We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poipu Kapili 54--Amazingly spacious and well appointed”
Review of Poipu Kapili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poipu Kapili
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a fabulous experience at Kapili 54. We traveled with our young daughter and a childless couple. This can be a harrowing experience as small children are "busy". This unit was huge with a lovely grassy area for our daughter to play in as I enjoyed the ocean front view. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool offers a bit of change from the beach which is just a few blocks away. We loved how pretty the unit was decorated--it felt like staying in a friend's home, not in a vacation rental. Go here! You will love it!

Room Tip: Units have quite a bit of variation, so pick #54.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've had two incredible stays in this complex and they hold some of our fondest Hawaiian vacation memories. The resort is impeccably maintained with local exotic plants, a pool that pleases, an herb garden you can peruse, and views that don't quit. I love the vibe in Kapili, it begs you to slow down. Our last visit was in unit #38 and it did not disappoint. Recently renovated with new kitchen and bath, the space was welcoming and comfortable. Nicely decorated with an island feel, we enjoyed every moment in the refuge of our island home. The lanais at Kapili are standouts as features go. Ours provided spectacular ocean views and a serene spot overlooking the pool and plantings to enjoy a break from being out and about. Great place for families, couples or groups of friends. You can walk to several eateries, the farmer's market and get your running miles in right out your door. The weather on this part of the island is typically sunnier than other spots so bring plenty of screen. The closest beach is next door. Walking along the seawall you'll see the large green sea turtles surfing along the waves. Folks are friendly and the resorts promotes people getting together each week to meet the neighbors. Come and experience Kapili and the Aloha spirit.

Room Tip: We like unit #38
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great in every way! We stayed in unit #32 and couldn't have been more pleased. The entire complex, staff, and our condo unit were amazing! We stayed a total of 9 days and loved very minute. The unit itself was very clean, new, and had all the comforts of home and then some. WHAT A GREAT LOCATION AND VIEW from our unit #32. We highly recommend and would stay there again in a minute.

As far as the local surroundings,... 5 minute walk to the Sheraton hotel and a nice beach; 3 minute drive to one of the best sunning, swimming, and snorkeling beaches and family friendly park's on Kauai - Poipu Beach; 5 minute drive to the "spouting horn", a great natural wonder on Kauai; 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk to 2 quaint and well known shopping and restaurant centers; and a few minutes drive up the road is the historical and vey quaint shopping town of Koloa. This was a beautiful complex and very well maintained and very clean - each day the grounds and pool were cleaned and straightened. I can't say enough about the quietness, comfort, and excellence in every way experience at Poipu Kapili. Oh, and an added bonus, each unit has it's own parking spot... what a nice touch. Check out their website, it is excellent and very thorough with many photos of the inside of "each" unit and it's view.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms and 1 bedroom units are located in different areas/buildings. It depends on what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in condo 12 which was awesome with the best location of all. Beautiful grounds with a pool and BBQs and the condos are all lovely. Staff was top notch, very helpful and friendly. Great location with a short walk to the beach on sunny Poipu. We go to Hawaii often and this was probably the nicest condo we've stayed in. I've already told family and friends about Poipu Kapili.
The sunset view from your lanai and the genuine aloha here is just wonderful!

Room Tip: Condo 12 is the best location, it's an end unit, 2 BR that has two lanai ( one with sunrise vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeenaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What a great trip! Unit 23, The resort is clean, spacious and has an incredible view! Seeing the waves breaking right out your back door while cooking or just relaxing was amazing. Going to the back wall and watching the sunset with the locals is great. Prior remarks stating it may not seem safe, wrong! The locals are great and I would suggest meeting them and show respect to the island and culture. You will definitely learn something. I met a local delivering tuna to a local restaurant. i asked him where he caugt the fish. He told me it was his personal boat. I asked if he could suggest a fishing tour. He referred a friend, Deep Sea Fishing Kauai. What a great fishing day! Ask the locals for great handouts and beaches. You will be rewarded.
Back to Poipu Kapilli, kitchen comes complete. Definitely go to Costco for food if you plan on cooking. Very spacious living room and kitchen and again great view of the ocean from the patio table. Great employees from the moment you check in, grounds folks and again at checkout.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed and Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The was a our second trip to Kauai and by far the best. This trip was celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Our first trip was our 30th anniversary 10 years ago. We enjoy Kauai because of the slow pace and wonderful people who live there. We chose Poipu Kapili because we had suggested to our youngest son and his bride to honeymoon there several years ago. They really enjoyed the stay. When we arrived our condo reservation had to be changed because of a refrigeration problem. We were transferred to an ocean front 2-story condo (condo #1). It was fabulous. One of the highlights of our stay was to renew our wedding vows on a secluded beach near Poipu. It was memorable to say the least. We plan to return to Poipu Kapili as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The ocean front condo we had was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We ended up at this gorgeous condo resort after a panic-filled night of looking for new accommodations. We cancelled our previous reservation after reading some really bad reviews and realizing that there was no AC. Let me tell you this: NO CONDO in Poipu has AC unless CLEARLT advertised!!! I had no clue and it really isn't obvious either! We booked a unit at Poipu Kapili that had AC advertised. It is NOT central AC, but an AC unit in the bedroom. To be honest, we used it for two night and gave up. It was loud and the fans and opening the windows/screens does the trick. It will be warmer than what you are used to though! Our unit was very clean, renovated and beautifully decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful too! Bring plenty of OFF! Our 15 month old son was eaten by mosquitoes the very first hour we got there. I can whole-heartedly recommend this condo.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra money on the AC. Take the plunge going without! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOnjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kapili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kapili

Address: 2221 Kapili Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9783
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £112 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kapili 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kapili is a 60-unit Hawaiian plantation style resort surrounded by five acres of lush tropical gardens. Guests at Poipu Kapili can relax in the ocean view swimming pool, play tennis on two courts and walk to nearby Kiahuna Beach. It is a perfect place for a family vacation or romantic escape. A varied selection of accommodations are available including Penthouse Suites with elevator access, spacious one and two level floor plans with the finest touches and air-conditioning, convenient washer/dryer in unit or laundry access, free WiFi and ocean views from each villa including select oceanfront locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Poipu Kapili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kapili Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kapili Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing