We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, But Beautiful Grounds and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Grand Hyatt Kauai is way too big for my taste - like an apartment housing complex surrounding a golf course, that just happens to be on a beach. But, since there really are no boutique hotels on Kauai (and by boutique, I mean 30 rooms instead of 600 and an experience that can't be duplicated in 100 other locations), it's not a bad option for a short(ish) stay on the island.

Service is truly top notch, rooms are nice and clean - though walking 10 minutes to get to it... meh..., grounds are beautiful (albeit in a dated and overly-groomed golf course / DisneyWorld sort of way), restaurants are good but also dated, a bit stodgy and mostly overdone. It is obvious that this place was built with weddings, banquets and vacationing business-families in mind. But, in the end, the staff does an excellent job of making it feel like a small(er) and personal experience. Great front desk with a knack for conveying a super-relaxed but buttoned up feeling, helpful concierge services, restaurant and pool staff were excellent... It just works.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 5th floor club room, had a view of the ocean and found it to be very quiet. Would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 244mahnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,635 - 3,641 of 6,579 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Like all of Hyatt"s premier hotels, this fabulous resort does not disappoint. From the lobby to the pool areas everything is designed and decorated with the finest finishes and materials. Great food options abound. Including several high end choices with gourmet menus. The staff was accommodating in every respect. This hotel certainly should be considered one of the finest hotels in all of Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a business trip in March. The group was over 500 strong, and the resort handled the group superbly. Expansive grounds and building did not seem crowded. Lots of wildlife is visible within a short walk, seals, fish, whales and many turtles are a few hundred yards away. Pool is expansive and clean. Only draw back - drink and food prices are excessive. Location of the resort is close to Poipu restaurants and shopping as well as Lihue

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Weather was a little rough with 35 mph wind gusts and red flag warnings the week we're there but the resort was great. We both had massages at the spa which were fantastic and the food was awesome at all of the restaurants on the resort. We will definately be staying here on our next trip. Beautiful flower and fauna throughout. A great vacation spot.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I went back to the Hyatt, after many years absence, to savour once again the lovely atmosphere and delicious food. What a disappointment to have our buffet breakfast spoilt by the constant intrusion and noise of local Myna birds, who fly into this restaurant and immediately gobble up any remaining food left on plates, sit on furniture, watch and follow staff removing used dishes in the hope of an extra treat. For 31 dollars, I am looking for a little peace and quiet. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Tina3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have been to Hawaii 7+ times, love it, and this is easily one of our favorite hotels. There's something for everyone- kids LOVE it because of the fabulous pool and slides, beautiful grounds for adults to relax in, wonderful restaurants and choice, so you don't have to make reservations or anything like that for dinner, as you do in many large resorts. There is also a lagoon and the beach is gorgeous. The island itself is beautiful, and easy to get around it as it's small. You can probably get away without renting a car, or just renting a car from the hotel for the days you feel like exploring, as if you came to Hawaii just to relax you could honestly just stay in the hotel the whole time. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel itself has a wonderful decor and open, tropical feel to it. I give top points to the spa. Not only is it in a beautiful garden and spot, but they went out of their way for me. I had an issue with my massage, and did not complain but mentioned it, and the director gave me a free massage. Fantastic tennis courts in the middle of a plantation. Definetely going back!

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired tell them. The hotel is huge and not easy to get around. If you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvnicehotels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our trip to the Grand Hyatt Kauai was something I will truly never forget. The entrance to the hotel is absolutely spectacular. We were greeted with smiles and the most beautiful lei I had seen on our entire trip to Hawaii. My dad told the front desk that we were there celebrating my graduation, and they upgraded us to a VERY nice sea-view suite free of charge (thank you!!)

The room itself was lovely. High ceilings, balcony, a nice bathroom, and a stunning view of the property and ocean. The resort itself...breathtaking. I spent hours just exploring the gorgeous gardens, grounds, and beach. The pools are remarkable. I loved the lazy river and swimming in the lagoon was magical. Climbing up to the lookout point on the beach was just wonderful. There are a multitude of restaurants/bars across the property, my favorite being Tidepools (you MUST go!)

My favorite part of the property however was the amazing spa. The service and treatments were top-notch...and if you book any treatment they give you access to the sauna, pool, steam room, etc. throughout your entire stay. Just thinking about the open air showers, carved out of black igneous rock and covered with flowering vines, gives me the chills. I will truly never forget washing my hair and looking up at the clouds floating by. Pure heaven.

If you are planning a trip to Hawaii I would HIGHLY recommend staying on the beautiful island of Kauai and staying at the Grand Hyatt. The service, property, ambiance, food...total luxury. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. Thank you so much for your amazing hospitality, I can't wait until we are able to go back!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea-view. We left the sliding balcony door open every night and fell asleep to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £368 - £750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing