We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatastic property, amazing facilities, extremely well managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fanatastic property, amazing facilities, extremely well managed”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for 3 nights after 9 nights on the big island. I was really torn between staying here and on the beautiful north shore but decided to stay here since we were only going to be here 3 nights and I have 2 kids ages 12 and 10 and thought they would love the pools as well as the surf on the south shore in summer (north shore is totally calm in summer and my kids love to bogey board and body surf over snorkeling). Wow - what a great decision! We arrived just prior to tropical storm Iselle. The hotel did an AMAZING job providing regular updates on the storm and safety precautions in case, It turned out to barely affect us but they were on the ball. I stayed here with Hyatt rewards (get a Chase Hyatt credit card and get 2 free nights at any Hyatt property no blackout dates). The reward nights include the $25 resort fee. We got upgraded to a partial ocean view room which was fantastic. We were in the Shipwreck building overlooking the pool and the salt water lagoon and then shipwreck beach in the distance. I could stand out on the balcony and watch the kids go down the waterside and watch the ocean at the same time. When we arrived on Wed night, we checked in at the concierge desk as we had a boat tour on the napali coast planned for friday and because of the impending storms, it looked like it would surely be cancelled which it was. I really wanted to see the north shore and rest of the island and asked about a helicopter tour. The concierge called over to Bule hawaii and was able to get us on a tour the next morning which was a good thing because they then cancelled all tours from noon until Monday. The helicopter tour was amazing - weather perfectly clear and smooth so we had beautiful views of Waimea canyon, napali coast and the entire island. The property is just amazing. We loved watching the surfers on Shipwreck beach. We went down to the Sheraton thurs afternoon where several companies provide surfing lessons on the calmer beach where we had a 2 hour surf lesson and then body surfed in the good sized waves. Friday the weather continued to hold out. The lave lined pools with waterfalls, slides and lots of private coves were super fun. I am generally not a fan of large resorts, but given the short time we were here, the weather, the service and the facilities, the Hyatt really does it right. I did see some honeymooners and can say this would NOT be my choice for that (too many families, kids,people in general) - head to the north shore - but for us it really worked out perfectly! Also loved that there were not staff telling kids not to do this or that - kids were having fun, jumping from the lava rocks into the various pools having a ball. Food and drinks are expensive but it is easy to self park (included in resort fee) and go offsite for meals.

Room Tip: Def try to get at least a partial ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventurousMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,566
    1,096
    334
    116
    64
See reviews for
1,775
2,957
69
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff is very nice. We stayed here to try the Poipu side as we typically stay at Princeville. The view we had was of the pools which was fine. The pool complex is large, but if you want a chair in the shade, you will have to get there very early. We went down one day before 9 a.m. and all of them were already gone. Basically, they force you to rent a cabana for the day. As noted in another review, bring water shoes. The pool area gets HOT in the sun and also the mats for walking up to the water slide are hard on your feet. Don't bother trying to body surf on the beach here. The waves look nice, but the rocks are horrible. It's fine for wading. or swimming but for any body surfing, you will need to go down to the public beaches. A staff member told me that people have hurt themselves badly going into the rocks and our son tried it and got some pretty bad scrapes after a time or two so he quite trying to body surf there. The salt water lagoon is lovely. The beds were nice as are most Hyatt beds and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The golf course is nice and well maintained. The resort fee covers things like wifi. We had a weak connection in our room, but a strong one in the lobby so I did business there when necesssary. Lobby shops are nice for browsing. One of the best parts of this hotel is that they have an arrangement for you if your departure flight is later in the day or evening. There is a room for relaxing with TVs, games (billiards, etc) and a place to shower. Just be warned that there is only one shower for women and one for men. Go EARLY. The day we were leaving, there were three ladies waiting for the shower and two men so you have to be prepared to wait! The bathrooms are well stocked with shampoos, etc. for this.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view would be preferred. Pool views are OK.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel does recycle so that they have recycle bins in the rooms which is handy.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The property although massive is very well kept. The resort is clearly well managed and the staff is very friendly and eager to be of service. The lobby is very nice and the grounds are good with great mix of pools, lagoons and open space. That being said since it is such a large resort it can feel a bit congested. To get a towel for beach, pool etc there is one desk to service the entire resort? The rooms are not what you expect when the name of the hotel is "Grand Hyatt" relative to other Grand Hyatt's Chicago, Sydney, Dallas etc I have visited the rooms need serious remodeling! They have updated some bathrooms and put new toilet's in and amenities are good but towels were thin and room furnishings old and dark. As a Hyatt and for the price a nice hotel but location alone does not make it a Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubin115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked this hotel because of a very high recommendation from a friend who had
stayed here previously with her husband. She insisted that we splurge and would
be happy that we did. There is a $25 per day resort fee and at the time of
booking, one of the cheapest rooms was over $500 with tax and resort fee. I was
initially going to pay for the three night stay but months beforehand, I
accumulated enough Hyatt points for a free 3 night stay (75,000 total
points=25,000 points per night times 3), and at at time of booking, it said I
still had to pay the $25 resort fee, but when we got there, they waived it each
day, which was ver nice. It is a gorgeous property with various pools, including
a nice lazy river pool. They have numerous restaurants on site and also have a
luau there in case you are interested. We ate at both Donderos and Tidepools for
dinner - I would recommend both of them. Excellent food and service and of
course ambiance. There was a welcoming bottle of sparkling wine upon our
arrival. Each day, we were given two free bottles of water. We also ate at the
Ilima Terrace buffet for breakfast buffet three days. They should change up the
selections more and have a better variety but kept us satisfied. The turndown
service included six delicious cookies and each night we had mints. The bath
ammenities were very nice, a pleasant coco mango smell. The toilet was awesome!
We had a Toto toilet with the washlet. It is a toilet and bidet all in one. Has
heated seat, front spray and back spray, which are both adjustable. Even has air
dryer to dry you off so you are all clean. Pressure and temperature settings are
available. We love this and are going to look into getting one at home. The view
from our ocean front lanai was spectular. Our visit to beautiful Kauai was made
extra special by this hotel. When I visit Kauai again, this is the only place I
am going to stay. Loved, loved, loved it! Go for it! This place is a class act
all the way!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVIATRIXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha!

We're so glad that you chose to stay with us! It wasn't too long ago that we installed the Toto toilets into the rooms, and we're glad you were able to enjoy it! We strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience that lasts a lifetime. Thank You for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you back again in the future!

A hui hou,
Kaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked a time for photographs with Pacific Dream Photography at the hotel and when the appointed time arrived, my spouse was in the hotel room recovering from a bout of seasickness from the morning's boat/snorkeling excursion. We went ahead with the photography session with just me and the 4 kids, and the photographer was kind enough to schedule some time the next afternoon for all of us so that my spouse wouldn't be missing from the vacation pictures. The pictures from both sessions were exceptional and unbenownst to us she was also videoing us at times--so that when we viewed the pictures there was also a video set to music that we got to keep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJS9725FE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Gorgeous property. The lobby is a spectacular first impression, and the rest of the property lives up to it. The pools and lagoon are very nice, especially enjoyed the adult only pool for some quiet relaxation. Nice, laid-back, relaxing stay on a beautiful island. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha golfgal68,

Thank You for staying with us! We hope to have you back again in the future for more fun and relaxation. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

A hui hou,
Kaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our 4th visit in the last 9 years. We love this hotel!! The staff is so friendly and courteous. A Helpful Hint: Bring WATER SHOES! Your feet will burn walking around the pool area! So many people were running on the concrete because the ground was so hot! I was so happy I had my water shoes to wear in the salt water lagoon and going up & down the water slide.
We can't wait to go back to the Grand Hyatt

Room Tip: We always request Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subrogoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing