We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuhio Shores #308”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuhio Shores Condos
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2010

All in all a nice condo in a great location with a couple of things we thought you should know. The unit is on the third floor with a lovely view of the small cove below. We loved watching four green sea turtles as they grazed on the plants on the rocks below. It is beautifully furnished by a decorator. My question to said decorator is," the furniture is nice to look at, but did you actually SIT in any of it before you put it in the condo?" The only comfortable piece was the sofa. As readers, we could find no good place to read. There was a wide screen TV, DVD player, free WIFI so couldn't there be a comfortable chair with good lighting? If you are a sunset person you would be better off picking a unit on the front of the building or going, as we did, to the lawn in front of the Beach House restaurant next door. You do get lovely sunrises every day from this east facing condo. One caviat...since this unit is at the turning of the L shaped building, the entry is in an enclosed area of the mostly open walkway. Three doors open to this 10 feet of echo-y hall and your bedroom windows are right there. If your neighbors are noisy, they are right there for you to hear and for them to look in if you leave the windows open. Not having the windows open means no cross breeze which is why the owners have supplied an extra fan in the tiny bedroom. Also, there is a bright light just outside the window, which the bamboo blinds only mostly block out. If you are bothered by light at night, this would be a problem. The kitchen is well appointed with GE Profile appliances but the cookware is a bit in need of replacement (non-stick pans are really scratched, for instance). You must register your car with security but it took us the better part of a day to find someone with whom to get a pass. When we did, he was very laid back about giving the passes out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

This lovely and spotless condo had an amazing view, complete with it's own palm tree. We loved sitting on the lanai watching surfers, outriggers, turtles, sunsets and listening to the ocean waves. It was great to have use of the boogie boards, cooler and "the Noodle". The bed and ceiling fan were perfect. The kitchen had everything we needed including a great view, too. The condo also had a nice iPod docking station and a washer/dryer were available on the 4th floor. We enjoyed the community grill and meeting other guests. Mike Galvin checked in on us and gave us great tips about the area. The Beach House Restaurant next door was the perfect spot for our 25th anniversary dinner. This was our 3rd trip to the South Shore and Unit 415 was the best place we've experienced! After 8 nights it was very hard to leave. We will be recommending this condo to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanookME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Wonderful condo with everything one could want. Out stay was outstanding with beautiful views, wonderful condo that was beautifully decorated and equipped. We are already looking at our schedule for when we can return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ScottandDebbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at Kuhio Shores 217 from 9-30 to 10-9-2010. This was our first trip to Kauai and we researched TA and elsewhere to find tips on where to stay and what to do. We were very happy with this condo. It looked just like the photos and the owners were awesome to work with. He even called me from his vacation on island and timed the walk to the smoking bench for me, ha ha!

The entire property is very well kept from the grounds and walkways to the BBQ’s, laundry room, etc. There was a security person and plenty of parking. The trade winds kept the condo cool and the sound of the waves made us sleep like babies at night. We loved the beach next door for snorkeling. The turtles and surfers were fun to watch from the lanai. Our vacation was wonderful and we hope to return in the future. Thanks to Mike and Sue and a very well stocked condo!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank hereinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I spent our 35th wedding anniversary at Kuhio Shores and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The condo has all you need to make it wonderful for a couple wanting to get away. The complex was quiet except for the wonderful waves hitting the shore within 30 feet or so away. Condo 217 was clean, with great appliances, and Mike & Sue Galvin are a joy to deal with, Mike even called after we arrived home to make sure we made it safely. It has a full kitchen, with breakfast nook, roomy living room and a nice lanai to watch the surfers and sunset from. There were binoculars, boogie boards, umbrella, ice coolers, and beach chairs to use. Also, hair dryer (for the wife of course) and an iron and ironing board. Make sure you rent a car, only way to see the island. We hope to return again. Thanks Mike and Sue.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryinjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in Kuhio Shores 418 from Sept. 23 to 30 to celebrate our anniversary. The complex itself is very nice and this unit is very special. 418 is a corner unit on the fourth (highest floor). This means you have views straight out as well as on the side--the view is sweeping and just breathtaking. Great sunsets! You almost feel like you are your own island surrounded by ocean. You can get much closer to the ocean on Kauai. Even walking down the stairs we could be at water's edge in about one minute. There is good surfing and snorkling (if the conditions are right) in front of the condo and Beach House restaurant next door.

The condo itself is well appointed, everything looked to be recently upgraded. The beds and linens were quite nice and there was a great assortment of beach gear available for use.

A potential downside to this particular unit might be the fact that the elevator is on the other side of the building. This didn't bother us one bit as we just used the stairs, but someone with mobility issues might have a problem with the stairs. Also, there is no A/C, and it got quite warm in the unit many days during the week we stayed. This is probably not and issue in cooler months. The ceiling fans didn't work well (in fact, only the one on the kitchen area worked; the rest turned so slowly they didn't move any air), but there are a bunch of portable fans in the condo, which we used and they kept us pretty comfortable--we just had to use a lot of them!

All in all, we loved this condo and would like to return someday!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddleAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I researched and researched trying to find just the right place to stay for our Kauai trip. My mission was to find a unit/condo that was clean, oceanfront, upper floor and where we could hear the waves every night. Kuhio Shores 213 was all that and more.
First, I must say that working with the owner and her representative was a very positive experience. Calls and emails returned promptly. Very very smooth transaction. No worries.
Parking is free and it’s a very very short walk to the building where you catch an elevator to the second floor. The street behind the unit (on the parking lot side) is very quiet.
This unit was perfect. It is on the second floor in the middle on the ocean side (not the bay side) and is on the part of the building that sort of 'sticks out' beyond the other units so we had complete privacy. There is a 180 degree view of everything when you stand on the balcony and it feels like you can practically reach out and touch the water. Waves literally pound the shore so you can hear them from anywhere in the condo. Location in the building is very quiet...not that I noticed any noise in the building in general. We could safely leave shoes and drying boogie boards in the hall without worry.

We loved the tile floor and the great shower. There was plenty of water pressure (which I need for my really long hair) but it's like standing in the rain. I told my husband I want a showerhead like that when we get home :-).

Bed was very comfortable. Love the cut out (large window size) from the bedroom to living room (that you can close off if you want). Nice granite countertops in the kitchen. Plenty of utensils, pans, dishes and some salt, pepper, sugar, olive oil, etc (I think left by previous residents...I know we left a whole box of sugar and 2 unopened salad dressings :-)). Expected the bamboo furniture to be uncomfortable after having bamboo furniture in a Bora Bora condo on our honeymoon that was like a rock, but the furniture in 213 was great...all the furniture very cozy and comfortable! Nice table and chairs on the lanai. TV in bedroom with dvd player and same in living room. Hard wire to free internet in the living room...and I believe there is also wi fi through the same service.

The whole ocean side of the condo is tinted glass from top to bottom and the living room and dining area/kitchen are on the ocean side of the unit, so you can see the ocean from practically anywhere in the condo. The lanai is as wide as the living room and there is a sliding glass door from the living room out to the lanai with 2 windows that open on either side of the slider. The dining area (great table and chairs) has a window to open (or is it 2 windows..can’t remember).

Ceiling fans throughout but it was a little warm for us when there during the day (although we were rarely in the condo during the day). Cooled by using the provided bedroom standing fan and a box fan we bought (now donated to the condo inventory) to move the air around. At night...perfectly cool with a light breeze. I found out from some of the locals that it was a little warmer than usual during the day while we were there too....but there are few places or business in Kauai with AC and after touring around the island we didn't see anything this close to the ocean, with beach steps away and in Poipu.

There are provided boogie boards, beach mats, beach chairs, puzzles, a couple of games (scrabble and cards I think). Didn't see snorkel gear but we brought our own. A copy of the blue Kauai guidebook (that everyone has :-)) and some other pamphlets also there.

Every morning we watched the sea turtles (and there were alot of them) floating around in the waves right in front of our condo.

We ate breakfast and snacks in the condo and only dinner the first night. Food prices are not that bad...Costco is good pricing (about the same as home) but you have to buy bulk just like at home. Walmart minimal selection and pricing not as good as some of the local stores. We never hit Safeway. Go to Koloa or one of the little stores in the nearby towns…not bad selection or pricing. Milk about 4-5$ was the worst.

Every night people walk to the west a few steps on the lawn or sidewalk to the beach or the area in front of the beach house to watch the sun set. The beach house lights their tikis…very nice. Nothing loud or big crowds. Just very pretty and peaceful.

Just an fyi in case you are interested….
Our FOOD/RESTAURANT experiences:
Dukes at the Marriott - good food, great ocean view, great service
Keoke's - owned by same company as Dukes and had almost the same menu (which we didn’t realize until after we were there) but food/service not quite as good for dinner. For lunch...very good...sit on the patio for a great breeze and beautiful garden and water feature.
Shrimp station in Waimea (walk up with picnic tables) - totally awesome shrimp made a dozen different ways. $24 bucks for 1 dozen beer battered and 1 dozen cocoanut
Beach House restaurant right next to the condo...best food, best menu, best presentation, best chocolate martini, best bananas foster, great service....totally awesome!!
Brick oven pizza....wonderful
Jo Jo's clubhouse in Waimea for the very very very best shaved ice and shaved ice with ice cream (sounds gross...totally awesome...check the blue book for more info)
TIP: From experience at the few places we ate at ….If you like wine...don't order it in Kauai unless you want to spend a fortune for a so so glass. A glass of carneros is like $17 and it's the best offering by the glass. It's about the same for kendall jackson. Bottles much more expensive than nice restaurants in the states and selection not as good. Bring your own and pay the corkage...it would be worth it to have a great wine to go with your great meal.

ADVENTURE/ZIPLINING
Outfitters Kauai is the best (and was just down the road!) We did the Nui Loa zip line with them and it was soooo great! Highly recommended. They go places other companies can’t. The guides are awesome, encouraging and watch out for your safety without impairing the fun. Great little lunch..2 nice wraps, pasta salad, cookie, juice, water. Want to do it again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EliseRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Shores Condos

Address: 5050 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £125 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sunny South Shore at Poipu Beach, just 10 steps from the waters edge, these 1 and 2 bedroom condos offer the best in oceanfront vacation rental that Kauai has to offer. Enjoy the magnificent sunsets or watch the surfers or sea turtles from the lanai or go snorkeling at the beach right out front. These condos are as close as you can get to the ocean on the island of Kauai! (Note to Reviewers/Readers: The condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kuhio Shores Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuhio Shores Condos Hotel Poipu
Kuhio Shores Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing