We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unit #402 The Penthouse (with 2 bedrooms).”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince Kuhio Condos
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Kauai is beautiful and this place made it even better (unit #402 The Penthouse (with 2 bedrooms). Perfect for all of us. I recommend anyone from a couple to 7 people in this place. We went with seven and it was perfect. The balcony makes you feel like you're are a lone on top of a cruise ship. Beautiful ocean views, garden view, palm trees -- perfection! Thank you. It was easy to find -- parking was easy and we BBQ'd every night. The best part; this place sits right in the heart of 3 of the best surf breaks in Poipu. Will be back next year.
Thanks--Brandon and crew

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BandBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2008

The Prince Kuhio condo we stayed in exceeded our expectations in almost every way. The layout of the condo was admittedly a little weird (the bathroom had two sliding doors connecting to the bedroom and kitchen), but it never effected us. The bed was very comfortable and the condo was well stocked with beach gear, condiments, and travel books.

We walked to nearby Poipu beach in about 10-15 minutes, but there was also parking if you want to drive. There was construction going on nearby but it never bothered us. We bought groceries in Koloa so that we could eat in most nights and splurge at the Beach House across the street. The food and service there was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We stayed in unit 331 for 6 nites in mid May. The unit was air conditioned , which was nice. It certainly was big enough for my wife and I. It was clean, quaint and well equipped for our needs. Lawai Beach across the road was a great place for snorkling--lots of fish as well as turtles and a monk seal or two. The nearby Beach House Restaurant was very nice with good food and a nice vista for the sunset. We stayed here first and then transfered to the North Shore for the second half of our trip. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lastgunslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Location is the key to these. There are tour vans to bring folks across the street to snorkel. If you like snorkeling, sunsets, at a decent price this is a great place. Lower numbers are closer to the street, like 201 is on the street 220 is further, street condos are noisy. Most are not air conditioned, but do not usually need it. Long walk to sprouting horn and botanic gardens, very cool. Short drive to Poipu for viewing of other tourists. Some condos are very nice, some are dated, take a good look at the pictures where ever you book.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DJFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

What can we say? Absolutely THE MOST relaxing vacation of our lives!!!
What a choice spot #106 is!! No steps to climb, no condo to view out the living room & lanai!!
Cool breezes plus the fans made the place fresh and refreshing.
The shower's large and hot water plentiful.
Outside the noise from walkers chatting as they walked by the front door (kitchen area so no big deal) only the noise of the wind and the waves and Prince Kuhio Park out the lanai.
The private resort garden is lush and beautiful.

The little beach next to Beach House across the street is super. Walked over there with our coffee in the big cups every morning. At 7 usually just us and the waves.

To sum up -- if you want to get away from the hi-rise hotels and crowded beaches and tons of tourists, go to Prince Kuhio -- the one bedroom #106 is perfect for two, maybe three or four with two on the fold out couch. The walls are concrete so no noisy neighbors!! The garden is lush and the pool clean and pretty and the gas BBQ always set up for on-demand and there's even charcoal and lighter there (and in the unit) if you so desire to "rough" it.

We thought it was nice when we arrived but didn't really realize how wonderful P.K. was, especially #106, until after we had driven around the island and saw the other resort areas.


We certainly DO wish to return!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Brightheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

The condo was as advertised. The Balcony was only 2 feet wide in our unit, #305. We had ocean view across a road. There was some noise from the parking lot and the pump on the fish pond needs work as it cycled loudly. I would stay in a unit farther from the road and ocean next time. There was very good snorkelling a few hundred feet to the west across the road. Go at low tide for calmer water. Watching the sunset there too! To the East a mile down a dead end road is a great wave beach. Some parking but of course not enough. Very sandy. Other wise the unit was just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank turtle1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stayed in Prince Kuhio 211 from 4/7/08-4/12/08. The condo is nicely equipped and a good size. It was very clean when we arrived. Very nice breeze for sleeping with the slider open. The pool was never too crowded. The grounds were well kept and had a tropical feel. Having the laundry room downstairs was very convenient. There was plenty of parking. The Beach House restaurant, which was very good (a little pricey) is right across the street. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary while there and enjoyed the Beach House for our anniversary dinner.

When we had flight problems and had to adjust our schedule, Jack and Dorinda were very helpful and understanding. They were a pleasure to do business with.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robertc328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Kuhio Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Kuhio Condos

Address: 5061 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Kuhio Condos are offered by individual owners. Our condos are just a few yards from the ocean on the sunny south shore of Poipu Beach Kauai. The complex is nestled between the beautifully landscaped Prince Kuhio Park on one side and a lush, tropical garden and pool on the other side. There are ocean views, park views, mountain views, and sunrise views! You can hear the ocean waves from the bedrooms at night. (Note to Reviewers/Readers: These condo units are individually owned. When writing a review, it will be helpful to readers if you specify in which unit you stayed. Also, please be aware that being independently owned, each unit may offer different decor and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Kuhio Hotel Poipu
Prince Kuhio Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing