk to shipwreck beach and beautiful views of the ocean. I recommend the cliff trail at the end of shipwreck beach. It's an easy hike and takes you up to great scenic shots. Ours was an older unit but very satisfactory. The Point is centrally located to everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful. No hard sell either!

Room Tip: Corner unit if ground floor, upstairs neighbors were very quiet. If no ocean view get garden view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy3261966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and offer suggestions to our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and the serenity. With plenty of trails and activities nearby the resort, it is a great location for guests looking for relaxation or adventure. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to The Point at Poipu Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Property: The Point at Poipu
Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing