We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo 122”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whalers Cove Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
PNW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Condo 122”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Whalers Cove Resort is a gorgeous property sitting right on the ocean's edge. It is of older construction but very well maintained with stunning views. We were entertained daily with whales frolicking in the ocean and enjoyed the view from a huge lanai with well appointed outdoor furniture perfect for sun bathing. Unit 122 is a lovely and spacious unit loaded with beautiful art, 2 bedrooms, a nice dining and living room, 2.5 baths and a very functional laundry center. This is a "Deluxe Waterfront" unit which has ocean views from both the dining room and living rooms, the bedrooms are located in the rear of the unit, away from the crashing waves with a cool breeze that blows though in the evening. There is a brand new 70" Samsung TV in the living room and a new 46" Samsung in the master bedroom. The master suite is roomy, has a California King bed that was very comfortable and linens of good quality. The very furniture is very nice and fits the room perfectly. Master bath is huge walk-in shower with 2 heads and the deep, jetted tub affords a wonderful view of the ocean through a one-way mirror. We did not use the 2nd bedroom - it's has twin beds, full bath with tub and shower and a huge closet. We stayed 2 weeks and, upon departure, booked the same unit for 2 weeks next January. New, comfort height toilets would be a great addition to this place but, other that than minor issue, this a perfect place to rest and rejuvenate!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNWMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed in Whalers Cove for 10 days this past November and rate the experience a 3.5 / 5.

Pros
1. beautifully situated property next to sea turtle habitat overlooking ocean
2. well-built and very well maintained property - orchid gardens, constant grooming of property, nice structurally designed units
3. pool area was designed for optimal sun during day overlooking ocean and was typically very quiet
4. one of the nicer properties in Poipu; (Hyatt is too large and wasn't aesthetically pleasing; Koa Kea is a 'chotchy' or trendy boutique hotel retrofitted into an older hotel with limited lobby / dining facilities, which didn't work for me as I walked the property)

Cons
1. No exercise facility; no immediate beach access
2. Property was quiet, maybe too quiet
3. Unit I stayed in and others I viewed online have outdated decor. Kitchens & bathrooms should be remodeled and decoration updated from the early 90s

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeus1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

It can be thought to find, so have your GPS put.

This is an older condo that has been taken care of over the years. The grounds are beautiful, and the scenery is spectacular. Every day you have turtles coming in, and since this is the spot to scuba you will have plenty of human company also.

The pool is smallish and has an attached hot tub. Again, the grounds are clean. There are also gas bbqs.

There is no ac in the condos, but there was a nice daily breeze while we were here

It's a short walk to the Kukui'ula center for restaurants and snacks.

No

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OregonTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A beautiful and quiet hideaway in paradise, perfect for downtime and rejuvenation. This is a spectacular oceanfront property, all condos face the ocean. With a gorgeous blue pool and jacuzzi bordering the property, you can listen to the surf and the breeze while suntanning by the pool. It's heavenly quiet. The grounds around the pool and property is well-manicured, with mature and fragrant frangipani, orchids,hibiscus, and other hawaiian flowers, trees. This place is perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries, or just to get away from a busy life.

we had unit 232- 2 storied condo starting on 3 floor - luxuriously decorated- all bathrooms are either granite countertops or marble, fancied accessories. the only complaint is: we arrived at night, and the indoors was so hot ( from the day's heat) that we learned quickly , there is no A/C in most Kauai's residences. Had to open all windows/doors, turn on all fans in the condo.
We acclimate to Kauai temperatures within 24-48 hours. ( conveniently between low 70s's to mid-80's in October).

We had maid service daily- the office staff was courteous, very helpful with details like Wi-Fi,etc..

Room Tip: we chose top floors - ocean views are fantastic and the breeze helps with ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I visited Kauai in October for the wedding of a friend. We spent 7 days at Whalers Cove and had a wonderful time. We had been to the island, and had in fact stayed at Whalers Cove many years ago when our children were young. This time, it was just the two of us and other friends attending the wedding and festivities. Our days were filled with fun and adventure and our accommodations were top notch. We had spectacular views from our lanai, kitchen, master bedroom and master bath (shower) (unit 233). My husband enjoyed snorkeling in front of the property and captured many superb pictures of the sea turtles and other sea life. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island ;-)

Room Tip: All of the condos are ocean facing so it is pretty hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryJH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I can't express how beautiful this property is. There is no doubt that the views are absolutely breath taking. My brother was married on this property in a small but quaint ceremony. We used unit 117 to get ready and the couple stayed there as a honeymoon suite! The unit was gorgeous with ample room and a nice breeze. The unit and location was absolutely perfect for the small little wedding that we had. It also had the romantic feel which made it perfect for the couples honey moon sweet. If anyone is looking for the most beautiful place on earth to have a small wedding ceremony and the most romantic honeymoon unit 117 is the perfect choice!!!!

Room Tip: Condo 117 was absolutely perfect!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just returned from a fabulous 7 night stay at Whaler's Cove unit 121. As far as Whaler's Cove in general......it was the perfect spot for us! We didn't want to stay at a big resort crowded with people. The ocean front is spectacular!! The pool was really nice and we hardly saw anyone else using the pool so it was nice and quiet. In the evening we went down to the lawn to share the beautiful sunsets with a few of the other guests. The location is great, close to The Shops at Kukuiula (Living Foods Market & Cafe has organic food and we ate breakfast here several time, yum!, Merriman's Downstairs Cafe has the best Mai Tai), close to Koloa Fish Market where we got fresh fish to cook at the condo. WC has a stairway off the parking lot with access to a cove that goes to the ocean and we loved snorkeling here.....saw lots of fish and turtles. Would definitely stay here again, it is a special place.

Unit 121 is somewhat out of date, not a luxury unit if that is what you are looking for you may want to choose a different unit. I love the second floor unit though, there is a huge lanai that goes across the living room and bedroom with huge windows. We left the sliding glass doors open the whole time we were there....no air conditioning but it wasn't a problem for us. No bugs. Lots of surf sound. Lots of stars. We would stay in this unit again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hdluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Resort

Property: Whalers Cove Resort
Address: 2640 Puuholo Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whalers Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whalers Cove Resort on beautiful Poipu Beach in Kauai, Hawaii offers luxury condos in a relaxing and stunning location. Our property offers daily housekeeping, full kitchens in each unit, and partial or ocean views with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. One stay at Whalers Cove Resort and you'll see why guests have awarded us the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whalers Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Hotel Poipu
Whalers Cove Resort Kauai/Poipu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing