We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 20 January 2008

This place is right near all the great restaurants on the south side, the seclusion and privacy are outstanding. The rooms, condos, are bright, spacious and very clean. The hot tub was nice to unwind in after dinner, once we had to share it with some other friendly guests.

Can't wait to have an excuse to go back...

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    26
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
82
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park, NM
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

December 31, 2007
Just returned from Kauai holiday vacation and stayed at Whalers Cove condo for 12 days. (16th thru the 27th) We booked through Grantham Resorts and stayed in unit #132. Grantham only has two units at Whaler's. We picked #132 for the sofa bed and extra bedroom tv. My mother-in law was to have the sofa bed. This was an expensive trip with rates up during the holiday ($475 per nite average with taxes). Its much less expensive at any other time of the year. We loved Whalers and would stay there again but our unit was a little tired for that kind of rate. We would book another unit and ask specifically about the condition of the unit and all the amenities the web pictures might show. The web description indicated the unit had a sofa bed (not) A tv in the 2nd bedroom (not) The blender leaked, they brought us a new one (nice) Patio furniture was tired (base rusted) and the master jacuzzi tub was plastic and stained badly (no baths this trip) Masterbed was very comfortable and also the other twin beds were good. Plenty of towels, sand chairs, beach umbrella and coolers (a nice touch) The complex has a beautiful infinity pool with hot tub and is nicely landscaped. A private stairs leads to Kola landing for good snorkeling and diving (very convenient) This complex is quiet and seemingly never full (only 30 units), many sunny days in pool with just us (a big plus) Gas barbeques for grilling are close and never busy. We loved the location within walking distance to Baby beach to the west and short drive to Poipu beach to the east. Views from the balcony are fantastic with the ocean crashing just a 100 feet away. Try the pancakes (huge) at Joe's on the green, dinner at the Beach House is excellent and worth it. Brennecke's Beach Broiler is nice but portions are small for the price. If its a little cloudy in Poipu just drive to the westside in minutes where its even sunnier, try Salt Pond Beach. We drove to the northend for sightseeing and more beautiful beaches but I think you'll have more dining choices in the south and its easier and quicker to get around. All in all, Whaler's and Kauai are beautiful and well worth the long flight. We will be back!

  • Liked — Quiet, Clean, Views, Location, Unit sizes.
  • Disliked — Not directly on a beach.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

Aloha! We spent our honeymoon in Kauai. We had 10 amazing nights at Whalers Cove. The condo we were in was an end unit on the top floor. It was amazing. It reminded us of the villa we were engaged at, in Acapulco Mexico. The condo was completely remodeled- the floors were travertine, gorgeous travertine baths in both the master and guest bathroom. There is a window in the master shower with a million dollar view! The house was fully furnished with Ethan Allen- new fixtures- a great CD collection- fully stocked kitchen and new appliances. The deck was the perfect place for late night chats with a bottle of wine or an afternoon sunbathing. In the mornings I spent time on the deck with a cup on Kona coffee and watched dolphins and snorkelers on the shore. The condo has no beach but one is not needed. The proximity to Poipu beach park and Mahaulepu is enough. The condo has a great pool, hottub and sunbathing deck that is barely used. There are several gas grills available for cooking as well. Sunset from the lawn in front of the condos is unrivaled and you won't be vi'ing for space as you would be near the beach house restaurant and beach. As wonderful as this was, you must make a request about the unit you want. Each are individually owned, not all are updated or remodeled. Originally we were put in a huge unit that wasn't updated and was on a ground floor. We asked to move and were completly accomadated. The staff was absolutely wonderful. There is a small cove that is popular with sea turtles, the attached pictures are from the rocks in that cove. Everything about our condo was private, comfortable and accomadating. Enjoy and mahalo! :)

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandih12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We had a fabulous time! We stayed in Unit #111. We found it to be very clean and spacious. The view was tremendous - right on the ocean. The Unit has a wonderful lanai that merges into a floral and coconut palm garden - perfect for dining or reading or just sitting and gazing at the view.
The folks who run Whalers Cove are wonderful. (Thank you!!)
You'll enjoy Baby's Beach - it is very close. Make sure you take a tour of the Na Pali Coast - we recommend seeing it via catamaran. Dondero's at the Hyatt is a wonderful restaurant - and make sure you stop at the panel van that serves up shrimp dishes and icy coconuts - it sits off the road at an intersection near Whaler's Cove.
Kauai is gorgeous and exactly what this vacation-starved couple needed - we highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I spent months putting this trip together. This site was extremely helpful in finalizing my selection. Whaler's Cove is in a great location. Quiet, private and gives the feeling of being away from typical hotel tourists.
We booked a 2 bedroom 2 story unit overlooking the pool and the ocean. The price was approx $500 per night -- less than what you would pay for just a room in a great hotel. The property was not crowded at all. The pool (clean and modern) was mostly deserted and you felt like you had the whole place to yourself. Other reviews are accurate in that although the 2 bedroom unit dimensions are similar, decor is different. We were lucky that we didn't get the typical "golden girl" hawaii decor. Our unit was just renovated and was done in the darker, Tahitian or polynesian style. Great furniture, marble floors, burber carpet, granite and gorgeous wood full kitch, stainless steel appliances, and the most fabulous bathrooms anywhere. The outside patio/balcony was enormous. The only negative was lack of air conditioning, and being it was July, made us very nervous. I typically can't sleep without the air cranked up. Surprisingly, the air circulation and temp at night was not at all unpleasant.

I would recommend this place to anyone. I would contact the property directly and ask which unit this is. It's directly over the pool on floors 2 & 3.

  • Liked — Ultra luxury and great value for the price of a hotel room
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenRMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I've stayed here twice now and there are DEFINITE differences in quality of the units. Either that or I have a serious 4 year memory loss problem. Maybe the difference is 4 years of wear and tear??

The good: There are very very few places that you can rent that gives you the ocean access that this gives in (relative) seclusion. Yes, you can get a house in Costa Rica on your own beach... but given the area, you can literally feel the spray from the lanai when big waves hit. It is also a small(er) set of units... I have never been during Spring Break, but when there are other people sharing the pool with you, it is an exception. The pool is very nice as well - not large, so you'll want to head to the gym to get your laps in... or don't lap swim on your vacation, either way. It is also fun to look for the turtles that frequent the ocean from the pool area. The condos are also quite large - full kitchens, nice bathrooms, HUGE lanais that take advantage of the location. We don't have kids - but if we did having the 2nd bedroom would be nice and they really can be "away" from the adults.

Poipu is a good area to stay, too... I was not impressed with Lihue and while Princeville seems to get the pub, I like the more laid-back-ness of the south shore.

The bad: no air conditioning. I'm the first to admit that you rarely need it - even in July/August which is when I've been there. But, for the price, it sure would be nice to feel some relief from the heat/humidity during the day. It cools off at night, but depending on the breeze you get, it usually cools off pretty late. The decor. I think we got the "Golden Girls" suite... and wow. Yes, hawaii likes to have floral themes, but this was a bit much. The unit I was in previously had a nicer decor, a much nicer kitchen, and better bathrooms. The staff also was surprisingly not great - we arrived and were greeted with smiles and even received a phone call saying that the rate we booked at was too high and they were going to get us the lower rate - unexpected, but very nice. Unfortunately, they apparently were confused (and I still am) and later called and said that we "didn't qualify" for it... if a big-box resort had said that I got a lower rate (not that they would) even if they made a mistake in saying that, they would honor it. This was on my mind for about the first 30 minutes... and then the ocean helped it melt away.

My advice: stick with the ocean view (it overlooks the ocean and puts you about 50 feet farther from it, only) and save whatever the difference is. In my case, that unit was the better unit from a previous trip.

We'll definitely be back again to Kauai (there really is nothing like it) but are about 50/50 on taking our chances here again.

  • Liked — location, unit size
  • Disliked — outdated decor, lack of air on hot days
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RedDragonThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

My wife, 3 children ages 6, 6, and 8, and I stayed at Whaler's Cove for 10 nights from June 30 to July 9. We had unit #132, which we rented from Grantham Resorts, an excellent company. Our unit had an incredible oceanfront location with the sound of the pounding summer surf ever present.

This unit was a 4 star delight, with 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen, and marble floors downstairs. The pool area was quite nice, and the kids spent lots of quality time there. It took me a couple of days to get used to the heat that accumulated during the day. Since the lanai got full sun for most of the day, it was relatively unusable except for the morning or evening hours. Also, the breezes come from the northeast on the island, so you must have the front door open in order to get adequate air circulating throughout the unit. Luckily, there was a screen door that allowed for us to keep the main door open when we were in the room. Note that it seemed that the units in building #2 overlooking the pool had lanais that were somewhat shielded from the daytime sun, although they were further back from the ocean.

The location of the complex is quite good, although you need to drive a few minutes to get to the beaches. All in all it is an excellent place for those looking for luxury accommodations in Poipu.

  • Liked — Luxury feel; quiet; excellent location
  • Disliked — Got a little hot during the day
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LMK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,312 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2640 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalers Cove Resort on beautiful Poipu Beach in Kauai, Hawaii offers luxury condos in a relaxing and stunning location. Our property offers daily housekeeping, full kitchens in each unit, and partial or ocean views with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. One stay at Whalers Cove Resort and you'll see why guests have awarded us the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Hotel Poipu
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing