We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still sleeping on Polyster sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 May 2012

It confuses and frustrates me that a Westin property does not have cotton sheets. They advertise the "Heavenly Bed" in the rooms and give you the opportunity to order the 100% fabulous cotton sheets but they force you to sleep in non-breathable polyster! Resort is clean and staff is attentive. Food is good but expensive. No beach or views but still a nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2far2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had our wedding at the St. Regis Princeville this past April. However, our family members and several guests stayed at the Westin. If you're looking for more of an apartment style feel with full kitchen and laundry, the Westin is perfect! The rooms feature full kitchens and laundry, which is great for families that want the option of cooking. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were impeccable and the 1 bedroom suites feature two LCD flat screen TVs (one in the living room and one in the bedroom). The grounds are very well kept and the pool is very nice. The restaurant in off the lobby has great food and I recommend doing their brunch which has many tasty items. There is a shuttle that runs about every 30 minutes from the Westin to the St. Regis. Because both are Starwood properties, you can use the various amenities at the St. Regis, including the beach. The one knock on this property is that there's no convenient beach access. However, there's so many nice public beaches, especially in Hanalei, where this won't be an issue.

I highly recommend the Westin for families/groups!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is not a Westin property! Trust me , I have stayed at over 50 different Westin properties and been gold/ platinum for ten years. I would not recommend this hotel. No beach access, no one working the check in for starwood members, no breakfast room service and no sign for the hotel off the freeway. Its the same exit as the St. regis. Pay the extra $ to stay at St. Regis as its not worth it to stay here. I would have moved the moment we arrived but will a 10 month old not as easy. They cater to time share owners! Trust me on this one. Ps plus you will get calls to come get your free gift. It's a pitch to promote time shares.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vogeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our 6 night stay at the Westin Princeville was almost perfect. We rented a studio villa which more than met our needs since we used the room mainly for meals and sleeping. The studio is quite large and comes with a fully equipped kitchen. This is great for those who like to enjoy home-made meals on vacation. There are also outdoor grills located all over the property.

Our studio also was equipped with a jetted bath tub, which was great for getting over jet lag or relaxing after a day of hiking.

The property also has several pools and hot tubs. At least in early May, there was plenty of room in the pools and hot tubs, Friendly conversations abounded on the infrequent occasions when there were other people at the tubs.

There is a standard hotel-type 24-hour gym on site and plenty of running trails around the site.

The beach at the nearby St. Regis (2 miles away) is open to residents at the Westin. One can drive to the St. Regis and use the free valet parking or take the free shuttle. The beach itself has very calm, clear waters and the St. Regis has plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas. There are also cabanas for rent.

The staff was friendly and competent, although we did have one day of poor housekeeping, This was promptly corrected when it was pointed out to the hotel.

Our queen size mattress was a tad soft. One issue was the air conditioner blowing directly onto the bed. Adjusting the vents helped a little but cold air still blew on the bed every time the air conditioner came on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days at the Westin Princeville and it exceeded all my expectations. Great pool area, fantastic room, and the thing that really impressed me was how friendly and courteous ALL the staff were. Always smiling and saying hello. The porters/bellhops were also great. My fave was Umberto (I think that was his name). Super awesome guy! Also good was the shuttle that the hotel provides to take you to the st Regis and the Princeville shopping centre. Definitely will stay here again!! Best on the island!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_ogawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon and stayed at the Westin in Princeville. The hotel is located approximately 45 minutes north of the islands main airport. This is primarily a family resort, and wouldn't recommend this as a first option for honeymooners unless you are using star points.

Upon arrival, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade from a studio to a 1 bed/1 bath room. The staff let us view both rooms, and we decided to take the upgrade. Our room was in building 7.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room or use many if the Westin facilities, as we were exploring the island. The kitchen had enough items to make spaghetti, but no oven to make pizzas or anything else. Even bare necessities such as trash bags and dish washing soap were not included (but available at the Westin market). We frequented nearby Foodland or Safeway (on about 30 mins south).

The rooms were clean and nice, but there was constant noise coming from the housekeeping team throughout each afternoon. We didn't use the grills but there were plenty of them available to use thought the property. We were also given a note to pick up a bottle of champagne in the market for our celebration-only to find it was a cheap twist off cap with no vintage year! Not a good impression. I also got annoyed with the numerous voicemails from hotel staff about events going on at the hotel-hopefully they can find a less obtrusive way to receive communications during your stay.

While the Westin has shuttles to the St Regis to enjoy the beautiful panoramic views of the sunsets from the lounge, the shuttle leaves on the hour. We just hopped in our car and drove a couple of minutes to the St Regus and left our car with valet. The St Regis had live jazz the two nights we visited around sunset, which gave our experience a bit more of an upscale feel. We really enjoyed it. This was one of the few romantic options in the area.

Also of note - the hotel is a timeshare property and you will be solicited to attend a 90 minute sales presentation. We were on our honeymoon, and reluctantly attended with my wife (which as a requirement). In exchange for your time, you can get star points or a resort credit for services/restaurant. the presentation lasted the full 90 minutes and becomes quite awkward when you tell the sales manager you aren't interested in becoming locked in to Starwood vacations for life. That's 90 minutes of my life I'll never get back.

A few notes on trips around the island:

Hanelei Bay is about a 10 minute trip. Thee are many local restaurants and shopping in the area, with wonderful views of the mountains and waterfalls. We found ourselves visiting Hanalei Coffee Roasters each morning to enjoy their smooth Kona coffee.

Afterwards, we took the trip through Hanalei to the end of the road where we hiked the Kalalau trail. The hotel told us correctly that this is a difficult trail. Neither my wife or my parents would be able to hike this as it is filled with large, slippery rocks and requires a solid footing. About 2 miles in, it started to pour, so we turned around as we were concerned about our ability to get back. Be sure to bring old shoes and clothes as it can get muddy!!!!! The views were breathtaking and were well worth the effort.

From the Westin, also make a trip to Waimea Canyon on the west side of the island - beautiful views and worth the 1 1/2 hr + ride from the Westinto the top of the canyon! On the way back, stop at one of the beaches on the south shore around Poipu. Great opportunity to get some sun that may not otherwise be available in Princeville!

Stayed: April 2012
8  Thank uncgradincharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed on our honeymoon, what a beautiful resort although we thought it had a beach. The front desk guy, James helped us find a great room and was very helpful throughout our stay. We will definitely recommend it to our friends, the concierge Brady was a little pushy to get us into a timeshare presentation but aside from that we had a great time

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingerjamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £226 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing