We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

We were really wowed here. We booked a garden view unit and got a free upgrade to an ocean view one. The view from our Lanai was incredible. The room was very spacious, modern and comfortable. We totally loved it. There was a full kitchen and a washer/dryer. The bathroom was very big and even had a whirlpool in it.

There is one big swimming pool and 2 smaller pools. The grounds of the resort are very beautiful. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and the food was incredible. Probably the best resort restaurant I ever ate. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly.

There is no beach access but you can use the beach from the St.Regis. This was not an issue for us at all.

We were really sad to leave this paradise and hope to be back one day.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Freya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    597
    207
    61
    44
See reviews for
585
1,002
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Overall we thought this resort was just average.

We are happy go lucky people who rarely complain.

There were no major disappointments but nothing wowed us either.

Staff: Did there Job but nobody went out of there way to make us feel special.

Rooms: We had a one Room Villa that was Clean, Spacious, Excellent Beds and had a Garden View that was OK. BE AWARE, NO OVEN (just a micro-oven) and it has that apartment feeling where you can hear all your neighbors but wasn't bad.

Resort: Had 7 buildings, 3 pools. 1 Restaurant, 1 Outdoor bar, 1 small market and a fitness center. Overall the layout is not bad and the pools are the focus of the resort. BE AWARE: IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY BEACH ACCESS AND THE VIEWS TO THE OCEAN IS VERY LIMITED.

Pools: The main pool was very busy with children, parents and had some very nice features but we never used. It also had two plunge pools. One had a bunch of outdoor grills and you could view the ocean from a distance but we never used. The other was a quite pool and was the close to our villa and we used the most. HOWEVER - IT WAS ANYTHING BUT QUITE. TEENAGERS/KIDS LOUD, CELL PHONES BEING USED AND HORSE-PLAYING was always happening. We are not blaming the guests because the pool is not marked very well and nobody seemed to police it. THIS WAS OUR MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT OF THE RESORT and just know what to expect.

Parking: The have free valet parking and some general parking if you wanted to park your own. THEY CHARGE $13.00 PER DAY ( I personally think this is lame and should be part of the room charge) AND GOOD LUCK TRYING TO PARK IN THE GENERAL LOTS. THEY ARE SMALL AND OFTEN FULL. ALSO SOME OF THE VILLAS ARE A SMALL HIKE TO AND FROM THE GENERAL LOTS OR EVEN FROM THE VALET. However, parking in general is a major problem of Kauai and keep an open mind for it is not that bad at the Westin.

Restaurants: It had one nice restaurant but we never tried it. We did look at the menu but did not like the food choices or pricing. WE HAD OUR OWN KITCHEN AND THERE ARE LOTS OF GOOD NEARBY CHOICES. TRY BUBBA BURGERS!

Bar: Outdoor bar was nice and there food was excellent. BE AWARE THE BIRDS AND CHICKENS ARE AGGRESSIVE IN WANTING YOU TO SHARE but we never minded and often laughed at them.

Marketplace: Lets just say it was convenient and had a little of everything. THEY ARE VERY EXPENSIVE but it is the convenience you are paying for. REALLY ALL YOU need to do is take about a 5-10 minute car ride to the local supermarket (FOOD-LAND) that had everything.

Fitness Center: Was very small and crowded. Nice equipment but who wants to work out on vacation?

Pricing: We got on an internet deal. Buy two days and get the third free. We stayed 6 Nights and paid around $350.00 per day. PLEASE NOTE THEY WILL GIVE YOU A $10 CREDIT IF YOU WAIVE DAILY MAID SERVICE. HOWEVER, THIS CREDIT CAN ONLY BE USED IN THE RESTAURANT, BAR OR MARKETPLACE AND ONLY TOWARDS FOOD AND THE DAY IT WAS GIVEN OTHERWISE IT EXPIRES AND IS VOID.

Concierge: We only used them to help setup and couples message and a Helicopter tour. THEY CONSTANTLY ASK YOU TO TAKE PARTICIPATE IN THERE SALES PRESENTATION but that is there job. I ALWAYS AVOID THIS AND DO NOT FALL FOR THE FREE ITEMS FOR IT IS NOT WORTH IT AND THEY APPLY TO MUCH PRESSURE. Otherwise they are knowledgeable about the island and what things you are looking to do.

Overall: WE enjoyed our stay at the Westin but we more then likely will not go back to this resort. The lack of view of the ocean, lack of beach access and the NOT so quite pool are things that are important to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WildthingakaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The rooms, facilities and staff were all fantastic. We stayed 6 nights and felt very well looked after the whole time. The kindness of the staff was really appreciated. The 24 hour gym, steam, sauna, pool and spa were really great and helped us feel relaxed. The full kitchen was fantastic - we didn't have a car and just used the free shuttle to take us to the supermarket (really fun shopping there - so different from australia!). We made some delicious meals and enjoyed our room. The bathroom is huge! Also the washing and ironing facilities were a hit. Don't forget to do a trip down to Hanalei & sunset at the St. Regis!

Yes it rains - on and off - we still had a lot of fun. If you are there simply for sun stay on the southside.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awalk2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt Cook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The room was fantastic, had a jacuzzi tub, washer and dryer...etc. We were there on a 2 night stay that I had won so I'm not really gonna complain.

The only thing I have to say it that there is only 1 pool table at the pool and small kids that could barely look over it were jeopardizing the table and wouldn't let anyone else play. We finally had to push our way in and then they just stood around waiting like vultures and made our experience not so fun. These kids couldn't even play the game. Also, when I went to the fitness center once again small kids in there just playing around on the equipment. I understand having a kid friendly place but can the adults have a place too, where kids aren't allowed? We like pool and working out too.

Other than that we enjoyed our stay very much.

Thank you

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went to the Westin for Easter Sunday Brunch. It was buffet style. The food was amazing. They served champagne if you wanted it. All inclusive. There were many seafood dishes as well as prime rib, lamb and many other fixings. Also had a full array of breakfast foods. Best food on the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Respectfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We go to the Princeville Ocean Resort Villas once a year. We take our two children and their families. We rent an entire villa and all eight of us are extremely comfortable. Our small grandchildren love the pool and the best part is that no matter how full the resort is, the pool is never overcrowded. They have lots of poolside grills, so we always enjoy cooking a few meals by the pool. The whole island of Kauai is so beautiful. We really like the Princeville area because it is quiet and doesn't feel touristy. You are very close to Hanalei and the North shore. We just love coming here.

Room Tip: We really like buildings 3 and 7. They are in the middle of the complex and you are close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJAmemiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We just spent a week at the Westin Princeville. Easily the most relaxed place in the islands to visit. A great location, close to golf and activities and the whole Hanalei Bay scene. The restaurant on site is good. The whole place just says, "relax and take it easy." The staff were incredibly helpful. Loved it. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmac555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing