We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, beautiful resort, very peaceful, but no beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great rooms, beautiful resort, very peaceful, but no beach.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We are owners at the Westin in Maui, and decided to try this sister resort on Kauai. As long as you know what your are getting, this will be a wonderful place to stay. However, there is no immediate access to a beach, unlike the Westin on Maui. You can use the beach at the St. Regis, but it is 2 miles away, and a shuttle runs only every hour. The beaches on the north side of the island have rather rough surf, and they were closed to snorkeling while we were there. We drove to Poipu, but it is over an hour drive. Princeville is also wetter, and more rustic. We had a great time hiking, and enjoyed the comfortable room. Unfortunately, the main pool was undergoing renovation, and was closed the entire length of our stay. We used the smaller pools, but they were pretty crowded. This was a nice change from Maui, but overall, we will probably stick with our home resort on Maui.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wienerdogsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Aloha wienerdogsdad: We are delighted you had a great time on your last visit to our resort and that you had an opportunity to visit Kaua’i. Although we do not have direct beachfront access from the resort, some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located within a short driving distance from the resort. Beach guides readily available at the resort for our guests which outline the nearby beaches, facilities at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. Seasonally on all the Hawaiian Islands, the north shore beaches tend to have the higher surf in the winter and are flat in the summer. During this time of the year, the north shore surf is at the start of high surf whether you are on Kaua’i or Maui. Over the late Spring, Summer and early Fall, the beaches near the resort have wonderful snorkeling. Thank you for your review and perhaps we will see you visit again if your future travels to Hawai’i are over these periods. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    606
    214
    62
    44
See reviews for
608
1,018
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a great experience at the Westin Kauai. We were coming from Maui where we had stayed also at a Westin property.

The Kauai Westin in in the Princeville region of Kauai, in the more desolate Northwest corner of the island, about an hour from the airport. The rooms are really like short term apartments with kitchen and laundry. As such, many people choose to buy groceries and cook which makes sense given that the dining options are limited in that part of the island.

There is no direct access to any beaches but the sister St. Regis property is just down the street where you can access their beach (recommend going there for sunset). The Westin does have a few pools. Overall its a very serene location with some good vistas and easy access to Princeville golf, beaches, and hikes on that side of the island.

The challenges with that side of the island though are if you are going to any points south, it is going to be a long drive. One could choose to stay at the St. Regis and the amenities may be slightly better. But if you are going to be out and about on the island, the Westin is a more sensible choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Aloha sindap: Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. The villa accommodations are spacious and include the comforts of home with full equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, whirlpool tubs and more. Although we are not a beachfront resort, in addition to the access that our guests have to use the St Regis Princeville beach (no pool or pool deck access), some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located within a short driving distance from the resort. The staff has beach guides readily available for our guests which outline the nearby beaches, facilities at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. The north shore of Kaua’i has many wonderful historical attractions and activities. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were really pleased with our stay at the Westin Princeville. I booked his stay as a package that I received for being a Starwood member. It included 5 nights, a credit towards a rental car and a resort credit. Clearly the point of the package was to introduce guests to the Starwood ownership program. We met with a friendly concierge up arrival who gave us a brief orientation to the resort. We did sign up for the additional presentation in exchange for $100 resort credit. The next day we changed our minds and I was concerned about what their reaction would be. Actually, the concierge was very nice, asked no questions and simply cancelled our appointment. We returned our extra certificate and were never made to feel pressured or bad. The room itself was great - having a washer and dryer was very handy. I do suggest you either purchase or bring your own detergent and fabric softener since they don't supply you with much. I threw a couple of those washing pods into my suitcase before I left and they ended up being quite handy. The fridge was large. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The resort served as a good base for exploring the North Shore. We stayed a few nights at a different property in the South Shore so it was nice not having to travel that distance often. All in all I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear mplstraveler: Mahalo for your review on your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you had a great vacation with us and enjoyed the nice spacious villas and the amenities including the washer/dryers, kitchens and full size refrigerators. The north shore location of the resort is convenient to explore the many attractions and activities the area has to offer and we are delighted that you took advantage of it. Thank you for recommending The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas as a place to stay. We hope to see you back in the near future. Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This resort is awesome. The units and property are gorgeous right next to the cliffs. This property shares some amenities with the St. Regis located next door. Service was great and the units were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchampion25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Aloha pchampion25. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We are very fortunate to have privileges at the St Regis to include the use of their beach (no pool or pool deck access), restaurants and the Halele’a Spa and our complimentary resort shuttle will provide transportation every hour on the hour between 9am and 8pm. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations that include the comforts of home including kitchens, whirlpool tubs, washer/dryers and more. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Got to stay in Princevill here with family and could not have been happier with the experience. The facilities were always immaculate, from the pools to the bars and everything in between. It really was an excellent experience.

The rooms were very clean on our arrival and the staff went out of their way to get us what we needed (facilities for an infant: crib, high chair, etc.) Everyone was polite and greeted us with an 'Aloha' as we passed and otherwise did what they could to make us comfortable.

The poolside service by the main pool was attentive and eager to bring us more drinks or food and the quiet pools in separate areas were as advertised.

Well worth your 'time', points or $$.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Markus H: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you for recognizing the staff and the efforts they make to ensure that our guest has an exceptional guest experience during their stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the facilities with your family. We hope to see you back with us on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Absolutely loved the Westin, the hotel is beautiful, gorgeous grounds with beautiful pools spread around the property. We loved our studio very generous room.

The hotel has a great policy if you forgo the cleaning service you can receive a free breakfast which was great.

Loved staying in Princeville, great location, loved being so close to Hanalei Bay.

Loved all the daily market stands at hotel will local merchandise, also loved the yoga outside definitely a highlight.

Room Tip: We'd requested a room on 1st floor, wasn't available our room was lovely only negative was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Aloha Tessgc: We are delighted that you had a beautiful vacation with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the grounds, pools and the spacious studio villas. It is nice to hear that you took advantage of the many programs we offer including the Malama Ka Honua (Save the Earth) program where you forego daily housekeeping service in exchange for one complimentary buffet for days of the declined service. Yoga is one of the many rejuvenating activities offered at the resort throughout the year and are happy that you took advantage of the program. We look forward to having you back at The Westin Princeville in the near future. Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We swapped our time share 'time' on Maui for Kauai for a change this year and so glad we did. Some comparisons n similaritie between the 2 - Everything on Maui is bigger, more populated and faster paced than Kauai including the resort. Kauai (not Maui) comes with chickens/roosters that cock-a-doodle doo pretty much round the clock which we found amusing. Each have beautiful views - Kauai is more organic, relaxed and low key where Maui is more 'commercialized'. The accomodations are the same. Maui has more dining options, more TV screens at the bar/grill, Kauai has a bar/food comes from the main restaurant. Kauai is quieter, fewer kids/families and the average age of couples is over 40. I was surprised how many kids were at the Maui resort, poolside - kids don't stay at the kiddie pool...it's for really small kids I guess. The BBQ grills on Kauai are numerous and in top shape - the resort is only about 4 years new and everything looks it. We didn't take the shuttle in Kauai to the St Regis (beach or dining). We heard you can see an incredible sunset from there. On Maui, sunsets are part of the nightly routine - the Westin on Kauai faces NE so no sunsets. We really enjoyed Kauai - our 3rd floor suite was comfortable, had an ocean view past the gorgeous landscaping and the edgeless pool at 'the cliffs' was picture perfect. Kauai isn't as sunny as Maui so we didn't bake for 6-8 hours/day which was kind of nice actually. We've decided on the best of both worlds - alternating islands each year. We missed being able to walk down to the beach to snorkle (Maui) and it's a little or longer drive to dinner on Kauai if we didn't BBQ. On Maui, the shuttle to Kaanapali is so convenient and there are so many restaurants to choose from with larger menus.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Cliff Pool have terrific views, not far from self-park lot. I wouldn't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilBareTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,311 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing