We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quality that you expect from Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Princeville is such a great place to stay while on the island. The views are spectacular, and it is not too far if you want to do a day hike on the Hanakapi'ai Trail. The hotel is very nice. The rooms seem identical to any Westin hotel, except they have a washer/dryer and kitchenette (which is nice). The only drawback to this hotel is the lack of beaches. They tell you that you can utilize the beach at the St Regis Princeville, but there is very limited parking there for non-guests of the St Regis. Then the St Regis makes you walk along the side of the property so that you're not in view of their guests, and they won't let you use their beach chairs, etc. So if you're going to stay at the Westin villas, just don't plan on spending time at the beach. Go to the south side of the island if you really want good beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Aloha pokes12: Mahalo for providing a review on your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort and the spacious accommodations with the conveniences of home including the fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, whirlpool tubs, complimentary high speed internet access, the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath and more. As we are located on an ocean cliff, we do not have direct access to the beach, however, our staff provides our guests with a Beach Escape Guide that outlines the nearby beaches which is a short drive from the resort. This beach guide provides our guests with the facilities at the various beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. We apologize that you had the experience outlined in your review at the St Regis Princeville. Typically our guests would take our complimentary shuttle to the St Regis, walk through the lobby and take the elevators to the beach area where the St Regis staff graciously welcomes The Westin Princeville guests and provides and area on the beach with beach chairs. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again. Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I left feeling very impressed. I stayed in the one-bedroom suite which was very clean and modern looking and more than enough room for me and my girlfriend. Highlights of the trip were the welcoming and friendly staff who went above and beyond to help us plan our week especially on the days that the weather was not the greatest. The food (dinner) at the hotel was very reasonably priced and some of the best seafood that we had while staying on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyyanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear RyyanR: Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first visit to Hawai’i and for recognizing the staff friendliness and their warm welcome. We are delighted that you had a nice guest experience with us and that you had an opportunity to experience Nanea Restaurant and the island inspired cuisine offerings including the wonderful seafood dishes that are created by our culinary team. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the islands. Mahalo and Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As Starwood Platinum Members we have a great number of options as to where we vacation. For the second year in a row, we have used all of our Starwood options to stay at one place, the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. In addition to a great quiet location and relaxed atmosphere, we come here for one reason...the people that work here ! They have become our OHANA.

We love to spend our day being lazy around the pool. Karly and Hupele and their gang, Mytra, Jhensen, Shawn, Mary and Preston make sure everyone is comfortable and have what ever they need. Then there is the food and beverage group out at the pool, Chris, Cass, Melissa, Rebecca, Anabelle, Avalon and Kayla. They anticipate our every need and always make us feel glad to be there. The atmosphere is like going over to your best friends pool to hang out.

Over the last couple of years, the food has become top notch. Jason and his team Eric, Cody, Anna and Maddy are great. They go out of their way to make sure you really enjoy their food. If dining in Nanea, ask for David as your server. He will treat you right.

As I mentioned earlier, you become Ohana. The bell Desk crew, Shannon, Kyson, Steven and Clifford will help you with anything you need including that massive Costco run.

When you are there and need anything, call Service Express and Frani, Kalili or Rita will take care of you. Michelle and James at the front desk are extremely helpful.

Finally Denise, Julie and the rest of the Management Team are always available to talk story and help in any way.

We unconditionally recommend this Resort for your next vacation and to all our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bracks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Aloha Bracks72: Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review. The staff is always delighted to see you on your return visit. Thank you for recognizing the wonderful staff that we have and our efforts to make our guests feel like they are part of the Ohana. We appreciate the positive comments on your experiences at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou (until we meet again), Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our second trip to this beautiful resort, and we were surprised to find we enjoyed it even more than the last visit. (And if you read my review from last time - it was glowing)! The resort itself is perfect. Clean, exceptionally well maintained, with friendly, courteous, and helpful staff throughout. There wasn't one person that didn't try to make our stay as amazing as can be. Kudos to all the Westin team! Our studio room was exceptional, with a peaceful and private view of the golf course and a sliver of ocean. As non-owners, we could not have asked for a better view. We enjoyed using the well maintained BBQs and prepared all our meals so that we could savor every moment on our lanai or on the cliffs watching the whales. This is truly a magical place for us, and we are already planning to return the same time next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_ikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Susan_ikt: Thank you for choosing to have a return visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us even more than your last visit. Mahalo for recognizing our team and the service that we provide. The BBQ grills are a great amenity to have a casual meal while enjoying nature including the whales this time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Until we meet again, Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this location. The room is spotless, modern and has all you could want.

The grounds are well maintained and beautiful setting. Great pool for kids. Private pools for adults.

Cons: no access to beach, far from main markets, brunch starts at 8:30 (late as most with kids up at 6:00)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Elmirawashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Aloha Elmirawashere: Thank you for writing a review on your stay at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We are delighted that you are having a fantastic stay with us and enjoying the spacious accommodations. As we are located on the ocean cliff, we are not a beachfront property and we hope you will have a chance to visit our concierge that has a beach guide which outlines the number of beautiful beaches located a short drive from the resort. The beach guide provides information on these beaches, driving directions and ocean safety information. The Princeville Market is a convenience market at the resort that stocks basic grocery items, sundries and prepares hot and cold food such as breakfast sandwiches, Starbucks coffee, smoothies, hot and cold sandwiches, pizzas, salads, side dishes and more. The main grocery store in the area is located 1.5 miles away from the resort and we provide complimentary shuttle service to and from this store. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay with us and encourage you to contact our Concierge or Service Express staff should you have any questions or need assistance with information. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spent a week here in August of last year (somehow forgot to post this until not), with the family. He had three units overlooking the cliff/ocean. It was sooo quiet and everyone slept great, Kauai especially Princeville is an area that pretty much so to sleep at sunset. Maybe if your in Hanalei or Lihue you it's busier, but nothing like Honolulu.

We used this resort as a home base for a lot of our adventures to various parts of the island and then would come back at night to relax and sit by the pool for a few hours in the afternoon.

We arrived late at night on Saturday the 3rd after spending a few days in Oahu and catching a sunset dinner at Duke's which was awesome. Sunday we just used as a rest day and relaxed at the hotel and slept in got some shopping done at Costco for everyone.

Monday we spent the day down at Hanalei in the morning then back to the hotel in the afternoon for lunch then went down to Kalapaki beach for the afternoon great beach for all types of activities. This ended up being my favorite beach on this trip just for all the activities and cool stuff around (Duke's, shops and nice beach).

Tuesday we had a early morning excursion with North Shore Charters, they where great and the small group we had a lot of fun going in the caves and snorkeling. The weather had been pretty crummy a few huge storms where passing by so for the first time we did not see many turtles or any dolphins which was strange. Oh well can't predict nature. Afterwards napped by the pool most of the afternoon, this was great because the property never seemed crowded and no one was rowdy or acting a fool. It was like this everyday we where at the hotel so if you want to get away and unwind this is a great place.

Wednesday was our South Shore and West side day. Stopped by all the key points Waimea Canyon, Jo Jo's Shave ice (OMG do not miss this place it is amazing). Stopped by a bunch of beaches on the way back ending up at Poipu. The current was really strong so we went back to Kalapaki beach for the rest of the day and then headed back to the hotel for a bbq dinner.

Thursday we an early morning excursion with Erik from Hike Kauai, what a great guy and experience. Kept the conversation fun and flowing the whole time. Also gave great insight onto what life is like on the island. We where done by 9:30-10 then headed back to the hotel to rest up and relax by the pool. Had lunch and a few drinks and later in the afternoon/evening hung out in Hanalei and grabbed dinner at Tahiti Nui, the Huli Huli chicken was really good (yes I know it was from Tiki Man pizza)

Friday was our next to last day always a sad day to think about, seriously where did all the time go. We spent the morning snorkeling at tunnels and the afternoon down at the St. Regis beach. I had made reservations for everyone at the Tavern at the Princeville golf course for that evening. The sunset alone was worth the price of the meal, but the food was good and reasonably priced for Hawaii.

Saturday got up early and had one last sweep of Hanalei and the beach totally empty and got some good photos from the pier. Then headed over to the hotel to get packed up and ready to check out. On the way to the airport we stopped to do some shopping in Kapaa and grab lunch. Then off the to the airport for the long flight back to JFK. The direct service from JFK to Oahu is awesome from Hawaiian Air.

The hotel was really nice the grounds are very well maintained and its the perfect tranquil setting for anyone who either wants to get away from it all or be super active and have a nice comfortable place to come back to at night. The rooms are the same as the units in Maui or Cancun very modern and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but if your looking to be in the heart of everything or a party scene this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpolobear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Aloha rlpolobear9: Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us last summer. It is nice to read the details of your experiences at the resort and around the island. The north shore of Kaua’i is indeed a nice area to relax and enjoy nature. The resort is a great place to unwind after a day of adventures at the beach or around the island. Please visit us again on your next trip to the islands. Mahalo and Stay Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our recent visit to the Westin Princeville was just what we needed. From the very friendly reception at the door to the bellman bringing our luggage to our room, it was smooth and relaxing. Our room was extraordinary w/ a spectacular view of the ocean in one direction and the mountains that were used for the movie South Pacific's Bali Hai, in the other. We were treated to a mix of weather, but even rain in paradise is still paradise. The facilities at the Westin were more than adequate. I recommend using the very friendly and knowledgeable concierge(s) for all your needs for information and reservations. I also recommend using the restaurants, Nanea, Wailielei pool side bar, and the Market. Excellent selection and great food. We made use of the daily "Happy Hour & Pu Pu's." While it was somewhat crowded, there were always places to go to find solitude on this resort. Noisy pool areas were off set w/ secluded pools and spas in various places. A free shuttle was available for most destinations in the Princeville area. One destination is the Tavern restaurant on the Prince Golf Course that is a "Roy's" restaurant that has an excellent view for outstanding sunsets! Another destination is the Makai Golf Course which is a great challenge. One of the best destinations is the St. Regis Hotel for restaurants, the bar and their beautiful beach. The Westin seems to be the foci for the whole area. Peace and quiet to be sure, but a full range of activities to engage in, no matter what the weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear craigpainter: We are delighted to hear that you had a nice relaxing stay with us. Thank you for recognizing the friendly and efficient staff including the friendly and knowledgeable concierge team. We are happy that you enjoyed dining at Nanea Restaurant, Wailele Bar and the onsite Princeville Market. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your great experience at the resort and the Princeville area. We hope to see you on a return visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £262 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing