We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NorCal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you have complaints about being on the North Shore of Kauai? No one should listen to you. We flew in last week as the weather broke for the day after a couple weeks of heavy rain. Woke up to an amazing, thunderous Storm to welcome us. It left the Island lush & Tropical for our stay - for which we were grateful. Especially since we're in the middle of a severe drought back home! Having stayed at the Westin Villas on Maui, we knew just what to expect from this resort - and were, again, completely satisfied with our stay. We upgraded our Studio room to the 1-Bedroom for $100/night since we travel with our child. While we didn't take the time to fully utilize the conveniences of the Kitchen, we quickly found eating on-site is quite expensive (although, delicious). We also took advantage of their offer to treat the little one to the Kids Club while we did the Vacation Ownership Tour. Everyone was friendly, professional & we're excited to return soon! Be aware there is no beach at this resort - although, a terribly steep walking trail will take you right down to one next to the Property in about 5 mins. This resort is rather simple + smaller than others - but, I would still highly recommend it. Our room only looked out onto a corner BBQ area surrounded by trees - which was tended to each morning at 6:45am! Clank Clank. Otherwise - perfection!

Room Tip: Ask for a map of the property to select your room. Building 2 is great if you have Kids since it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear facosmo: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a nice family vacation and that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations and amenities at the resort. Although we are not a beachfront resort, some of the best beaches throughout the islands are located nearby and the staff provides beach guides that outline the location including driving directions as well as facilities available at these beaches. The guide also provides ocean safety information for our guests. It is nice to hear that you will be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo and until we meet again, Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    603
    210
    62
    44
See reviews for
599
1,011
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hana, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

First I want to say I'm a spg platinum guest and always taken care of very well upon arrival the frount desk was run by inexperienced high school students thay did not know the answers to any of my questions bad start but I must say spg up graded me to a one bed room suite in witch I'm very grateful for but the the whole reason for a review is to say what I feel and see from a personal view the morning buffet brought me back to my time I spent in the army hard scrambled eggs in a pan cold potatos bacon bread fruit I don't need to go on it was awful the net morning I decided to try there platinum breakfast that can free with the soom thay prepair it and bring it to you much better fruit oatmeal a pastry and something thay called a croissant but wouldn't call it that but it was better then the day befor the server was pleasant . Do not get room service the menu is very very limited and did not come with any condiments half the stuff was missing from the order and as you know if it doesn't come all at once every thing gets cold waiting so that was a huge mistake and the store thay call there coffee shop way over priced witch I expect no problem but you would like to get what you payed for I felt vey ripped off .well I always have something good to say about a Starwood hotel but this was hard to do .think twice before you book.. Sorry Starwood I still love I hope this helps you to review the service at this property .

Room Tip: As always try to get a upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Aloha Jeff V,

Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas for your recent stay. We were disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations with regard to service and your dining experience. We invite you to speak with a manager on duty at your convenience so that we may personally discuss your stay. In the meanwhile, we have shared your valuable feedback with our team so that we can continually elevate our guest experience and ensure our guests are being well cared for. We look forward to turning around your impression of our resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for 7 nights at the Westin Princeville - rained a fair amount so did not get to spend as much time enjoying the property as we would have liked - what we did enjoy was 2 dinners in the resort restaurant (try the short ribs), using the shuttle to the St Regis for their beach and sundeck views, walking around the perimeter of the property ocean gazing, general walking in the Princeville area including walking for ice cream at Lapperts, good service, quick check-in, helpful concierge, clean room - we stayed in a studio and the kitchen facilities are fairly small so makes meal prep a bit of a challenge - nice to have the in room washer and dryer - we would stay here again - this part of Kauai is incredibly beautiful and worth spending some time exploring

Room Tip: we had a ground level room and there were lots of mosquitos out (perhaps the rain) so didn't sit...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leslie154946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a beautiful resort villa! We own a time share here, so are just a bit biased. In fact, we own two of them here in Princeville. It's an outdoor enthusiast's paradise! Views that can't be beat; wonderful walking areas; challenging beach access, but no problem for even us old fogies (72&70 respectively). Kitchens in each villa are adequate, if not gourmet facilities. We cook in most of the time and have no limitations. (I do miss baking my own pizza!). We stay at least two weeks on Kauai every year and love it! The short drive to Hanalei provides many exciting things to do: farmers markets, slack key concerts, beach walks on the Bay, several great eateries, and more. Biking in or near Kapa'a Town is available also. Hop the free shuttle to the St. Regis for a special afternoon or evening out. So many things to see and do......life doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a bit more difficult to obtain, as they are more limited in number. We love g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamikaze316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went to Kauai, Hawaii to visit the Tiki Iniki Grand Opening Event. Michele Rundgren recommended this Westin because it is within walking distance. Bottom line .. we enjoyed it so much we bought a Time Share Condo! First off, service is amazing! The pools are gorgeous and so peaceful. In fact, the most relaxing place on the planet. We stayed in a room over viewing the Golf Course! Beautiful sunset views. The best part is the Westin provides a 10% discount card at the local shopping center and we purchased all our food and cooked at the Westin Ocean View BBQs. It was very romantic with lanterns aflame! The rooms were lavish and the beds comfortable. The morning breakfast bar was excellent and the poolside lunch spot was average. Dinner nice, although a bit expensive. Recommend doing the BBQ option and one or two meals at Tiki Iniki in the shopping center a 1/4 mile away!! Last thing .. staying here gives you beach rights at the St Regis on Hanalei Bay. Stay at Westin & visit St regis for oceanside views. EPIC. Thanks! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Visit the St Regis for ocean side fun at Hanalei Bay!! The St Regis services free to Westin residen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful well appointed resort for 3 nights at start of our Hawaiian vacation. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, well sculptured and maintained. The staff members are polite and helpful in the main, though we did have a bit of a ropey service experience at brunch on Sunday where we seemed to be forgotten for half an hour.

The selection of hot and cold delicacies was phenomenal, very well prepared and hit the spot perfectly. The freshly prepared waffles are to die for!

The on site gym was adequate with the standard cross trainers, running machines, bikes and weights. The steam room and sauna were clean and well appointed. Personal training plans available for the dedicated.

We had an afternoon by the pool sipping Mia Tia's and munching on delicious bar snacks where we were served by a happy friendly waitress. Other days were a bit blustery and rainy but could not detract from the beautiful ocean views and whale spotting opportunities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Aloha Craggy40:
Mahalo for the review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding the grounds and the Westin Workout located at the resort with 24 hour access for our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed Nanea Restaurant’s Sunday Brunch buffet. Thank you for recognizing the polite and helpful staff members and apologize that the service at Brunch could have been more attentive. We have shared your comment with the leaders at Nanea to look at training areas for improvement. We hope you to see you visit us again in the near future. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Westin Princeville in a one bedroom villa in February 2014. Overall, it was a very good stay.

Checked in at 7:30 PM, and the front desk and bellhop were extrememly friendly and helpful. We'd been flying for 11 hours and driving from Lihue in the rainy dark, so we were eager to check in and get some food. The bellmen took our bags to our villas as we dined in the in house restaurant, which for dinner we found pricey but serving solid food (and we were so tired we didn't really bat an eye at the bill then).

The villas are very typical Westin style (I had previously stayed at the Westin Villas in Maui, so I knew what to expect). My father and sister were very impressed by the space offered in the one bedroom villa, and we were very comfortable with enough space to escape from each other occasionally. Bathrooms are very large, and we loved the shower!!

Overall, the front desk and concierges were helpful, able to book us into a luau and a Na Pali boat tour last minute. The service really shines with the waitstaff and the valet/bellmen: we found them to be incredibly friendly, very relaxed, and always ready with an answer to our sometimes random questions (i.e. why are there so many roosters running around Kauai?)

The breakfast buffet was very good, and we did have two days with credits since we didn't need cleaning every day. Sunday Brunch was also good, although again a bit pricey relative to the standard breakfast without a ton more options.

We did make our way down to the very rocky beach that you can access just outside of the property, which connects to a larger beach park further to the east. Wear sneakers/boots if you take the trek: in rainy conditions especially, it's very muddy and slippery, so you need proper footwear. (I found it adventurous, my sister was not pleased).

It rained on the North Shore every day of our trip - as it is prone to doing in the winter - so we did not use the pool very often. But my sister and I highly enjoyed moving from hot tub to pool and back in the quiet pool areas near buildings 2 and 3: the light rain would meet the heat of the hot tub and create this wonderful mist effect that accentuated the tropical ambiance.

Fitness center is very small, which during good weather is probably less of an issue since Hawaii is great for outdoor fitness pursuits, but since it was so rainy during our stay, we would have appreciated a larger space for workouts. As it was, it felt very crowded since many other guests had similar ideas about working out and waiting for the rain to clear.

All in all, it was a positive experience, and I would easily recommend the Westin to families especially. If I were to stay in the North Shore again with family, the Westin would be my first choice: solo or part of a couple I would likely look at the St Regis.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room in building 2. Building 2 is nice because it's a very quick wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspiredexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing