We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 70's to 80's Steak House”
Review of CJ's Steak & Seafood - CLOSED

CJ's Steak & Seafood
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A 70's to 80's Steak House”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had no problem getting seated w/o reservations in late November after our flight to Kauai and settling into our condo. The restaurant was fairly close to our condo, hence why we chose. The environment nice, waitstaff excellent and the food just mediocre. Not a variety of fish to choose from and the sides were as an older steakhouse. The salad bar was quite mediocre - definitely a 70' s throwback. My biggest disappointment was the salad bar. I was hoping for many more of today's available vegetable variety for the salad and also more updated salad dressings.
Depending on what you are looking this may be perfect or a bit Below expectation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salamder07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    176
    163
    89
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marion
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

High priced for below average food. Expect to pay minimum of $20 to $40 each unless you have an appetizer only. Chicken Teriyaki dinner lacked flavor and presentation next to the clump of rice it was served with. Salad bar lacked imanigination for a tropical island. There was fresh pineapple, but canned peaches, cotitage cheese and three bean salad...no different than any other low end diner on the main land except a bigger price. Waitress didn't ask if seperate checks were desired and was too lazy to seperate the bill between us and another couple. She would only divide it in half. The painted surface around the salad bar was tacky too the touch from too many coats of paint and humid weather. Not recommend

Helpful?
Thank jnmitchta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Eating at CJ's was like a return to the 1970's. Salad bar, menu, drinks, decor. This place is so retro it is cool again. The food was good and the MudPie for dessert was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the area, eating dinner out each night. I had the ribs and my wife ordered the prime rib. Both dishes were done perfectly and the quality, although not top shelf, was good. The salad bar was a nice extra for this reason. We had been eating throughout Hanalei at perhaps 8 different restaurants by the time we hit CJs and the prepared salads up until our night at CJs were sub par. So having our choice of fixings from the salad bar was a great improvement. Also on the plus side, for what we made for our meal was not much more than what we were shelling out for the other meals at the other restaurants. So, by far, CJS was the best deal when trying to compare the restaurants, where are we going to be most satisfied. There really is not a great place to eat in the Hanalei Princeville area, aside from St. Regis, but CJs came the closes to having a decent meal at a reasonable price. Our next trip will include more trips tho CJs rather than spending our time at some of the other restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place was just ok. Food was average and service was ok. The decor is dated. We only went because we had a coupon, otherwise we would have chosen another place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJ's Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing