We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent condo with great view from #217”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent condo with great view from #217”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I spent our 35th wedding anniversary at Kuhio Shores and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The condo has all you need to make it wonderful for a couple wanting to get away. The complex was quiet except for the wonderful waves hitting the shore within 30 feet or so away. Condo 217 was clean, with great appliances, and Mike & Sue Galvin are a joy to deal with, Mike even called after we arrived home to make sure we made it safely. It has a full kitchen, with breakfast nook, roomy living room and a nice lanai to watch the surfers and sunset from. There were binoculars, boogie boards, umbrella, ice coolers, and beach chairs to use. Also, hair dryer (for the wife of course) and an iron and ironing board. Make sure you rent a car, only way to see the island. We hope to return again. Thanks Mike and Sue.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryinjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    59
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
316
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in Kuhio Shores 418 from Sept. 23 to 30 to celebrate our anniversary. The complex itself is very nice and this unit is very special. 418 is a corner unit on the fourth (highest floor). This means you have views straight out as well as on the side--the view is sweeping and just breathtaking. Great sunsets! You almost feel like you are your own island surrounded by ocean. You can get much closer to the ocean on Kauai. Even walking down the stairs we could be at water's edge in about one minute. There is good surfing and snorkling (if the conditions are right) in front of the condo and Beach House restaurant next door.

The condo itself is well appointed, everything looked to be recently upgraded. The beds and linens were quite nice and there was a great assortment of beach gear available for use.

A potential downside to this particular unit might be the fact that the elevator is on the other side of the building. This didn't bother us one bit as we just used the stairs, but someone with mobility issues might have a problem with the stairs. Also, there is no A/C, and it got quite warm in the unit many days during the week we stayed. This is probably not and issue in cooler months. The ceiling fans didn't work well (in fact, only the one on the kitchen area worked; the rest turned so slowly they didn't move any air), but there are a bunch of portable fans in the condo, which we used and they kept us pretty comfortable--we just had to use a lot of them!

All in all, we loved this condo and would like to return someday!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddleAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I researched and researched trying to find just the right place to stay for our Kauai trip. My mission was to find a unit/condo that was clean, oceanfront, upper floor and where we could hear the waves every night. Kuhio Shores 213 was all that and more.
First, I must say that working with the owner and her representative was a very positive experience. Calls and emails returned promptly. Very very smooth transaction. No worries.
Parking is free and it’s a very very short walk to the building where you catch an elevator to the second floor. The street behind the unit (on the parking lot side) is very quiet.
This unit was perfect. It is on the second floor in the middle on the ocean side (not the bay side) and is on the part of the building that sort of 'sticks out' beyond the other units so we had complete privacy. There is a 180 degree view of everything when you stand on the balcony and it feels like you can practically reach out and touch the water. Waves literally pound the shore so you can hear them from anywhere in the condo. Location in the building is very quiet...not that I noticed any noise in the building in general. We could safely leave shoes and drying boogie boards in the hall without worry.

We loved the tile floor and the great shower. There was plenty of water pressure (which I need for my really long hair) but it's like standing in the rain. I told my husband I want a showerhead like that when we get home :-).

Bed was very comfortable. Love the cut out (large window size) from the bedroom to living room (that you can close off if you want). Nice granite countertops in the kitchen. Plenty of utensils, pans, dishes and some salt, pepper, sugar, olive oil, etc (I think left by previous residents...I know we left a whole box of sugar and 2 unopened salad dressings :-)). Expected the bamboo furniture to be uncomfortable after having bamboo furniture in a Bora Bora condo on our honeymoon that was like a rock, but the furniture in 213 was great...all the furniture very cozy and comfortable! Nice table and chairs on the lanai. TV in bedroom with dvd player and same in living room. Hard wire to free internet in the living room...and I believe there is also wi fi through the same service.

The whole ocean side of the condo is tinted glass from top to bottom and the living room and dining area/kitchen are on the ocean side of the unit, so you can see the ocean from practically anywhere in the condo. The lanai is as wide as the living room and there is a sliding glass door from the living room out to the lanai with 2 windows that open on either side of the slider. The dining area (great table and chairs) has a window to open (or is it 2 windows..can’t remember).

Ceiling fans throughout but it was a little warm for us when there during the day (although we were rarely in the condo during the day). Cooled by using the provided bedroom standing fan and a box fan we bought (now donated to the condo inventory) to move the air around. At night...perfectly cool with a light breeze. I found out from some of the locals that it was a little warmer than usual during the day while we were there too....but there are few places or business in Kauai with AC and after touring around the island we didn't see anything this close to the ocean, with beach steps away and in Poipu.

There are provided boogie boards, beach mats, beach chairs, puzzles, a couple of games (scrabble and cards I think). Didn't see snorkel gear but we brought our own. A copy of the blue Kauai guidebook (that everyone has :-)) and some other pamphlets also there.

Every morning we watched the sea turtles (and there were alot of them) floating around in the waves right in front of our condo.

We ate breakfast and snacks in the condo and only dinner the first night. Food prices are not that bad...Costco is good pricing (about the same as home) but you have to buy bulk just like at home. Walmart minimal selection and pricing not as good as some of the local stores. We never hit Safeway. Go to Koloa or one of the little stores in the nearby towns…not bad selection or pricing. Milk about 4-5$ was the worst.

Every night people walk to the west a few steps on the lawn or sidewalk to the beach or the area in front of the beach house to watch the sun set. The beach house lights their tikis…very nice. Nothing loud or big crowds. Just very pretty and peaceful.

Just an fyi in case you are interested….
Our FOOD/RESTAURANT experiences:
Dukes at the Marriott - good food, great ocean view, great service
Keoke's - owned by same company as Dukes and had almost the same menu (which we didn’t realize until after we were there) but food/service not quite as good for dinner. For lunch...very good...sit on the patio for a great breeze and beautiful garden and water feature.
Shrimp station in Waimea (walk up with picnic tables) - totally awesome shrimp made a dozen different ways. $24 bucks for 1 dozen beer battered and 1 dozen cocoanut
Beach House restaurant right next to the condo...best food, best menu, best presentation, best chocolate martini, best bananas foster, great service....totally awesome!!
Brick oven pizza....wonderful
Jo Jo's clubhouse in Waimea for the very very very best shaved ice and shaved ice with ice cream (sounds gross...totally awesome...check the blue book for more info)
TIP: From experience at the few places we ate at ….If you like wine...don't order it in Kauai unless you want to spend a fortune for a so so glass. A glass of carneros is like $17 and it's the best offering by the glass. It's about the same for kendall jackson. Bottles much more expensive than nice restaurants in the states and selection not as good. Bring your own and pay the corkage...it would be worth it to have a great wine to go with your great meal.

ADVENTURE/ZIPLINING
Outfitters Kauai is the best (and was just down the road!) We did the Nui Loa zip line with them and it was soooo great! Highly recommended. They go places other companies can’t. The guides are awesome, encouraging and watch out for your safety without impairing the fun. Great little lunch..2 nice wraps, pasta salad, cookie, juice, water. Want to do it again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliseRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in unit 103 and right from the first view we got, to the sound of surf wafting in from the patio (I guess it's called a lanai here) door, we were impressed. Perfectly clean and very nicely appointed. Watch the sunrise from the lanai and snooze out there in the shady afternoon. The ocean was a little stirred up so the swimming was tough right into the ocean a few feet away, but a protected harbour a little way down the road offered smooth water for swimming and snorkelling.
Nice location for taking in most the sights on the island. Close enough to restaurants and shops to get to easily but far enough to enjoy pure quiet from all but the ocean surf sounds.
No AC but with the breezes and ceiling fans, it wasn't necessary for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snuggsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

It has been a few months since we returned from our honeymoon on Kauai and I feel inclined to share my thoughts on unit #217. The condominium location on Lawai Rd and within the building are excellent. Right out front are some of the best and most consistent surf breaks on the south shore. The Kuhio Shores grounds are very well-kept. 1 mile drive to some very nice restaurants in Poipu or walk right next door to Beach House. Every night we slept like rocks to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks. I have seen many condos since I grew up in a resort coastal town. Kuhio Shores is exceptional and I don't think we could have picked a better unit than #217. It faces out SW directly over the ocean and in perfect view of sea turtles, surfing action and the most beautiful sky and sunsets. We did many activities on our trip - snorkeling, boat tour the Na Pali, helicopter tour (I highly recommend Inter-island Helicopters for their service and takeoff location at Pt. Allen), kayaking Wailua River to Secret Falls, etc, etc. Our favorite things, however, were going to the beach and dining out most nights. If I were to go back to Hawaii, I would definitely visit Kauai again and I would stay at Kuhio Shores #217. The honeymoon could not have gotten any better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraBradlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We have been to Kuhio Shores #212 threee times and will be going a 4th time Nov 2010. The condo is absolutely beautiful. Betty and Bart the owners, are so easy to work with and really make our stay wonderful, lots of wonderful amenities in the condo. The ocean view is amazing. We love to sit out on the balcony in the morning and the afternoon and watch the turtles and surfers. Fun to spot whales and dolphins as well!
The location is perfect, lots of shopping and dining nearby. The new Kukuiula village is within walking distance. We so look forward to our trips to Kauai and can not imagine staying anywhere else but Kuhio Shores 212.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Everything about our visit to Kauai and the Kuhio Shores was excellent. This was our babymoon, as my wife had just found out that she was pregnant earlier in the summer. Needless to say, she wasn't always feeling 100%, but there was plenty to do at our condo.

First off, the owner, was very helpful in all parts of our trip. We felt very comfortable communicating with her and she was extrememly accomodating. She has created a great vactaion spot with her condo.

The condo was spacious and clean with all of the amenities of home. There's plenty of chairs, towels, snorkel gear, beach mats, umbrellas, and anything you would need to tackle the ocean that is right in front of the condo. There is a DVD player and a laptop. I never used the computer, but did use the free wireless with my laptop and it worked fine. We found a Redbox and rented DVDs for $1 a night. Everything we needed came with the condo.

The views were great. We would play cards over breakfast and watch the surf. Sitting in the living room, watcing a movie, we would watch the surf. Just look over, and you see turtles floating in the water. I surf, so my wife would lay on the lanai and watch me surf. The entrance to the water was just a few steps away on a perfectly manicured, soft grass. Great snorkelling and surfing is right there. It was quiet in front and there is a great sand beach just steps away.

There is a lot within walking distance, especially the new shopping area. The Beach House and Brenneckes are must visits when we go to Kauai. Don't miss the Kauai Cookies outlet and get a shaved ice to make the trip complete.

We would recommend this condo to anyone. It's clean, nice, has everything you need, in close proximity to all you need, not busy like a hotel would be, and a fun vacation base.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Property: Kuhio Shores Condos
Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing