We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Gorgeous property. The lobby is a spectacular first impression, and the rest of the property lives up to it. The pools and lagoon are very nice, especially enjoyed the adult only pool for some quiet relaxation. Nice, laid-back, relaxing stay on a beautiful island. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha golfgal68,

Thank You for staying with us! We hope to have you back again in the future for more fun and relaxation. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

A hui hou,
Kaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,489
    1,081
    331
    114
    64
See reviews for
1,726
2,921
68
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our 4th visit in the last 9 years. We love this hotel!! The staff is so friendly and courteous. A Helpful Hint: Bring WATER SHOES! Your feet will burn walking around the pool area! So many people were running on the concrete because the ground was so hot! I was so happy I had my water shoes to wear in the salt water lagoon and going up & down the water slide.
We can't wait to go back to the Grand Hyatt

Room Tip: We always request Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subrogoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and wouldn’t recommend this hotel. It's beautiful on the outside and the grounds are wonderfully kept. The hotel room was clean; it could use a little updating. The hotel staff was friendly too. The hotel is huge, with a large pool and salt water lagoon. But it was not very relaxing. A lot of kids and we understand it’s not the hotels fault but there was a large group there for an executive’s club event and the people were very rude and obnoxious. It totally took away from our experience at the pool. The salt water lagoon was a neat idea but again was full of rude people. Because of the annoyance of this one particular group we walked to the beach (which is a plus of this hotel’s location, beautiful little beach area) and hung out there most of the time. We also set up a few events with the front desk that were helpful. The only comment I’d say about the front desk is that we wish they would have given us a heads up about the private parties that reserved tables at the luau. We paid a lot of money for tickets and showed up early for a good seat as advised. When we arrived all of the tables were reserved besides the very last row of tables. One of the parties was a wedding party and everyone stood most of the show and talked to one another. We ate and left shortly after the show started since we couldn’t see much. When we returned to our room we noticed we could see the show from our room so we sat out on the grass and watched it from there instead. If you’ve never seen a luau and really want to pay the money to see it make sure to confirm there are no large parties reserving the majority of the tables. Onto the restaurants, we ate at the Yum Cha Asian Eatery, which was good. If you do stay here you should visit this restaurant. On the other hand we ate at Tidepools which was okay. We wouldn’t recommend. There is other off the beaten path restaurants that serve great fish. All in all the hotel wasn’t the worst but wasn’t the best. The reason we rated it average is because we don't think the price matched the value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie5983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had to add a day to our Kauai vacation because my husband made a mistake with the flight dates. (not a bad thing, really). We chose this resort because we are Hyatt members and wanted something close to the airport. The resort was beautiful, our room was spacious with an ocean view. Every meal was outstanding, from lunch outdoors by the pool, to the sushi bar and breakfast. We enjoyed the pool and the lagoon. The ocean was too rough that day for swimming but the setting was inviting. We were sad to leave after only one day, but we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is the best on the island; it is centrally located in Poipu and is absolutely beautiful. The amenities are great and the pools are amazing. The fresh water pool has numerous sections which provide sufficient seating for a large hotel yet each seating area has some privacy (a rare find in a large hotel). The pool area never felt crowed even over the holiday weekend. It may be the best designed pool that I’ve seen. The salt water lagoon pool is well designed with a nice beach. We will definitely be going back to the Grand Hyatt the next time we are in Kauai.

My only complaint was that the hotel bar was ridiculously overpriced (and I stay in hotels 30+ nights a year, so I am used to the higher prices, but their wine prices were ridiculous).

Room Tip: Request a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa is one of the nicest hotels my husband and I have ever stayed at. The lazy river, the variety of pools and the gorgeous beach really made this feel like paradise on Earth.

Prices for meals at the hotel were not cheap, but they were quite good. The hotel's employees were all incredibly helpful and welcoming, and they had great recommendations for places to go off the resort.

The room was gorgeous. Ours had a view of the pools and ocean, with a nice-sized balcony. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower in the bathroom was fantastic. It was modern and clean, and completely relaxing.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Kauai, if even just for a day or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel did not disappoint.

Pros:
Amazing grounds. Fish and turtles in the ponds. Beautiful flowers and foliage. Immaculately kept grounds overall. Views are amazing.
Pool was the best I've been in. The lagoon pool that is made to be like a beach was a little too warm, but it was perfect other than that. I love the feeling of being at the beach, but actually having a pool to wade into instead of the rough ocean. The lazy river and even the slide was fun! I think my kids, 11 and 9 would have absolutely loved this pool.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and almost "out of the way."

Cons:
Grounds are very big. If you forget something in your room, you have a nice walk to get back to it.
Restrooms hard to find and not close to the pool.
$$$ - I guess this is what you expect at a resort like this but the $15 pina coladas hurt.
Surf - very rough here. I didn't even get in the ocean because I was scared.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, but I would not bring my kids for ocean swimming - perhaps that is why their pool is so fantastic!?

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing