We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Kahili 506”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Kahili Condos
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sunset Kahili 506”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had stayed at the Sunset Kahili in September 1985 in either 206 or 306; we can't remember which. When we decided to return after 26 years we thought it would be fun to stay at the condos again.

To start off, I'd say our stay was kind of strange as the unit and building were much like we remembered it from our last visit. Not much had actually changed. It was as if a new episode of Magnum PI would be on the TV that evening. The unit itself was clean, well maintiained and amply supplied with all manner of items we needed to make our stay just like home.

The old style TV was small by today's standards and the bed wasn't really a king but two smaller ones pushed together. The cabinets could stand an update and the carpet had a couple of stains. Nonetheless, we loved the unit. The quaint charm mixed with the wonderful ocean views, complete with palm trees swaying and turtles swimming by below along with panoramic views of the island from the kitchen window made new memories for us at the Sunset Kahili.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed in unit 404. This unit had been recently updated and was wonderful. The bed was King Size and the sunset view off the balcony was wonderful. The unit has ventilation from one end to the other and 2 wonderful ceiling fans so it was a very comfortable temperature through out our stay. The property manager Michael Curtis was very helpful in suggesting places to go, places to eat, even what's good where. He was very friendly and helpful. The neighbors were friendly. This place is older but 404 has been recently updated (or so it seemed to us) and was wonderful and the views were spectacular. We watched whales (there in late March) off our balcony, and saw some beautiful sunsets. The shower was very good size, the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen and living room amenities were excellent. Overall we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay in this unit. The only thing I'd recommend is they get free wifi in this complex.

Room Tip: Definitely reserve unit 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TN-Mike-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed on the 2nd floor in a very clean condo that faced the ocean. The facilities are older, but very clean and the people staying were mostly older, but it was relatively inexpensive and a great deal for Hawaii! the pool area is small, but I enjoyed it when I used it. Higher floors would have a better ocean view, but our condo was great.
If you want fancy, swanky with nightlife - this is not the place. If you want quiet and clean with a great ocean view - take a look.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanny Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

We loved this spot. This is an older five storey building overlooking the south coast of Poipu, fabulous views from the lanai over the water and views of the mountains and rolling hills to the north out your front door and kitchen window. This unit has been recently renovated in a tropical island style with lots of fun touches. It was very spacious, lots of storage, full kitchen including a washer and dryer. This unit is rented for two. The bedroom is separated by shoji doors from the living room. A large bathroom with lots of picnic extras in the closets, books, beach mats, chairs, beach towels, really everything you could want. Very quiet, staff and residents all friendly. Assigned parking spot. We stayed here for a week renting through Poipu Beach Vacation Rentals/Kauai Vacation Rentals. It was perfect for us and in a great location. Beautiful spot to watch the sunset every evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butterflystomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Unit 501 SUnset Kahili has the best view on Kauai and is the best eqiupped 2br, 2 ba condo at the Kahili. Quiet, comfortable, well furnished and you sit on your lanai (or even in the unit)and watch sea turtles, whales and dolphins. Often looking toward the mts you see the island's Waialeale. Those dolphins(a huge pod) swim by everyday.. Spinner dolphins. 2 blks from the beach(Poipu and Brennekes) and you look right at t them along with views of Niihau from the unit and lanai. Kitchen is well equipped, can wald to great restaurants.. Perfect condo

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank donnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Stayed here from 9/15 to 9/22. Rented from Kauai Vacation rentals, who left the fans on and some goodies in the fridge. The condo was well thought out, with a comfy bed and plenty of storage space. Full stove in the kitchen and a full size refrigerator. Lots of cooking equipment . View from the lanai of the ocean. Very quiet complex which was fine with us.You have an assigned parking spot. The work on the building was only from about 8 to 4 or 5 weekdays. Being from the East Coast we were up by then. Easy walk in the morning with our coffee to see the turtles near Poipu Beach.
Some negatives with the unit. Needed some refurbishing like new new curtains or curtain rods in the bedroom. Needed blackout curtains to keep the sun and heat out during the day. Think you could get a better view from higher up. Pool closed at 8pm, which we thought was a little early.
All in all the condo was in a great location and the grounds are immaculate. We would consider renting there again but maybe not the same unit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shantybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

No desire to dis this establishment, which more than other places I've read on Poipu seems to inspire a lot of genuine affection - so have recommended it and given it highest marks. But just wanted to post a warning - there are some major renovations scheduled for this building, may want to inquire about it before you book up. (POSTED AUGUST 2009).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacGroveGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Kahili Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Kahili Condos

Property: Sunset Kahili Condos
Address: 1763 Pee Rd, P.O. Box 70, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8538
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Sunset Kahili Condos Hotel Poipu
Sunset Kahili Condos Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing