We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prince Kuhio Unit #334”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Kauai for several years running and every time we visit the island we stay in #334 at Prince Kuhio. This unit is near the end of the building on the top floor (yes, there are some stairs but it's exercise!) and faces the pool. It's usually pretty quiet and there's always a lovely breeze that sweeps the lanai keeping you nice and comfortable. It's lovely to sit out there, level with the tops of the palm trees, and have coffee while reading a book and listening to the birds.

The unit is very nicely kept with decent furnishings, tile floors, nice pictures on the walls and a basket filled with books related to Kauai. There's always a Kauai Blue Book we can peruse that has all the secret gems on Kauai that you can go explore during your stay. The bed is huge and comfy. The TV is newish and is on a handy cart that you can move around to face the living room or bed. There is also a sofa bed but we've never actually unfolded it. I think the place would be a bit cramped with more than two people in it though, unless they're your own kids.

The kitchen used to be a super funky 1950s era steel or cast iron job that was really neat but not very awesome to cook on. But now the kitchen's been renovated and everything is up to date and brand new! Very exciting! The kitchen is also very well equipped. We've never lacked for a utensil or a pot or pan. All the little appliances work great too. There's a toaster, blender, the all important coffee maker.

Whenever we get to our unit at Prince Kuhio we feel like we've come home to our place in paradise. And that's how it should be when you're on vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Elle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Prince Kuhio Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

The PK Condos are privately owned - you deal directly with the owner - check in is "self serve" as there is no staff on site. An old hotel morphed into condos...
Lauded as "quiet" - not if your condo faces the Prince Kuhio Park where roosters commence shrieking at 0400 and really kick it up a notch at 0500...again at 0600. Want to nap with the distant sound of waves and wind? Feggudabouit...raucous roosters will crow right then. Google how to get rid of roosters...

Room Tip: Rooms facing PK Park deal with heinous roosters.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Over the years we have stayed at many Prince Kuhio condos. Some were little studios, some were one bedrooms.Some of the units that come to mind, 237, 215, 112, 318, 319 and a few others. As far as if someone would like this condo complex depends on their expectations. In general it is a very good value and the location is probably the very best thing. There is a beach across the street and good restaurants are within easy walking distance. Units on the 3rd floor can be a bit difficult to get to as there is no elevator however the view is best from the 3rd floor which looks across Prince Kuhio park to the ocean. The units are individually owned so you will find quite a bit of difference from unit to unit. It's a laid back, middle of the road type of place. The front doors do not come with deadbolts. It's just that kind of place. The grounds are beautifully and well taken care of and it has a pool although it is a bit cold. The bbq area can get quite busy at times.

Room Tip: There are just so many options. VRBO, Kauai Vacation Rentals.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Staying at the Prince Kuhio is like staying with your grandparents ~ you feel right at home and welcomed. Its comfortable and quiet; all is well taken care of and clean, if a bit dated and worn. The 2 coves across the street -- one with a narrow band of sand -- offer some of the better snorkeling on the island. It is rocky when entering the water though, so I'd recommend water shoes and/or fins. Even though there were waves and the visibility mediocre at this time of year (March), I was excited to see a green sea turtle and lots of tropical fish. The beach here is well used, with usually at least one van of snorkelers and nearby condo tenants frequenting this spot. In the evening, watching the sunset is often a fun community event akin to Key West without all the performers.



#232 is a studio facing the inner courtyard with views of the pool, the back side of the neighboring condo and the multi-story parking garage. It cleverly squeezes in everything that one could possibly need with mini kitchen appliances, and lots of vacant cupboards, drawers, and closets. For this unit, the parking garage is most convenient and we never had an issue with parking. While the lanai is quite narrow, it still would have been nice to have had chairs and a table as most of the other units do. It was well-supplied with a small cooler, beach towels, and beach chairs -- just wish the beach chairs were more comfortable. The ceiling fan flow-through ventilation was sufficient for us, although an AC is provided. There is not a W/D in the unit, but the complex has several coin-operated ones available.



I would definitely recommend and return to the Prince Kuhio condos. It is an excellent value and good location on the sunny south side of Kauai ~ even though it is not oceanfront. I was leery of having to cross the street to the beach, but it was not something we minded at all. Next time, I'd opt to stay on the Prince Kuhio Park side, to enjoy the sunrises and park/ocean views. The inner courtyard units are more shady and inevitably hear chatter of people in and about the pool. While a 1 BR might be nice, the studio was definitely spacious enough for the 2 of us. Another option is one of 2 penthouse units (2 BR/1Bath) that have huge decks and spectacular views of the stars. For those with mobility issues, there are no elevators. The Office self-service (for signing in and picking up brochures), although the property managers are readily available (via phone) and dropped by with a nice Hawaii welcome of local cookies and coffee. There are 2 immaculate BBQs and a small pool for communal use. This unit has wifi, cable + TV (not a flat screen), and a hair dryer.



We loved the location of the Prince Kuhio! It is great place from which to explore, yet has many things close by if you don't want to venture far. In particular, we enjoyed being right across the street from the Beach House restaurant, about a mile from Spouting Horn and the National Tropical Botanical Garden, and walking distance to the Shops at Kukui'ula, as well as, the many other south and west side beaches. The Prince Kuhio has a loyal following; I'd recommend booking as early as possible!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are brighter, quieter and face Prince Kuhio Park (some with ocean views). Roo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This condo, number 106 has it all, location, size, breeze, price, amenities! This was our fist trip to Kauai, and we love this unit they also they had thoughtful extras like 2 beach chairs, laundry soap, blender (for my smoothies), teapot, excellent WORKING WiFi, easy access to everything. A carry cooler, fully outfitted kitchen, bathroom, TV room. snorkel, mask and small (women's sized) fins.

Great snorkel beach right across the street, where the snuba tour people bring their vans. Still it's not crowded. A woman wirh her 8 year old daughter told me they saw sea turtles and fish and it was a blast. I like to hike so we are right in the middle of the West & East sides for hiking, my husband likes to snorkel which he is out doing now.

I know I will love the North end of the island too when we get there but I'm glad we got to stay here where in March there is a better chance for "not rain".

We mostly bought our food and ate in the condo, or used the group outdoor grill but also have been to the restaurant across the street. This beach is an awesome spot to watch the sunset.

Mahalo as they say.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenb858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I can't say enough about this perfect 1BR condo. The space is divided up well allowing for 3 areas (kitchen, bedroom, living room off lanai) which gives some character to the space. The pictures on VRBO say it all. Well stocked kitchen with anything you would need. Comfy bed was great. The location is super with regard to Poipu beach.(My favorite for Monk Seals and snorkeling) Walk across the street and watch the sunset from the grounds of the Beachhouse restaurant. Lanai overlooks Prince Kuhio Park with view of ocean. The owners, Toby and Bill were a pleasure to do business with. There is no elevator so realize that this is on the 3rd floor. I could live here (seriously) so without a doubt you will love it. My own opinion is that you can get such a better value staying in a privately owned condo or house. Is the five star hotel really worth it? I think not, which allowed us to stay in Hawaii overall for a month. This was my first try at VRBO and the description lived up to my expectations. This is a well appointed condo that feels cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aloha124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed a week in this unit down in Poipu before heading to Princeville. The location and condition of this unit was second to none! The building itself maybe older but you can tell they have really maintained it well. Our unit, 317, had everything we needed and was well stocked. You can tell the owners take pride in their piece of paradise. I liked the fact the condo has an'office stocked with maps and other info.
Your only contact is with the agent you booked with and any other contact info you had been given in the rental set up.
It has a nice pool, but no hot tub. Ahh, we're in Kauai, who needs a hot tub!
My spouse and I will definitely be back.

Mahalo,
Grant S

Room Tip: Use the Internet and find a site that has pictures of the room. Also, Kauai Revealed helped us alot...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachaholicsAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £55 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing