We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kauai's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kauai's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

High on a cliff overlooking the magnificently blue Pacific Ocean sits the finest property in Kauai. 175 perfectly situated units all with an Ocean View. Five Pools, Three Hot Tubs, a fully equipped work out room, and a fine restaurant complete the package. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you need to feel right at home. The service staff is the best. If you need to get away and relax, give this one a try. You will love it.
Leighton Rockafellow
Tucson, Az

Room Tip: All rooms are good but building 3 and building 7 are closest to the cliff and give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Aloha Leighton R: Thank you for outlining the many features and amenities of the resort. We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us. Mahalo for taking the time to also mention the service that that staff provides. The resort truly provides a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. We hope you will return soon. Until then, Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    587
    204
    61
    42
See reviews for
572
972
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just got back from an awesome trip to Kauai. We traded into the Westin with our timeshare unit via II and had a spacious 2 BR unit which comfortably slept 7 of us.

Pros:
-A fantastic resort, great pools, friendly staff, beautiful views. -
-Upscale Princeville neighborhood & golf course.
-Very clean, lots of pool space, well maintained grills and seating areas.
-Close to Na Pali coast and Hanalei Bay.

Cons:
-Possible spotty weather in winter, may need to drive 30 mins to Kapaa or 1 hr to Poipu for sunny weather. Just plan on a scenic drive if you want better weather.
-Vacation counselors seemed only interested in setting up timeshare presentations. I had two separate interactions with them and as soon as I said not interested, friendly, personal touch was gone. Could be less obvious.
-Workout room extremely small given the size of the property and number of occupants
-No oven, just a stovetop, so couldn't cook a pizza.

Would highly recommend and would love to stay at the Westin Princeville again.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4 in room 4105. had a great view of the golf course and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Quite a bit late with this review, as I stayed here almost a year ago, but would still like to give a quick review. We really enjoyed this property, from its location near the water, to its golf course and ocean views, and it's proximity to the St. Regis where you could take a shuttle and use it's beach (but not the pool). My only issues were that the pool area was often very windy, and that it was not beachfront. Even though it's pretty easy to take the shuttle to the beach by the St. Regis, it's still a bit of a hassle, especially with kids. I would return though if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoshapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our experience was good but not what was expected. We booked a 500 plus square foot studio which should have translated into a very large room. The room was large but the space did not provide for an adequate bedroom sitting area. No better than a less than average hotel room. The problem is that the layout of the room is so poor. A spacious bathroom and entry area eat up much of the square footage. The balcony/outdoor area is totally inadequate, barely enough room for someone to sit and read. Room service while prompt is very limited and imagine paying $12.00 for a pitcher of iced tea. Together with tip and taxes the iced tea added $15.00 to a bill for a small pizza, total $35.00 for the two items. There is a $13 per day charge to self park your car, another way to pick your pocket since it's impossible to get around without a car.
This is not an upscale experience as in The Four Seasons Residence group, but adequate for a family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanLee0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha StanLee0413,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for your recent stay in the islands and for sharing your experience with us. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the property, location and friendliness of the staff, however, we are sorry to hear that your expectations were unmet in other regards, such as your room's layout and your room service experience. We were also disappointed that you did not find the value in the option to self or valet park for a nominal fee, as items such as Wifi and several resort activities are complimentary to our guests with no resort fee. Your comments have been shared with our team to continually improve the guest experience at The Westin Princeville, and we hope you will consider a future stay at our little corner of paradise. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I love the Westin Princeville! The rooms are spacious and clean! We appreciate having a small kitchen , washer and dryer! The views and pools are gorgeous! Our favorite being the view of the ocean (day) and stars (night) from the back hot tub. We went to Hawaiian night at their restaurant Nanea. We had our own private guitar player and hula dancer-they took requests, very fun! We saw a double rainbow and the whales & dolphin playing at sea! However, our favorite part of the Westin Princeville was the people! We were there when the surf was huge and it was a little chilly in the mornings. Several mornings we decided to try some of the activities at the resort. (We usually don't participate in these types of things when on vacation) We made a fresh flower lei, got airbrush tattoos, learned a hula dance and watched and then tasted the cooking demo (pukka? Some type of yummy fish!). The girls there at the activity hut -Mytra and Karlyn went out of their way to make sure we we having fun and gave us some good tips on fresh fish markets and waterfalls to visit! If you visit the Westin Princeville and your weather is a little iffy, don't miss the fun at the hut!! Flowers are gorgeous! Love all the lit torches at night! We travel quite a bit, our only complaint about our trip to Kauai was that we just didn't stay long enough!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or pool room view. Everything pretty centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy44077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Cindy44077. Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort including the rooms, amenities, on site activities and other experiences you encountered during your stay. It is nice that you were able to participate in some of the Hawaiian cultural activities that our staff loves to share with our guests at the same time they also share different island experiences that may interest you. Poke which is a Hawaiian seasoned raw fish popular with residents and is a favorite for many of our guests. It is offered on the Nanea Restaurant lunch and dinner menu. We are happy you had an opportunity to try it. We hope it will not be too long before you have an opportunity to visit us again. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Westin Princeville in January. As this property has been well described by so many insightful reviewers I will just note what we considered to be the positives and cautions of our stay.

Check-in / Building Location
Upon arrival we were accommodated with early check-in which we appreciated. We had requested a one bedroom unit with an unobstructed view and not on the ground floor. Three inside facing units, located in the buildings surrounding the main pool, were presented to us as "available". We were told that other available units with ocean / golf course views needed to be reserved for time share customers.

As it turned out the unit we selected was close to the main pool mechanical equipment which ran constantly and that reduced a bit of the peacefulness of sitting on our lanai. Several mechanical systems are located among the buildings so our advice is if you are offered a choice of room locations you may want to check them out prior to making a selection.

Resort Staff
We encountered many staff during our stay - front desk, consierge, housekeeping, groundskeepers, restaurant personnel, store clerks and valets and they were all uniformly and genuinely friendly, competent and professional. Very impressive.

Room
We travel fairly extensively and found our 800 sq. ft., unit to be among the best for layout, furnishings and upgraded quality of materials used. The bathroom size was extra generous with separate walk in shower and whirlpool tub and the kitchen was well equipped. Be aware that these units do not have ovens.

Grounds
This 18 acre resort was designed to give guests plenty of space outside to move around and enjoy everything it has to offer. Never felt crowded, even with 174 occupied units. The beautiful and diligently well maintained landscaping is just a pleasure to be around.

We took advantage of the outdoor grills (high quality and cleaned every morning) and tables, which are strategically located throughout the property, most evenings, which offered us the opportunity to socialize with other guests.

Breakfast
Covered outdoor seating provided a very pleasant environment. There is a menu to order from however most folks used the buffet which included typical warm (not very hot) eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes etc). Also included were many quality healthy choice items.

Now the concern.....Birds (doves and small song birds) were very aggressive with all the food on display. Fans are directed over the cold foods to keep the birds away however that did not always keep them from sampling the buffet. The doves however would try to steal food from the tables, even the occupied ones. Recommend management consider strategically placed netting to make it harder for the birds to fly in from the surrounding landscaped areas................just a thought.

Wai Koa Loop Trail
Although not on this property we highly recommend this easy 5 mile trail (walk or rent mountain bikes) though a working Hawaiian ranch. A wide, mostly grass and graveled path with little elevation change winds you through a variety of landscapes including the largest US Mahogany forest, fish ponds, fields and orchards, a dog park, a community garden, and a stone dam lookout from the 1800s. The trail head (off the Kauai Mini Golf parking lot) is 5 miles south on the main highway just before the exit to the Kilauea Lighthouse.

Overall we were very happy with the Westin and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Be aware of offered room proximity to mechanical equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Aloha nwesterner2: Thank you for taking the time to provide details of your recent stay in your review. It is nice to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for recognizing the staff friendliness, competency and professionalism. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and are using this to look at improvement in these areas. We are delighted to hear that you are planning to return next year and we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Be forewarned - your "private concierge" translates to private salesperson for a timeshare!! If you're not into spending your vacation time a prisoner of time share sales - don't be fooled - that's what they're after!
When we checked in we were told there weren't any rooms available on an upper floor without a parking lot view, which was what we had requested in advance. I figured that we wouldn't have a fantastic view since we were traveling on their "special 5 night deal" but I was hoping for an upper floor away from the loud and ever-present chickens. Then we were told we could go talk to our private concierge and maybe she could do better. She launched right into the timeshare spiel and offered an upgrade to a one-bedroom unit for an additional $500, which she said she would discount if we would just do the timeshare nonsense and after politely turning her down ( been there, done that) she sent us back out to the check-in counter. She wanted us to come back and see her the next day when she said she would help us with all our activities and schedule our dining experiences. We prefer to research our own "dining experiences" and found activities listed cheaper than she had quoted us. No offer of a glass of water or other hospitality until we had said no AGAIN to her timeshare presentation offer. All-in-all it left us with a bad taste. Westin would have better luck by letting their guests enjoy their resort and go home with good reports free of sales pressure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank hawaiilovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Aloha hawaiilovers2014,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for you recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. It is the resort's goal to provide a restful and rejuvenating visit for each of our guests, and tours are provided on a strictly optional basis. We apologize if your experience was less than exceptional based on your interaction. Your feedback has been shared with our team to ensure that our guests feel well cared for and welcome you to reach out to our manager on duty should you wish to discuss your stay further. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing