We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$777
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$749
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/05
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$439/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/05
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,094)
Filter reviews
2,094 results
Traveller rating
1,088
658
232
68
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,088
658
232
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanea restaurantstudio villastarbucks coffeeheavenly bednorth shorest regisgolf coursewasher dryervacation ownershipquiet poolfull size fridgesister propertyfree shuttlemain poolregis beachkids poolanini beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,120 - 1,125 of 2,094 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Westin Princeville. We had really liked it on the previous 2 visits, but weren't as enamored this time. We had stayed for 4 nights at the St. Regis and had decided to spend out last 2 nights on Kauai here. We were in building 7 on the first floor in a studio. They tried to give us a room in a different building, but it wasn't a good location. This room (7116) was in an excellent location. The problem is that the room felt much more dated and worn then the last time we stayed (2012). The furniture was looking sort of shabby and the bed wasn't too comfortable. The refrigerator "rolled" out of its space every time it was opened. I still love the general layout of the property, but probably wouldn't stay here again. We ate at the pool bar for lunch (okay) and Nanea (very bad). Finally, the staff at check-in wasn't particularly accomodating. I booked the room months ago and specifically asked for a certain location and they still tried to give me something lesser, even though I am an SPG Gold member.

Room Tip: Building 7 has ocean views toward the end and is a very nice place.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudioCityTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Aloha StudioCityTraveler,

Mahalo for choosing The Westin Princeville as your accommodations in the islands and for your loyalty to the SPG program. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the status of your room. We are delighted to let you know that the resort is planning for a room refresh next year. Please be assured your valuable comments regarding your dining experiences and check in experience has been shared with our team. We hope you will consider us again for a future stay and see the changes made based on your feedback. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Westin Princeville. We had a 1st floor studio in building 4 with a beautiful view overlooking the golf course, with the ocean beyond, and we had everything we needed within the unit to enjoy our vacation. While we enjoyed watching the many birds which visited our open patio, it was a bit of a problem if you were trying to enjoy a glass of wine and a snack out there, as the birds would hover and then pounce at the table when you weren't paying attention. This caused a glass of wine to be knocked over and smashed, so we don't advise food outside on the first floor.
We found it easier to cook breakfast as the options for dining were very limited. Apart from the restaurant on site where we dined once, local restaurants were very few and required a drive. Enjoyed excellent service and happy hour at the Wailele Bar each day but we were VERY disappointed to be told on our arrival that the main pool was to be closed off the day we arrived for maintenance and didn't re-open until after we left. This was a real issue for us as we had been viewing the live pool webcam for the last few months and were really looking forward to lounging poolside. I know the smaller pools were available but seating was limited and they were always busy. Had we been told on booking that the pool would be closed, we would definitely have selected other dates.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd floor or above.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear margstew: Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us. We apologize if you were not notified about the pool closure. With the 4 pools at the resort and the use of the lap pool at the Makai Golf Club, we scheduled the much needed maintenance one pool at a time and ensured that there were pools available for our guests. We made every effort to notify all of our incoming guests and are sorry that this was not communicated to you so that you could modify the dates of your stay especially since you were viewing the resort from the webcam prior to arriving. We are delighted that you enjoyed the villa in Building 4 and the amenities in the units which enables our guest to enjoy the comforts of home. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the Happy Hour at Wailele Bar and Grill. We hope you will give us another opportunity and see you again on a future visit to Kaua'i. Mahalo and Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We are owners at the Westin in Maui, and decided to try this sister resort on Kauai. As long as you know what your are getting, this will be a wonderful place to stay. However, there is no immediate access to a beach, unlike the Westin on Maui. You can use the beach at the St. Regis, but it is 2 miles away, and a shuttle runs only every hour. The beaches on the north side of the island have rather rough surf, and they were closed to snorkeling while we were there. We drove to Poipu, but it is over an hour drive. Princeville is also wetter, and more rustic. We had a great time hiking, and enjoyed the comfortable room. Unfortunately, the main pool was undergoing renovation, and was closed the entire length of our stay. We used the smaller pools, but they were pretty crowded. This was a nice change from Maui, but overall, we will probably stick with our home resort on Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wienerdogsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Aloha wienerdogsdad: We are delighted you had a great time on your last visit to our resort and that you had an opportunity to visit Kaua’i. Although we do not have direct beachfront access from the resort, some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located within a short driving distance from the resort. Beach guides readily available at the resort for our guests which outline the nearby beaches, facilities at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. Seasonally on all the Hawaiian Islands, the north shore beaches tend to have the higher surf in the winter and are flat in the summer. During this time of the year, the north shore surf is at the start of high surf whether you are on Kaua’i or Maui. Over the late Spring, Summer and early Fall, the beaches near the resort have wonderful snorkeling. Thank you for your review and perhaps we will see you visit again if your future travels to Hawai’i are over these periods. Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a great experience at the Westin Kauai. We were coming from Maui where we had stayed also at a Westin property.

The Kauai Westin in in the Princeville region of Kauai, in the more desolate Northwest corner of the island, about an hour from the airport. The rooms are really like short term apartments with kitchen and laundry. As such, many people choose to buy groceries and cook which makes sense given that the dining options are limited in that part of the island.

There is no direct access to any beaches but the sister St. Regis property is just down the street where you can access their beach (recommend going there for sunset). The Westin does have a few pools. Overall its a very serene location with some good vistas and easy access to Princeville golf, beaches, and hikes on that side of the island.

The challenges with that side of the island though are if you are going to any points south, it is going to be a long drive. One could choose to stay at the St. Regis and the amenities may be slightly better. But if you are going to be out and about on the island, the Westin is a more sensible choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Aloha sindap: Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. The villa accommodations are spacious and include the comforts of home with full equipped kitchens, washer/dryers, whirlpool tubs and more. Although we are not a beachfront resort, in addition to the access that our guests have to use the St Regis Princeville beach (no pool or pool deck access), some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located within a short driving distance from the resort. The staff has beach guides readily available for our guests which outline the nearby beaches, facilities at the beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. The north shore of Kaua’i has many wonderful historical attractions and activities. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Mahalo and Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were really pleased with our stay at the Westin Princeville. I booked his stay as a package that I received for being a Starwood member. It included 5 nights, a credit towards a rental car and a resort credit. Clearly the point of the package was to introduce guests to the Starwood ownership program. We met with a friendly concierge up arrival who gave us a brief orientation to the resort. We did sign up for the additional presentation in exchange for $100 resort credit. The next day we changed our minds and I was concerned about what their reaction would be. Actually, the concierge was very nice, asked no questions and simply cancelled our appointment. We returned our extra certificate and were never made to feel pressured or bad. The room itself was great - having a washer and dryer was very handy. I do suggest you either purchase or bring your own detergent and fabric softener since they don't supply you with much. I threw a couple of those washing pods into my suitcase before I left and they ended up being quite handy. The fridge was large. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The resort served as a good base for exploring the North Shore. We stayed a few nights at a different property in the South Shore so it was nice not having to travel that distance often. All in all I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear mplstraveler: Mahalo for your review on your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you had a great vacation with us and enjoyed the nice spacious villas and the amenities including the washer/dryers, kitchens and full size refrigerators. The north shore location of the resort is convenient to explore the many attractions and activities the area has to offer and we are delighted that you took advantage of it. Thank you for recommending The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas as a place to stay. We hope to see you back in the near future. Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews