We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This location is beautiful and all staff is amazing. We were told that this was the most beautiful Hyatt in all of Hawaii but I think the one in Maui was a better fit for my husband and I.

This island is very quite w very little to do around the hotel. We had a rental car which I would def recommend. The food at the hotel was delicious as well. Would def go back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Aloha Amalia,

Mahalo for staying with us and what a blessing for you to be able to enjoy two different islands on one vacation! The Hyatt Regency Maui is indeed another beautiful property. If you have the chance to come back again, it would be great to explore the south side of the island where we're located. There are lots of trails, little beaches, botanical gardens and plenty of beautiful places to explore.

We would love to have you stay with us again!

Kaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,387)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,193 - 3,199 of 6,387 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful hotel during our honeymoon and it was like paradise on earth ! The view on the ocean is breathtaking and the pools are amazing.
The room was spacious with a huge bathroom. Very clean.
I was expecting such a big resort to be very noisy but it wasn't.
We travel a lot and we stayed in a lot of beautiful hotels but this one is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MidnightParis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Grand Hyatt has a beautiful pool and good location at the southernmost tip of Kauai. Went there with my two twenty something kids and my husband in August. Rooms are nice size. We had a King bed and queen with room for a rollaway. Had to ask for turndown service and several other things that I should not have to ask for in a 4 star hotel. I did mention this at checkout and they gave me a small credit and said that is not the normal service. The pool is nice but the adult pool is very small and has few chairs that fill up fast.There were alot of families with small kids and the parents let them loose as if they were in a family fun park. The lower saltwater pool was the best and the sand does not stick to your feet. It felt like being in the ocean without the risk of the summer swells. The pool is open 24 hours but the walkways are poorly lit so be very careful of trip and fall. The hotel has nice shops and the spa is very welcoming. Service was very good in restaurants although at the pool the water stations were far apart and were taken up early. The snack bar closed early and we were left to expensive sit-down service or room service. If you like a morning walk there is a great two mile walk along the ocean but you need to go to the spa for directions. The concierge was not aware of walking areas and recommended the road out front. There also is a great trail to the left of the resort along the beach. Great location, not far from airport or the canyon although night driving is difficult as the roads are not marked well and dark so worth paying for this location. All in all a beautiful spot to vacation.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the tennis court and mountains which was actually a very nice view. Every morni...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expnsv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We got married here and had 34 guests with us. EVERYONE LOVED IT!
The moment you arrive, the service is first class. The valet will greet you Hawaiian style, and the lobby will take your breath away. Very open with an amazing view of the ocean providing that "we made it, let's relax" feeling.
The hotel is very spread out, so make sure you pick a room according to your taste; i.e. close to the pool, by the front entrance, etc... It can be a 20 minute walk to the pool/beach if you're on the opposite side.
The hotel has it's own private beach. We visited in July and the water was rough. I still managed to jump off the local cliff (30 ft) at the end of the beach.
The pool area is large with separate areas, and a lazy river that flows around it.

ROOM - The room was probably the only slightly disappointing thing. It was a bit on the older side, and given that everything else about the hotel was above and beyond, our expectations was a bit high for the room. Depending as to where you're staying, the hallways can be a bit dark. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was huge. Great shower head, and a private toilet area, with an upgraded/fancy toilet seat (we'll leave it there :)
Our room had a small patio area.

There are several restaurants on site with amazing food! Just be aware that this is the Grand Hyatt Kauai and you may run up $1000 worth of meals for a 7 day stay.

LUAU - don't miss out on the Hyatt's luau. The reviews are true.. .it's simply the best around.

THINGS TO DO (outside the Hyatt)
PUKA DOGS - YOU MUST TRY IT!!! Highly recommended "Hawaiian Hot dogs". It's in a plaza about a 5 minute car ride from the hotel.
SECRET FALLS - ONLY recommended if you're fit and can kayak/hike for 4 hours. THE BEST THING OUR WEDDING PARTY DID! You'll rent a kayak, and kayak up a river for about 40 minutes, then hike through ankle/knee deep mud for over an hour and get to the falls (100+ ft). It's an amazing experience if you enjoy adventurous/outdoor things. You'll have to rent a Kayak in Lihue, 30+ minutes from hotel.
KAUAI AIR TOUR - We personally did the small prop plane, and we had other friends who took the helicopter tour. Absolutely beautiful seeing Kauai from the air and seeing areas not accessible by car. You'll see plenty of falls, the mountains, and of course the Grand Hyatt. If you're prone to motion sickness, DO NOT do the helicopter tour, 16 out of 19 of out guests got sick. The helicopter gives you closer views, but it's also a very bumpy ride. The airplane just glides around the island.
LIVING FOODS MARKET - The best local food place, serving breakfast/lunch and groceries/booze. Look them up, the food is simply amazing and MUCH cheaper than the Hyatt. It's a 6 min car ride from the hotel.

DO I NEED A CAR? Plan ahead... if you're the type that all of your needs will likely be met at the Hyatt, and you may only want to visit one other area, I'd say no, grab a cab. But if you'll planning to drive up to the north shore, go on an air tour, hike the falls, etc... yes.

Side note - If you choosing between the Grand Wailea in Maui or Grand Hyatt in Kauai, the Hyatt is so much better! The only other place that we stayed and it was just as nice was the Four Seasons in Kona (big island). If the Hyatt is too expensive, you can check out VRBO.com and find a cheaper condo to rent in Poipu.
Lastly... if you're staying in Kauai... don't waste your money staying anywhere else except Poipu.

Please give a thumbs up if it was helpful :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was one the most memorable times we had in any island of Hawaii. When we got there, we were greeted with the most friendly staff. Her name is Malaika and she is the best. We got a great room with a king and a queen bed with partial ocean view. Because we got there early we had to wait for our room to be ready so Malaika got us two complementary appetizer at the restaurant.
This property is out of the world and it is well maintained. It is both suitable for adults and families with Children. It offers great restaurants and activities. It is located to one the best hiking trails that passes by the ocean and a Golf course. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank va408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha va408,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. Thank You for the kind words about Malaika. She is a true gem, the epitomy of the "Aloha" spirit and we are so lucky to have her on our staff. It's great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and that you took a little adventure on the Shipwreck Cliff Trail. I could walk back there for hours as it is so beautiful...it makes me think of the past and wonder all of the feet that have crossed that same area. Mahalo again for the feedback and most of all for staying with us during your visit to the island.

A hui hou,

Kaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt in Kauai was amazing! We stayed here in September 2013 for 6 days on the first part of our Hawaii honeymoon (they Maui for 7). The hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly & helpful, and the food is excellent! All of the restaurants in the hotel were amazing (try to get your breakfast included!), but my favourite was the Tidepools - excellent seafood, so fresh and prepared very well. The adult pool is where we spent most of our time, as there were a lot of families there...it was secluded enough to be relaxing, and close to the bar. The blended drinks were so good! We're not used to paying for drinks & food, as we usually go to all inclusive resorts, but for this honeymoon we splurged and have no regrets! The grounds well manicured, the views are beautiful, and the the room was pretty average - nothing special but very clean. Overall a very memorable experience, I'd love to go back one day :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha Josie,

Congratulations on your 1st Anniversary! What a treat that you could spend 2 weeks in Hawaii! Thank You for choosing to stay with us during your time on our island. I have to agree with you about Tidepools menu. They take a lot of pride in the freshness and flavors of their dishes and I believe it really shows. It's great that you decided to splurge and enjoy yourselves at the pool, because after planning and having a wedding you most definitely deserved it. Mahalo again for your feedback. We hope to have you back again in the future to celebrate an Anniversary!

Take care,
Kaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stunning resort! My family (2 adults and 1 child age 10) stayed here for 6 nights in August. We had a room with a king bed and a rollaway for my daughter. The room (and bathroom) were very spacious. The ocean and resort view was wonderful, a great place to watch the sunrise with my coffee on the balcony. The pools are amazing. We loved the lazy river and waterside and the saltwater lagoon was a nice change. Shipwreck beach is a fun spot to watch boogie boarders and surfers but not for swimming while we were there. Though we did have a lot of fun being thrown around by the waves. We ate breakfast most mornings at the Seaview Terrace. Dinner options are expensive in the resort but there are plenty of great restaurants nearby in Poipu. We would go back and stay again!!!

Room Tip: Ocean and resort view is worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKResortandSpa, Manager at Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha Sam,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. What a fun place to bring your daughter during summer break! It's great to hear that the 3 of you were able to enjoy your stay to the fullest. The pool is fun for people of all ages, and there are so many different activities to do! The sunrise on the lanai with a great cup of coffee is one of my favorite ways to start the day. It's just so peaceful! Thank You again for sharing your experience, and we would love to have you back again!

Mahalo,
Kaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa

Address: 1571 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poipu
#1 Business Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: £289 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find the true essence of paradise at Grand Hyatt Kaua’i Resort & Spa. Set on the soothing white sands in Poipu, on Kauai’s sunny south shore, this luxury resort unfolds on over 50 acres of lush gardens. The resort’s classic Hawaiian architecture with open courtyards and lush gardens welcomes the tropical breeze. Freshly renovated rooms blend clean simple lines with Hawaiian design elements to create a private retreat. A water wonderland awaits with a quiet adult area, lava-rock river pool, waterslide, and saltwater lagoon. Play championship golf at Poipu Bay Resort. Sample delicious island flavors at one of six restaurants. And for a spa experience like no other, visit Anara Spa where open-air treatments use island-fresh botanicals to refresh and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Kauai Hotel Poipu
Hyatt Poipu
Poipu Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Poipu
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing