We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$857
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$801
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$354
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$256
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$774
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
1,080
655
230
68
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,080
655
230
68
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanea restaurantstudio villastarbucks coffeeheavenly bednorth shorest regisgolf coursewasher dryervacation ownershipquiet poolfull size fridgesister propertyfree shuttlemain poolregis beachkids poolanini beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've been owners of this Starwood property for four years and just returned from the most relaxing, enjoyable, two week vacation ever! All of the associates at the resort are SO friendly and helpful and make us feel More at Home, than at home!!! Front desk staff is awesome as are the concierges who can arrange any excursions or activities for you. The executive chef prepared an incredible dessert plate for our 10th anniversary that was amazing! We've stayed at other Starwood properties but, to date, this is our Home away from home!! Incredible!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in Building 6 or 7 for the best ocean views! Enjoy the Drink of the day poolside! Excellent food at Nanea restaurant!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djduane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Aloha djduan1: Congratulations on your 10th Anniversary! Thank you for the review on your most recent stay as an owner at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. It is delightful to hear that you had a relaxing enjoyable vacation. We appreciate your recognition of the staff friendliness and helpfulness and that you feel at home when you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon at your home away from home. Until we meet again, Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was on a package deal which included a rental car and a studio unit. I thought we would also get a package which included a voucher for breakfast or daily maid service. Apparently there are differernt packages and that wasn't included in ours. We were happy with the Westin Princeville. A famiuly member happened to be staying at the Grand Hyatt during the same time we were in Kauai . She spent a lot of time with us and liked the feel of the Westin better than the Grand Hyatt. We had room 7308 and were very pleased with it. We didn't cook in our unit very much but when we did, I found the kitchenette area to be just a tad too small. I was not that impressed with the restaurant onsite. We did go to Foodland and did bbq one night. Another night we bought pizzas from the onsite market. If I were to stay at the Westin again, I would be a little more prepared and buy some supplies at the store like foil and saran wrap. All in all though, we enjoyed our stay at the Westin Princeville.

Room Tip: Bldg. 7 was nice and if you're on the 2nd or 3rd floors you don't have to worry about the roosters on your patio. The air conditioner shuts off if the lanai door is open.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margob1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear margob 1034: Mahalo for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on your enjoyable resort experience. It is nice to hear that your family members took the time to drive to the north shore and liked the feel of our resort. We have 20 BBQ grills spread throughout the resort and are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy them. Our studio villas have a fully equipped efficiency kitchen with a dishwasher, full size refrigerator, micro oven, coffee maker, blender, toaster and more. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and hope you will visit again in the near future. Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For the couple of years while vacationing in the Princeville area I make it a point to have drinks at The Westin's Sports Bar..... Chris Stopher and pool side staff are wonderful!!!! If your in the area... make sure you stop by and have a drink.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Aloha Frank L: Thank you for your loyalty in visiting the Wailele Bar and Grill at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Located poolside, Wailele provides inspiring cocktails and casual dining offerings. Mahalo for recognizing the wonderful staff and our bartender Chris. We look forward to continuing to provide exceptional guest experiences to you and others that enjoy Wailele Bar and Grill. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First off it's in a nice area of Princeville, HI. Property is nice, "studio room" good (except the big dents on the face of the refrigerator and gardeners at our patio at first light). I booked this hotel on the basis that we thought we were booking just that...a room in a nice vacation hotel. Well...we found when we arrived it's more of the "Vacation Ownership" type of property that keeps some studio rooms available for "non-owners" to book. They even said during our check-in that there were only a couple of rooms to choose from as most rooms were reserved for "owners". That comment didn't give me that warm and fuzzy feeling.
We were also unaware they don't clean your room unless you call for maid service daily (at least that was our experience) and they do not replenish the coffee packets for the coffee maker like most other hotels do. I called Express Service from our room to get another coffee packet because they did not clean our room while we were out all day and they said it would be an additional charge for the coffee packets (you know... the kind that come in a foil wrapper). I was taken back by that and had to ask twice about it. I explained that we were full price paying "guests" and not part of the "ownership" and all the Express person could say was "sorry, we charge guests for additional coffee packets". Really?.. If I had known we were going to be charged for every little thing which other hotels include daily we would have looks at other hotel options. If they were only better at informing folks that this is first and foremost a "vacation ownership property" and secondly a "sort-of" hotel it would make it easier to choose to stay there or not.
We love Kauai and have been there 4 times now. We will continue to come back but will more than likely investigate other "hotel" options that give us a better return on investment.

Room Tip: If you stay at this Westin property say at least on the second level so you won't be surprised by the gardeners working next to your screen door at first light. We slept with the sliding door open and were surprised more than once by them being there so early. Also, check the ceiling fan in the room to make sure it's not noisy. Ours had a surging noise to it which was hard to get a good night sleep when using.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaliHai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear BaliHai2013: Thank you providing us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay, particularly with replenishment of coffee. Our in-villa starter kit includes the essentials for our guest convenience including a 12 cup coffee packet, dishwashing liquid, laundry soap, dryer sheets and more. Should guest have a need for additional items, the items are available in our Princeville Market for a nominal fee. The resort kindly asks our guests to participate in our Malama Ka Honua (Save the Earth) program where guests choose to forgo the daily housekeeping service in exchange for a breakfast buffet. We apologize if this was not clearly explained to you on arrival. On an average, a little more than 40% of our rooms are available for our non owner guests and again apologize if you were given a different impression. We appreciate your comments as they have provided us with information on training opportunities for improvement in certain areas. We are delighted to hear that you will continue to return to the island and we hope you will give us another chance to turnaround your impression of the resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We received "a special offer by mail" that included five nights and an Avis rent a car. We thought the deal was a good one, but then checked other travel sights and could have booked a larger one bedroom unit for less money than the studio we had. Unit was clean and furnished well. Balconies on the studios are very small, and not private. Their " Grocery store" is highly recommended by staff, but we found it to be very pricey. A Foodland grocery store is 5 min. Away. Roosters will wake you at dawn - so have the coffee ready!

Room Tip: Bldg.4 has golf course view and ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Ginger W: Thank you for providing your feedback. There are many special package offers available from different booking channels. We appreciate your recommendation to research options. The resort’s Princeville Market provides the convenience of having basic grocery needs, gifts and sundries readily available for our guests. The Princeville Market also offers prepared grab and go options such as pizzas, hot and cold sandwiches, salads, fruits and Starbucks coffee drinks. The main grocery store in the area is located approximately 1 mile from the resort and the resort's complimentary shuttle is available to transport our guests. Mahalo and Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews