We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Condo Experience with Perks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Condo Experience with Perks”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This was my second visit to Kauai. The first time I stayed at the Hyatt on the south shore. It was as nice as everyone says it is, but nothing compares to the north shore. It's far more beautiful here and has a laid back, tropical and less touristy feel to it. If you're active and willing to explore, the Princeville/Hanalei area is the place for you.

The Westin Princeville is a CONDO resort. That's the experience you get when you stay here. It's best when you're willing to buy your own groceries (hit the Safeway on your way from the airport for better prices), cook your own food throughout the week, rent a car to explore the island and use the condo for a home base and pool time. The condos themselves are modern, well decorated, spacious and contain almost every amenity you'll need. It was very comfortable for our 8 day stay.

We had a one bedroom condo overlooking the pool area. It had a fully equipped kitchen (with everything but an oven), a six person dining room table, a living room area with a couch, coffee table, chair and TV/DVD player, a separate bedroom with a TV, a sizeable bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and a small porch with chairs. It's also equipped with a washer/dryer. The pictures online are accurate but really don't do it justice. There are outdoor BBQ grills and communal tables available for your use as well.

We checked in and were basically left alone for the duration of our stay. You can even opt out of housekeeping each day and get a $10 food voucher in return, which is nice. There was no pressure to attend a timeshare presentation. We weren't offered an upgrade (which was initially disappointing) and had no ocean view but it didn't matter in the end. If you want beach and ocean time there are far more stunning views and beaches if you're willing to drive 10-15 minutes down the road. You won't regret it if you do. I recommend Tunnels Beach in particular. It's outstanding.

If you're looking for a typical hotel experience where you're taken care of at every turn and have your hotel, pool, beach, nightlife and/or dining options (including room service) all in one place, you will be happier elsewhere. Although the rooms here are great, and the grounds are immaculately maintained, the resort itself isn't necessary beautiful. It's a collection of condos with some hotel-like perks (a concierge, a general store, a restaurant, pool bar and small menu of spa services). If you approach your stay here with the understanding that it's not a hotel and that you actually need to get in your car to experience the island, you'll have a great time and appreciate this place for the gem that it is.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CATravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    590
    207
    61
    42
See reviews for
575
988
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I stated at the Westin, celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. The property is beautiful and very well kept. That being said it has more negatives than positives. Parking is far from the units, carrying groceries is not fun. We asked a bellman who was in the parking lit with a luggage carrier for help and he refused. Not the type if service we expect from
Westin. The timeshare sales presentation took a turn for the worse when we decided not to buy
(after seriously considering). The pompous supervisor came in and was extremely condescending and argumentative. Too many other choices on this beautiful island to spend your money here.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TLSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I am a Gold member with Starwood and almost always get upgraded to a nicer room. At beach locations, I generally get the ocean view. This is a property is shared with folks like us, and owners/timeshare that get preference. Hence, we were not upgraded -- even if we wanted to pay for an ocean view. We had the pool view. The pool is nice, and my kid enjoyed the property, but we didn't have to go all the way to Kauai. Also, there is no beach access; the property will shuttle you over to the St. Regis to use their beach property. It was a little stuffy for us; not quite our style.

Rather, we drove 2 miles in the direction of Hanalei and found a gorgeous beach there. We had the whole beach to ourselves -- much much nicer feeling and vibe. I preferred the Sheraton in Poipu. The ocean view was amazing, the location had a good restaurant, and unlike the Westin, they offered breakfast on location. Poipu has a lot fewer things to do (which was ok with us) since it is a much more laid back atmosphere. I would certainly recommend the Sheraton over the Westin.

The vibe at the Westin was pushy and very sales-centric. Everyone was trying to sign us up for a timeshare property review. Eventually, on our last day, we went. I would reocmmend not going. It was a complete waste of time and the timeshare offer was worthless. They were pushy though they said it would not be a pressure situation. David, their sales led, came by after the initial property review with the junior rep. He was completely unprofessional, rolling his eyes, and was creating a pressure situation. We walked. I would certainly recommend the Sheraton over the Westin.

We also enjoy room service, but the Westin seemed to have no breakfast option, very thin selection for lunch or dinner. I know we have a kitchen, but expected that a Westin would maintain the level of service even at their villa location -- not the case.

The pool was nice for kids, and our kid certainly loved the kiddie water slide.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Amit66119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I went to Kauai for the first time on a promotion from Westin to promote their timeshares here.

We were very impressed with the hotel itself and the studio room we had. It had a partial oceanview and a lovely lanai which we enjoyed very much while staying here.

The room was lovely with a sunken garden jaccuzi tub. There was a full refrigerator and stove and microwave. The kitchen had everything you would need as far as utensils, plates, glasses (even wine glasses!). We did not cook but for those of you who wish to do so you would have everything you need. We did go down to Foodland, the local super market and purchased beer and wine which saved a lot on drinks. There is also a washer and dryer in the room which came in very handy.

Everyone we encountered with one exception was very pleasant and helpful including the valets (very nice!) and the concierge was very helpful in booking us a couple of excursions.

There were some weird, quirky things however that we did not like. We were in the room for 5 days and the room was only cleaned 1 time. After 2 days of no cleaning I called down and inquired as to when our room would be cleaned and was told that since we
"were there on a timeshare promotion that we were being treated like timeshare owners and would only get 1 cleaning and no clean towels". Okay, here's the issue; we are not owners, we were guests and while it's not that huge of a deal it would have been nice to have been informed of that at checkin instead of finding out 3 days into the trip that we would have to clean our own room and wash our own towels.

Also, when we first arrived from the airport our first night, it was a little after 8:00 pm and we were starving. We went to the hotel restaurant and were told that the restaurant stops serving dinner at 8:00 pm. Seems really early to quit serving food. Also the hotel market closes at 8:00 as well so we were pretty much up a creek but thank God Foodland and a bar and grill (Paradise Bar and Grill) was in the shopping center just up the road. Another issue with the restaurant/bar on the hotel property was one night we went down to the bar for a Mai Tai and there was live entertainment on the patio, we attempted to walk out on the patio with our drinks to listen to the live music when the hostess stopped us and said that tables were only available to people eating dinner there. Now mind you, we wouldn't have cared except there were many, many empty tables available and the whole time we sat in the bar the tables never filled up. They just remained empty. Seems kind of silly that we could not go outside and enjoy the music, but that was the rule I guess.

We did attend the timeshare presentation and while they said it would not be high pressure we kind of felt the heat when we expressed no desire to purchase a timeshare.

We overall enjoyed our stay here but probably would not stay here again for the simple reason it was too far from everything we wanted to do. It is at least an hour to 2 hours from all the excursions and things we wanted to do. We prefer more nightlife and restaurants, bars, etc close by, this was way too quiet for our tastes. It is just our personal preference.

If you want a very quiet vacation in a lovely hotel this would be perfect for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

They allow smoking on the lanai's which are right next to each other. We had a lovely dinner and there are many positives about this spot, however having to tolerate smoking on balconies in a non-smoking building is incomprehensible.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mariacgentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Very clean and well-kept condo/hotel. Everything looked and felt new. The bed in our room was sooo comfortable! The best I have ever slept on! Our unit didn't have a view, but then I wasn't really expecting one. You are not on the beach either, but that didn't really matter to us, since we like visiting as many beaches as possible when we are in Hawaii. We really liked the Princeville area too. Great grocery store around the corner with a great deli. Loved the Boar's Head turkey wraps! (Cheap meal) I would reccommend this place. One drawback to staying in Princeville though, is it is on the northside of the island. It is not centrally located on the island. Most of the excursions that are in boats leave on the south side of the island, which is about a hour away. Not a problem unless you are going to do something early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eram11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The Westin is first class in every respect. The whole Princeville area is so nice, uncrowded, as compared to Poipu in Kauai or Lahina in Maui.
We traded from Interval and got a 2 bedroom ocean view room that was overlooking the golf course as well. We have stayed at a lot of time shares throughout the world, and this place rates with the best of them.
You have to live with driving a distance to get out to ATV's, kayaking on the Wailua RIver, or Poipu or the Waimia Canyon, but the most is about 2 hours one way. We felt the beauty and senerity of the area made up for this.
If you have a portable GPS, bring it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishfearmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing