We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

A very nice resort and I am so glad that we chose it. We have a roomy studio suite with nice views of the ocean in the distance. Great service from the staff. Princeville is a little out of the way, but the scenery in the area is gorgeous.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Aloha Schmitt663: Mahalo for your review on The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations offered at the resort. Thank you for recognizing the great service the staff provides. The north shore of Kaua’i does have spectacular scenery from the majestic mountains to the vast ocean. We hope we will see you in the future with your next visit to the islands. Mahalo and Stay Well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    603
    211
    62
    44
See reviews for
600
1,013
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this property in past 5 years and 2nd with costco travel as agent. Based on our past visits this resort used to be really good and we figured it would still be the same. I have stayed in Westin's across US and EU and never had such a horrible experience.

We got the Breakfast package and it was hassle every morning explaining folks at the Naena restaurant that we should not be charged for breakfast because we prepaid. Also Sunday brunch is not covered and they up charge you. My opinion is do not buy the breakfast package unless you want to waste 10 minutes every morning haggling for things you paid for and then repeat the same at check out.

My second issue was front desk sounded irritated that we booked via costco when we were checking in.
We had to upgrade to a One bedroom at steep price because Studio ended up being small and they could not supply extra bed. While upgrade to one bedroom was our choice (expensive) what irritates me is they put us in building 5 and there was paint work going on in that building along with outdoor construction. Paint smell (i am allergic to paint) was horrible and when we brought it up with Front desk we were told there is nothing they could do other than say sorry. We complained again to service express (front desk) and lady said we should have checked with them before our trip and enquired about their construction plans.

Third issue was when we were checking out I brought up couple charges that I saw for breakfast for me and my wife the lady said you have to pay for breakfast. I had to go over the whole package and tell he we already prepaid close to 300$ for the breakfast for 6 days. They took the charge off after some attitude. I don’t mind spending money but cannot be a charitable towards a inefficient organization.

Over all I would say property is nice but dealing with front desk and few other incidents put a real bad taste on our vacation. If you can get past snottiness of front desk the actually service folks (security, room cleaning, bar etc) are pretty nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not get breakfast package and make sure you book the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Aloha Chandra K,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas time and again for your visits to the islands and for taking the time to share your most recent experience. We are disappointed to read that your trip did not meet and exceed the experiences from your previous visits and are sorry that you felt the challenges you faced with regard to your dining package and maintenance in your building were not met with aloha. We apologize for this lapse in service and the inconvenience caused. Your feedback has been shared with our team to ensure a smoother process for our guests enjoying our breakfast inclusive offerings and keeping our guests’ comfort in mind for a rejuvenating stay. Please note that guests joining us for a breakfast inclusive package do have the option of dining at our Princeville Market as part of the package or joining us for our enhanced brunch buffet for a nominal additional cost on Sundays only. We are pleased that our team could assist with upgrading to a one-bedroom villa to better suite your needs, however, kindly be advised that each villa features a Heavenly bed and a sleeper sofa for the conveniences of our guests requiring additional bedding. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please reach out to a manager on duty at 808.827.8700. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again and turning around your impression of the resort. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel charges nearly $400 a night and there is nothing special about this place. It's a 3 star hotel. Pool is nothing special and the views of all the rooms are of the parking lot or some trees. Check in is at 4pm, and they are very strict about checking in at this time. They will nickel and dime you for everything. $1 for an extra laundry detergent. And if you decide to not do housekeeping for 1 day, they will give 1 person in your part a free breakfast (1 day only). The good thing is that the room has a kitchen and washer dryer. But otherwise nothing special. The grand hyatt in poipui was so much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Southern_OC,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas during your recent visit to the islands and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations with regard to your check in time, room view and amenities as we strive to create a memorable and rejuvenating stay. When villas are available prior to 4 p.m., we do welcome guests to check in immediately, and we are sorry an early check in was unavailable this time. Our deluxe island view villas offer a range of views from lush garden views, four picturesque pools, golf course views and more, and we apologize that you were dissatisfied with your villa. As for in-room amenities, we are pleased to provide a starter kit for guests that includes items such as dish soap, laundry detergent, fabric softener and coffee. Additional items are available for a nominal fee in the market for our guests' convenience. For guests who choose to join our optional Malama Ka Honua green program, a complimentary breakfast is provided for each day housekeeping services are declined, and multiple days are welcomed. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will use your comments as an opportunity to see where we may improve our guest experiences at The Westin Princeville. Wishing you well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Westin over Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and the property was beautiful! We had a 1 bedroom which was very nice on the 3rd floor with a view of the ocean and mountains. The pools were beautiful and we always found chairs. I was worried about no beach but it was not a problem at all-short drive to beaches.

Room Tip: Room 3302 has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear jesspete: Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is great that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and that you enjoyed the one bedroom villa. Mahalo for recognizing the staff friendliness. Although we are not a beachfront property as we are located on an ocean bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, we have many of the best beaches on the island within a short drive from the resort. The staff has Beach Guides readily available for our guests that outline information on the nearby beaches which includes facilities at the different beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The resort is very family oriented and was (overly) dominated by guests with young children during our stay. Not a resort to hang out at for couples looking for a romantic vacation. Pretty average and not quite up to par with other Westin Ocean Resort Villas on other islands. That being said, the North Shore Kauai location and close proximity to the Hanalei Bay area was best benefit. One of the most beautiful and fun areas in all of Hawaii - great beaches, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, restaurants, shops and much more within minutes of the Westin. Note the Westin is on a bluff and there is no beach access at the resort itself. Recommend you avoid Nanae restaurant - the primary restaurant. Food is subpar at best for dinner (had to send back dishes that were truly unacceptable) and the breakfast buffet is what one would expect at a budget hotel. Fortunately, guests have privileges at the St. Regis close by where The Kauai Grill is (one of the best meals ever) and is also close to Hanalei town where some really nice restaurants including The Dolphin, Bar Acuda and more. Service was pleasant and helpful, but limited. Gym is ok. Spa is kind of a joke - just a small semi-open hut in the middle of a grassy area with two massage tables.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Aloha BillandElisa,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for your recent stay in the islands and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the resort's north shore location, however, we are disappointed that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. The Westin Princeville is pleased to provide several services and opportunities for guests joining us for a romantic getaway, including our designated quiet pool, couples spa services and private papai dining for two. With regard to your dining experience at Nanea, we appreciate your feedback and are glad that our Director of Food & Beverage was able to personally address your concerns during your time with us. We hope hope you will consider Kaua'i again for a future trip and look forward to your return to the islands. Mahalo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We are quite pleased with the Westin in terms of location, the room and the overall property. I loved having a kitchen and full size fridge. They also offers gas grills throughout the property, which we took advantage of a few times. There is also a grocery store just a few miles down the road. These all gave us affordable options vs. eating out for 3 meals. As this property is on the north, keep plans and timing in mind for any activities on the south side of the island. We actually split our days between the north and south. The room was equipped with a washer and dryer, meaning you can bring less clothes. The property was beautiful. Very lush. I was happy with the number of pool chairs and umbrellas. We could always find a spot with a bit of shade. It could be the time of year as this felt mostly adult with very few kids. Made for a very relaxing time. The property offered a number of activities, wine tasting, etc. but our schedule didn't allows for us to take advantage of the offerings. We were there on Halloween and the hotel employees created and adorable haunted house in one of the rooms for the kids on property. I thought that went above and beyond.. Possible negative... This property does not have direct beach access as it's on a cliff. However, you can take the shuttle to their sister property that is right on the beach. We did so and it was very nice. Overall, I'd stay her again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be specific about what you like... Ground floor, morning sun, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Aloha Dmctimm: We are delighted that you were pleased with your recent stat with us. Thank you for recognizing the team and the efforts they made to create a fun guest experience over Halloween. We are happy that you enjoyed the villa amenities which include the fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and more. The resort has 20 BBQ grills spread throughout the resort that provides the option of a casual meal with family and friends or dining out at Nanea Restaurant. Although the resort is not beachfront as we are located on an ocean bluff 200 feet overlooking the Pacific Ocean, there some of the most beautiful beaches on the north shore of Kaua’i. The staff offers a Beach Guide that outlines the beaches located a short drive from the resort. The guide outlines the facilities at the different beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Property was under construction in certain areas, outside our room in building 5. Very family oriented with no kids specific area, so tough to find quiet spot by pool or in hot tubs - even in two smaller pools or at dinner / bar area in Nanea restaurant. Conceirge had a "personalized Conceirge" concept, but ours was rarely there. Room Rate was ok, all rooms have w/d, kitchenette. Self park an addition $13. Rooms are standard tile and lights took a few minute after flickering. Westin Workout room was highlight. Great location on north shore and two miles from St. Regis and prince golf course. Good value hotel and service friendly, but not luxury.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear ksaridakis: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the location on the north shore of Kaua’i. The minor construction that we had around the entrance to building 5 is part of an energy sustainability project and work around this building is just about complete. We are delighted to be working toward being sustainable and energy efficient by producing our own electricity with this Co-Gen project. We are located adjacent to both the Prince Course and the Makai Golf Course and both courses offer special golf rates to registered guests of The Westin Princeville. The resort has 4 pools in which one is the Malie pool designated as the “quiet pool” for our guests comfort and one is a designated Kid’s pool with spouting turtles and slide. It is great that you enjoyed the Westin Workout which also includes a steam room and sauna. Thank you for recognizing the staff friendliness. We hope to see you back on a future visit. Mahalo and Be Well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing