We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, comfortable beds, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

As with most things in Hawaii, it's not cheap, but it's beautiful. The grounds are impeccable, there is a quiet, adults only pool which was great because we were traveling without our kids and the service was outstanding. The iced, flavored water at the valet stand was a welcome and delicious treat, and all the small touches just made it perfect. Would live to go back. Biggest complaint? The breakfast buffet at Ilima terrace was a little like standing in line for concert tickets, but the food was fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joizygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,394)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,281 - 3,287 of 6,394 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for our 3rd year anniversary and was very glad we did! The resort was absolutely beautiful. Here are the pros and cons.

PROS: Lush landscape, beautiful, koi ponds, black and white swans (yes, there are black swans there!), scenic, great service, man made salt lagoon which made up for the beach not being swimmer friendly, clean room and comfortable bed, free parking (you need to rent a car in Kauai in order to see all the beauty it has to offer)

CONS: The food was not all that great, we mostly dined outside the resort, but decided to have a fancy dinner on the day of our anniversary at "Tidepools" in the resort, which was really expensive for mediocre food. The activities are not free, you have to rent everything, from the floats to the tennis rackets, but I guess this is not Mexico where everything is all inclusive. However, when we went to bora bora, even though it was really expensive, the activities at the resort were free such as kayaking, paddle boarding, wind surfing, etc. We're not expecting free excursions, but one would think some onsite activities would be complimentary for such an expensive hotel.

Overall, we would definitely come back here if we wanted to stay in the South shore, but next time we will probably stay in the North shore. Both the South and North shores are beautiful, but I felt the North shore was more untainted. You can't go wrong with either. The North shore rains more than the South shore so plan accordingly to your dates. We were blessed to have had amazing weather in March even though it's rainy season. That's actually why we chose to stay in the South shore, but it turned out the week we stayed was nice throughout the island. It drizzled here and there, but that didn't stop us from going in the water. Make sure you go to Anini beach, we got to snorkel with quite a few sea turtles when we went there, not too many fishes, but the sea turtles were awesome. A great place to snorkel is a little spot in the South shore right next to the Beach House restaurant, we saw more fishes there than when we paid for a snorkeling excursion near the Na Pali Coast (You should still go to Na Pali Coast though, it's gorgeous). But yes, if you like snorkeling, park along the street near the Beach House restaurant and hop in the water right next to it, you will not be disappointed, lots of fishes and a great variety! You'll also catch a nice sunset there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, it was fine for us because we spent most of our days venturing around...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 7 nights. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was large as well, with 2 sinks. The service was excellent. Upon checkin, there was a small issue with the room that was promptly corrected. That was the only glitch the entire week. The pool is large with a lazy river. The pool service was excellent. Lunch orders were promptly served. The concierge gave great recommendations. Overall, we highly recommend the Grand Hyatt for a great vacation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michaelbirmingham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 days of our honeymoon in Kauai and it was a very romantic hotel. Quiet and clean with a great pool and old Hawaiian feel. We had a fantastic meal at their Italian restaurant and they gave us a bottle of champagne in the room because it was our honeymoon. The only issue with the resort was the beach. Evidently the beach is only swimmable in the winter months.

Room Tip: higher floors have better beach views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We just returned from 9 days at the Grand Hyatt (my husband, myself and my 11 year old son). It exceeded our expectations! The service from check-in to departure was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised with the staff's eagerness to help - this is our third trip to Hawaii (Maui and Big Island) in three years and hands down - the best hotel staff we've encountered.

Rooms: We booked a pool view room - and we received a partial ocean view - nice surprise. The room was large and had a king and queen size bed. It was more than enough room for our family of three (and would easily accommodate four). Housekeeping was fantastic! The room has a single cup coffee maker and small mini-fridge (very small) which held about 8 drinks total if you stack them and had a small upper shelf that we used for snacks. It is very slow to chill your drinks (about 24 hours to get cold). We purchased a small cooler to keep our drinks cold. I want to add - there really are no bad room views in this resort. Even the garden view rooms (referenced in other reviews) that face a parking lot are actually facing a very large garden space that really hides the parking lot (with a great mountain view). Room views are important to us - after seeing this I thought I'd share :) No worries with this resort - it is really beautiful. I do suggest staying in a room near the pools (shipwreck) if you are bringing children as the the other wing is a considerable walk to the pool area. We had a room overlooking the pool area - and noise was never an issue - even during busy times.
Resort: The resort is stunning and the grounds/gardens/pool and view are spectacular. The resort as a whole could use a little "refreshing" but it is by no means an outdated or uncomfortable space. It's beautiful. We found the drink and food pricing to be on par with mainland resorts. What I do want to say is the quality of the food was some of the best we experienced during our stay on the island. This surprised me as I usually do not enjoy hotel pool or lobby restaurants - but these were great. A can of beer is 8.00, a specialty drink is 14.00, my son's non-alcoholic frozen drinks were 10.00 (not including tax and tip). So one nice afternoon round was close to 50.00. The lunch entrees averaged about 15.00-20.00. We found the drinks at the bar by the lagoon area to be better than the upper deck pool bar. All menus are online to view. Loved, loved the fish tacos - excellent!! One more thing to consider . . . this is a very popular resort with the locals (because of the pools) and the weekend was PACKED with locals using the pool area. I would say twice the number of people as we experienced weekdays. Certainly a nice crowd - but it just really congested the pool area. So I would recommend if you plan on swimming on a Sat or Sun - get your lounge chairs EARLY! We had 2 out of 9 days that we literally could not get two chairs together. But we did spend most days doing activities around the island.
Area: This is a great area to vacation. You are located about 5 minutes from anything you could want/need including a Big Save grocery in old Koloa town. The two shopping areas with extensive restaurant options are also about 5 minutes away. Surprisingly excellent shopping and restaurant choices within both complexes. I was concerned about the atmosphere - but it was fantastic. Cute hawaiian architecture and fun string lights at night created a fun environment for dinners. Best shave ice was Uncles about 5 minutes away.
Beaches: The beach off the resort is beautiful and the sound of the surf is awesome. However, it is a truly dangerous beach and we did not venture out past our knees. And even then - my 11 year old was pulled out to a point that made me nervous. Poipu beach area is about 5 minutes away and was decent. The absolute best beaches were at the far north shore and are definitely worth the drive. Ke'e Beach, Haena and Tunnels beaches are stunning - but get to these areas before 9:00am or you will not be able to get parking without a long wait! It's about an 1 hour 20 min from Grand Hyatt - and sooo worth it.
I would absolutely return to this property - and will have a really difficult time topping it next summer! You will love this place!

Room Tip: If traveling with children - request a pool room so you will be near the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ce_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Aloha!

Thank You for sharing your experience with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the things the island has to offer. We are excited to share that the resort will be undergoing a "refresh" starting next month and finishing by the end of the year. You'll have to come back again and see! It's a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your room, food and of course the pool. That's one of my favorites! Take care and we hope to see you again!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing garden suite complete with deck chair and facing a gorgeous view and green lawn with hammocks. The room was beautifully presented and very clean. Staff were all helpful and accommodating. The pool area was amazing and the beach/shallow lagoon area was perfect for the young kids to play. The Koi fish feeding was fun too. There is a kids club but I can't comment on it as we did not use it. Kauai and the Grand Hyatt are definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Lei greeting, good front desk and bell service. Nice room on garden was perfect for us. Very quiet for an almost full hotel. We used the pools and saltwater lagoon quite a bit. The beach was beautiful but too dangerous even for my surfer husband and daughter. We ate from the pool side service and coffee bar, both were very good, but went elsewhere for dinners. This is what a Hawaii hotel should be like. Definitely check in with the concierge service for suggestions and booking on activities. Sierra was great help!

Room Tip: We were super happy with a ground floor garden view room. It was quiet, peaceful, and near the park...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ksumek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Aloha!

Thank You for choosing to stay with us! It truly is a great place to stay as a family with so many fun things to do. Our hotel was recently recognized as one of the 2013-2014 Hawaii Green Business Awardees. Through recycling and other changes made to create clean renewable energy, the resort maintains a waste diversion rate of nearly 40%. Isn’t that exciting?! We’re so delighted to hear that your family was able to enjoy the pool and lagoon as they can be quite adventurous!

We hope you had a safe trip home, and Mahalo for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £288 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing