We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but will probably not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but will probably not return”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I went to Kauai for the first time on a promotion from Westin to promote their timeshares here.

We were very impressed with the hotel itself and the studio room we had. It had a partial oceanview and a lovely lanai which we enjoyed very much while staying here.

The room was lovely with a sunken garden jaccuzi tub. There was a full refrigerator and stove and microwave. The kitchen had everything you would need as far as utensils, plates, glasses (even wine glasses!). We did not cook but for those of you who wish to do so you would have everything you need. We did go down to Foodland, the local super market and purchased beer and wine which saved a lot on drinks. There is also a washer and dryer in the room which came in very handy.

Everyone we encountered with one exception was very pleasant and helpful including the valets (very nice!) and the concierge was very helpful in booking us a couple of excursions.

There were some weird, quirky things however that we did not like. We were in the room for 5 days and the room was only cleaned 1 time. After 2 days of no cleaning I called down and inquired as to when our room would be cleaned and was told that since we
"were there on a timeshare promotion that we were being treated like timeshare owners and would only get 1 cleaning and no clean towels". Okay, here's the issue; we are not owners, we were guests and while it's not that huge of a deal it would have been nice to have been informed of that at checkin instead of finding out 3 days into the trip that we would have to clean our own room and wash our own towels.

Also, when we first arrived from the airport our first night, it was a little after 8:00 pm and we were starving. We went to the hotel restaurant and were told that the restaurant stops serving dinner at 8:00 pm. Seems really early to quit serving food. Also the hotel market closes at 8:00 as well so we were pretty much up a creek but thank God Foodland and a bar and grill (Paradise Bar and Grill) was in the shopping center just up the road. Another issue with the restaurant/bar on the hotel property was one night we went down to the bar for a Mai Tai and there was live entertainment on the patio, we attempted to walk out on the patio with our drinks to listen to the live music when the hostess stopped us and said that tables were only available to people eating dinner there. Now mind you, we wouldn't have cared except there were many, many empty tables available and the whole time we sat in the bar the tables never filled up. They just remained empty. Seems kind of silly that we could not go outside and enjoy the music, but that was the rule I guess.

We did attend the timeshare presentation and while they said it would not be high pressure we kind of felt the heat when we expressed no desire to purchase a timeshare.

We overall enjoyed our stay here but probably would not stay here again for the simple reason it was too far from everything we wanted to do. It is at least an hour to 2 hours from all the excursions and things we wanted to do. We prefer more nightlife and restaurants, bars, etc close by, this was way too quiet for our tastes. It is just our personal preference.

If you want a very quiet vacation in a lovely hotel this would be perfect for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    603
    211
    62
    44
See reviews for
601
1,013
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

They allow smoking on the lanai's which are right next to each other. We had a lovely dinner and there are many positives about this spot, however having to tolerate smoking on balconies in a non-smoking building is incomprehensible.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mariacgentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very clean and well-kept condo/hotel. Everything looked and felt new. The bed in our room was sooo comfortable! The best I have ever slept on! Our unit didn't have a view, but then I wasn't really expecting one. You are not on the beach either, but that didn't really matter to us, since we like visiting as many beaches as possible when we are in Hawaii. We really liked the Princeville area too. Great grocery store around the corner with a great deli. Loved the Boar's Head turkey wraps! (Cheap meal) I would reccommend this place. One drawback to staying in Princeville though, is it is on the northside of the island. It is not centrally located on the island. Most of the excursions that are in boats leave on the south side of the island, which is about a hour away. Not a problem unless you are going to do something early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eram11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The Westin is first class in every respect. The whole Princeville area is so nice, uncrowded, as compared to Poipu in Kauai or Lahina in Maui.
We traded from Interval and got a 2 bedroom ocean view room that was overlooking the golf course as well. We have stayed at a lot of time shares throughout the world, and this place rates with the best of them.
You have to live with driving a distance to get out to ATV's, kayaking on the Wailua RIver, or Poipu or the Waimia Canyon, but the most is about 2 hours one way. We felt the beauty and senerity of the area made up for this.
If you have a portable GPS, bring it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishfearmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Our stay at this hotel was incredible. The grounds were impeccable and beautiful. There were two pools- a quiet pool and a regular pool, so there was always somewhere to get some peace if we really wanted it. The pool-side bar was great for happy hour, and the lunch menu outside was excellent. The hotel runs a shuttle to the St. Regis down the road where you have beach access. It seemed like this might be the only downfall in the beginning- the fact that we weren't steps from the beach- but it really wasn't an issue at all. The St. Regis is stunning, and it was great to have an excuse to walk through the hotel every day on our way to the most incredibly beautiful view from a beach I have ever seen. There are a lot of delicious restaurants in Princeville, and it's a really quiet and peaceful part of the island. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. I literally dream about this experience. You will not regret it. I cannot think of a single complaint.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmschuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here the last week of March 2011. We are SV owners, so traded our week at another property to stay here. I agree with other reviews: 1) Property has no beach, but you can use the St. Regis - and valet for free or take the shuttle. It's a little strange to walk thru the St. Regis lobby with your snorkle gear, but after the initial embarrassment, it worked out. The Westin pools here are beautiful and we visited so many other beaches, that the pools were just perfect. The grounds here are beautiful, and the tiki torches at night really add to the setting.2) Check out @ 10am is too early. We got extended to 11am, and an invitation to use the hospitality room - a room you can get for 45 minutes to shower/freshen up before your flight home. Ended up and didn't even use it, as we couldn't get at a good time - used the workout room showers instead. 3) The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and VERY clean. 4) As owners staying less than 7 nights, we were provided no housekeeping services, beyond what I was willing to pay extra for. Normally, owners get 1x per week housekeeping, it just felt a little cheap that we weren't given any housekeeping whatsoever for our 6 nights. I'm sure it's standard policy, but I wasn't aware, and it felt annoying 5) The extra amenities, such as guest speakers (Titus) was amazing. The extras really add to your experience, whether you want to make a lei, a coconut postcard, etc. 6) Because we visited in winter, all boat rides/scuba experiences leave from the other side of the island - 45-75 min drives - that discouraged us from doing some activities. 7) Kauai is beautiful, absolutely beautiful, and having a resort to stay at, such as the Westin, made our trip spectacular. It was so nice to have a variety of activities on the island, and then come "home" to the R&R of this property, a nice BBQ dinner, hot tub, and the heavenly beds :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenash24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our first time to Kauai and the Westin very nice. The studio rooms are very large with a kitchen and eveything you need a week or extended stay.

The grounds are beautiful and they have several swimming pools and activities on a daily bases.

We are SPG Gold members and really enjoy Starwood properties.

Wendy was the best concierge we had; very friendly and took the time to make sure our plans, stay, and vacation was going well. Listen to her suggestions as she has the inside scoop.

Avoid Natalie at the conierge desk as she was very rude to us and it was apparent we were bothering her with very simple questions about Kauai and our stay. My wife spoke with the manager Jennifer about her, and Jennifer basically made excuses for Natalie's behavior. This was somewhat disappointing and concerning how Jennifer handled this situation; being a lead person or member of management.

Overall, the staff here was excellent and the Sunday brunch is not to be missed!

We will be back! You cannot go wrong with your Kauai stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShadow32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing