We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Kuhio Shores #205 -- what a GREAT stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuhio Shores Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kuhio Shores #205 -- what a GREAT stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent last week @ KS Condo #205 -- what a wonderful experience! What's was great about it????
1. excellent location ~ safe, right on the water, close to great Poipu & Koloa venues (restaurants, shopping, walking, easy / beautiful hikes).

2 condo property -- convenient laundry services right in the building / steps away from our condo, well-maintained public property, very nice property management personnel; very, very safe.

3. Unit #205 -- all of the conveniences of home: well-stocked kitchen, ample living space throughout, VERY clean / kept / well-maintained, VERY comfortable bed, great cross-breeze throughout the unit, working fans, large screen TVs with DVD players in both the living room & the bedroom, great beach accessories / towels, snorkel equipment, chairs, umbrella, wonderful lanai -- great way to experience the morning sunrise (and I caught all 7 of them!)

4. Jane Loch -- cannot say enough about how EASY it was to deal with Jane Loch re: making reservations, from start-to-finish. She was very responsive, prompt, communicated all of the needed directions / instructions even before I realized that I needed them. This was the best booking / reservation experience that i have ever had re: renting of a private condo. No question went unanswered / no needs that were un-met. She hit this one out of the ballpark.

I will definitely rent this unit again upon my return to Kauai ~ Loved it! Loved it!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCMierzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    57
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
304
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were here for 10 days in late October. The views are spectacular, but it ends there. We would definitely stay at Kuhio Shores again. We loved the area and it was away from the hustle and bustle, but we would choose another unit. We also booked with Great Vacations and they never contacted us even once to see how we were doing and the car rental was a mess both on the front end and back end. In the beginning we got a convertible that didn't work and the cup holders had some oil/syrup in there that was stomach-turning. Then when we were returning a $60 charge came up which we disputed and the car rental company took care of it. Here are some of the things that need improvement in the unit.
- Bathroom needs a complete rehaul; no rugs, tub is scuzzy, fixtures are gross.
-There is no television in the bedroom. While this was not at all a deal breaker, I would have liked to have the option once or twice during our trip to catch the news or the world series. The bedroom is also the coolest place in the condo and it faces the hallway.
- There were no large spoons in the cutlery set just small ones. Eating cereal with a tablespoon was not the best.
- There were only two large glasses in the beverage set. These were the water glasses so it might be good to offer guests more than two tall glasses.
- The screens are all a mess in the living room. Both the sliding door screen and the windows were off their tracks and not at all in good shape.
- The temperature and humidity make it very warm even at night and there no good portable fans. This should be part of the place and not offered as an option for $15. Many of the condos we got a peek at had the standard large portable fans. Just a couple of these would have made a huge difference.
- The ceiling fan in living room has a short chain and very hard to adjust.
- Being in the Garden Isle, it was really hard to see a silk orchid plant and another silk plant all dusty and falling apart. Thankfully, there were enough beautiful, live plants outside of the condo to make up for this. This was just so disappointing and it would have been better not to have these horrible, dusty items in the condo.

Room Tip: We saw many units with fans, tables and furniture that was superior to this one. If you can get a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usha18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a great time in this unit and definitely will come back to Kauai and stay here. It is located right next to the Beach House with amazing views of the ocean. We enjoyed watching sea turtles and beautiful sunsets from the lanai. The condo was as pictured and clean. Favorite restaurants were the Beach House, Merrimans, and Plantation Gardens. I hated to leave. Beth and Kim Colorado

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 11 days at Kuhio Shores #313 condo in 0ctober. It is an awesome place. The minute you open the door you hear that terrific surf. The view from the lanai was spectacular . We spent mornings watching the Green Sea Turtles eating their breakfast in the surf. Then we ended the day on our lanai sipping Piña Coladas made with the Cuisinart blender watching the sunset. The condo is beautifully decorated. Everything you would need to make your visit comfortable is here. Also, it was very clean when we arrived. All the comforts of home are here. Thank you Bob and Meredith for sharing your condo with us. You were so pleasant to work with. Any questions wemhad were quickly answered by you.
Mahalo
Derald and Charlene

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saroyan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from the greatest vacation of our lives! Luckily for us we found Kuhio Shores #110...from the moment we walked through the doors, we knew we were "home". The view will absolutely take your breath away each and every time you walk through the door. The condo itself is furnished in a lovely and inviting manner with comfy rattan furniture, wonderfully soothing wall colors, beautiful tile throughout and gorgeous and spacious bathrooms. Everything was there: guide books, a wonderful selection of Hawaiian CD's, binoculars, coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, we truly did not need or want for a thing. The kitchen was fully stocked with all we needed to prepare and serve our meals. Breakfast was always out on the lanai where we watched Braddah Lance "throw his net out into the sea", the turtles popping their heads up and swimming in the cresting waves. The sunrises and sunsets were spectacular and how wonderful to simply open the sliding door and walk right out onto the lush lawn. We truly could not have had a more wonderful time. The staff at Kuhio, Robert, Nathan and (another) Robert, were always ready with an Aloha and a smile - so kind and hospitable, while keeping the complex in perfect condition. Mahalo - We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomandBarbara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We rented condo 405A and had an awesome condo and view. There really is no other place on the south shore that is that close to the water. Loved hearing the waves crash against the rocks all night long. The view is much better in the higher floors so floor 3 or 4 is the way to go. Easy walk down to a great public beach. We'll be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Kuhio Shores # 415 early Sept 2013 to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary along with our developmentally delayed adult daughter. As with most online transactions, we were a little nervous about what to expect but were heartened by the extremely positive reviews from other occupants. When we walked in the door we realized that the internet pictures didn't even do the place justice. It far exceeded our expectations!! The interior and all the furnishings were immaculate, and Mike had provided everything one could possibly think of and more. The kitchen was fully stocked with every utensil and appliance one could want, including nice touches like beautiful place mats, table decorations etc. Mike even provided boogey boards, beach chairs, an ice chest, and beach towels. He has also compiled folders with all the information one could possibly want about the island and its available activities.The view was the best we have ever had, we could almost touch the ocean; every day from our lanai we watched surfers do their amazing tricks, and saw many turtles in both morning and evening feeding right in front of our condo (every day!). In the evening we watched the most stunning sunsets ever from the beautiful lawn in front. EVERYTHING about this unit was perfect and the grounds are meticulously kept clean! Mike even called us in the middle of our stay to see if we needed anything else. What a gracious and kind host! I have never bothered to write a review before, primarily because few places ever exceed my expectations, but this place merits it. It is stunning, beautiful, extremely clean, and had so many nice touches that it felt like home. The place is so nice, we almost didn't feel like exploring the island! You can sunbathe and snorkel (the best spot ever!) right next to the condo. Mike is the most helpful, solicitous owner I have ever come across. Thank you Mike and Sue for letting us enjoy your beautiful condo! It was a dream come true.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing