We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING OCEAN FRONT BEST SUNSETS ON THE ISLAND”
Review of Lawai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We love staying at Lawai beach resort. The snorkeling right in front of the resort is some of the best on the island as well as the best sunsets. people come to snorkel at the beach and come watch the sunset. The furnishings are great and the kitchen utensils available are everything you need.
Beach towels are provided and washer dryers are in the unit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you found the unit fully stocked. It is also nice to read that you were able to enjoy the sunsets from the beach fronting the resort. Thank you again for your kind review.

Mahalo,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed in the Coral Building second floor from January 18-25 and had a great experience. The units had everything that one would need. The grounds were very well maintained. The only complaint I have is I found that booking trips through the concierge was very over priced. The resort is not far from shopping and plenty of restaurants. This was my first trip to Kauai and had a great time and can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your post. I was glad to hear the you enjoyed the Coral units. I will share your comment with our concierge team as they do appreciate any and all feedback. Again thank you for your post. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Mahalo,
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for a week in an 'A' building ground floor unit. This had a good ocean view and the lanai felt private. The units are large, well equipped (and the front desk was happy to send over extra items like a coffee grinder). Check-in and staff all very pleasant. See the review below from sunshinevancouver_bc as all said there applies to our experience at Lawai Beach Resort and on Kauai as well

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your comments. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your time at Lawai Beach Resort. I will be sharing your comment with our team.

Mahalo,
Owen H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for 1 week in December in a one bedroom suite, on the first floor of the Ali'i Building with an ocean view. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check in and check out were done in an efficient and welcoming manner.

The resort is very beautiful and the grounds are well-kept. The accommodations included a washer and dryer. Detergent and dryer sheets were also provided for 1 wash.

We rented a car from Alamo, which we picked up at the airport. Their service was excellent. You need to rent a car to really tour the island. Parking is free at the resort.

There were rain and thunderstorms on our first 2 days after arrival. But the rest of the week, the day would start off overcast and then sunshine would take over by 9 am. This is Hawaii's rainy season, so we were quite thankful for the good weather.

There is a $75 flat fee to cover the amenities - gym, tennis, room wi-fi, dvd rentals etc. at the resort.

We made use of the dvds to watch movies on rainy nights. We also used the gym, and the room wi-fi.

There were activites at the resort, for an additional fee, but we did not participate as we spent most of the time sight seeing.

Across the street from the resort is the seaside, which is suitable for surfing and snorkelling.

For swimming, it is best to go to Poipu Beach Park, which is a short drive from the resort.

We drove north to Princeville and on the south west side, we took in the Waimea Canyon, Sprouting Horn etc.

The resort is located on the south side which is the sunniest side of the island, and the most populated. It is close to Sprouting Horn Park and Poipu Beach Park.

Visitors staying on the north side, have to travel south to take in activities such as the Luau etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Kauai, and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: An ocean view is always the best. It puts you in a great holiday mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank calmwarmseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort. It is nice to read how our associates make our owners and guests feel welcomed. Our team takes pride ensuring that our valued customers feel at home. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you could secure a suite on one of the top two floors of the Banyon Building or the Ali'i Building it would probably be very pleasant. There is no air conditioning, but that would probably be O.K. in a location where you could feel the tradewind breezes and enjoy a view of the ocean, which is directly across the street, where there is a tiny, rocky beach. On the second floor in the Coral Building we did have a thin slice of ocean view and the lawn of the Beach House Restaurant, but mostly we could see the outside wall of another wing of the building. It was a sticky, muggy 80+ degrees when we were there in mid-December. There are ceiling fans and an oscillating fan on a stand, but we got tired of the constant droning of fans inside and when sitting on the pleasant lanai . The suite was clean and freshly painted, and had been remodeled recently, including newer white appliances and cabinets, but it was definitely old-school decor. the walls were recently painted a dark tan and a medium-dark shade of seafoam green. The furniture was dark rattan (in very good condition) with dark Hawaiian print upholstery, and there were matching drapes. Since there was no air conditioning, the living/dining area and bedroom had a lot of jalousie windows designed to let the breeze in, if one came along. They also let in the noise of the elevator, the trash chute, laundry room, doors closing, and guests in the hallway. Did I mention it was dark and noisy? No houskeeping was provided with the one week stay, but it was available for a reasonable charge -- as if we hadn't paid enough already. There was an O.K., plain rectangular pool with jetted spa, and there were somewhat more interesting pools at the other buildings. I suspect whoever owns this well-kept timeshare got a good deal on the purchase, compared to owners of the top floor units in Banyon or Ali'i, but exchanging a week in our Cabo San Lucas timeshare for this unit was not a good deal. That's not the owner's or management's fault; it is one of the challanges of doing an RCI exchange, where you have little idea what you will be getting and no input to the unit selection.

Room Tip: Go only if you can get a suite in one of the top two floors of the Banyon or Ali'i buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tourer_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We appreciate all and any feedback as it allows us to continually improve our services for our owners and guests.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Lawai Beach Resort November 18 for 4 days I wish I would have booked longer.
The resort grounds are beautiful. Parking is ample. The pool area is clean and well kept. There are books and movies you can borrow. The beach across the street is nice and snorkeling there is fantastic! Everyone was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed playing mini golf and using the gym.
The room was clean and well stocked with everything we could need. The bed was comfy. Our room was ground level facing the pool with a partial ocean view in the Banyan Building.
I have no complains and we will be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

As I type this review we are still at this resort...we are sitting on the lanai drinking wine and watching the sunset. We have had an amazing week here. This resort is lovely. It is not a high end resort like the Hyatt or Hilton but then we were not looking for that. This is a clean, very well maintained resort. It is in one of the best spots on the island. One of the best snorkeling beaches is across the street. Our lanai looks out over the gorgeous ocean and it is an amazing place to watch the sunset. We have met so many friendly people at the resort. People seem to come and stay for 2 or 3 weeks. We will definitely stay longer next time. We have a one bedroom condo.

The kitchen has everything you need In it. Lots of pots, pans, platters, storage containers, wine glasses. There is no mid week housecleaning service but they give you plenty of towels...bath, hand, beach and kitchen to last a week. There is a washer and dryer and they give you one pack of tide so make sure you bring a few detergent pods with you. They give you cascade, dish detergent, and paper towels. Oh and a packet of coffee for your first morning (but I always pack a bag of coffee with me).

The is a costco near the airport so if you are a member stop there. They have wine and beer! They also have huge Maui pineapples for $4. There is a Big Save Supermarket less than 10 minutes from resort to buy most items but Costco was cheaper by far.

the resort has several areas with Webber grills so it is easy to grill steaks, burgers, etc.

We had dinner one night at Gaylords which was lovely....elegant and great food.

we took a sunst cruise with Captain Andys which we highly recommend. Great crew....lots of dolphins...a lot of fun. Highy recommend this.

make sure you go to Shipwreck Beach....ask at the lobby desk about this. It is very close to resort. Also do not leave the island without having a shave ice. I am not an ice person but it was delicious.

Also, the resort does not have a/c....there is a great cross breeze and lots of windows and fans. We did not need a/c in November but not sure about July.

We are staying in the Banyan Building and will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BucksCountyQuiltLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen H, Manager at Lawai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. We are happy to read that you enjoyed Lawai Beach Resort and its gorgeous sunsets. Lawai Beach Resort is truly a place where you can enjoy the many activities that Kauai has to offer and have a place to return that has all the comforts of home. We look forward to seeing you in the near futures.

Mahalo A Hui Hou (Unitl we meet again),
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawai Beach Resort

Address: 5017 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9696
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawai Beach Hotel Poipu
Lawai Beach Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing