We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good resort for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good resort for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Weather in Kauai was dismal when we landed, but this place really made it worthwhile. This hotel is actually a condo/time share with resort quality amenities. We had stayed for 5 nights. It is quite good, although a bit far from lot of sightseeing places. We paid to get an upgrade during check-in and it was well worth it. The service is quite good, although you are allowed only one cleaning service during each stay per rules. The staff was really helpful during the entire stay. Really liked that they had lot of toddler amenities like stroller, etc. I'd recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for ocean facing room at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wndrlstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Aloha vndrlstr: We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend the resort as a place to stay. Thank you for your review and for recognizing the good service and the helpfulness of the staff. We hope to see you back on a return stay on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    579
    201
    59
    41
See reviews for
562
962
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Kauai and our first to the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We loved this Westin property for all the same reasons we love Kauai - it's a great place to relax.

We stayed in building 6 which I would recommend for its proximity to the Napali Pool. Our 2 year loved that it was just a screen door away to go to the pool. We watched whales play every day in the cove that the Napali Pool overlooked.

Service was excellent! Our room was set up with a crib, diaper genie, high chair and a step stool for our stay with a 2 year old son when all we had asked for in advance was a crib.

Our concierge had lots if suggestions that our 2 year old could enjoy. We had no problem filling our week with great activities.

We will definately return to this Westin property.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Findlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Westin last week and it was delightful. I bought a package that included an avis rental for our stay. We stayed in a studio villa with a kitchenette, dishes and appliances. It was comfy and fit our needs. We had a spectacular view of the mountains and our villa was near the maile (quiet) pool. So, we were away from the children's pool. It was so peaceful and quiet that I slept like an angel. The Nanea restaurant wasn't the greatest. However, the bar snacks were much better. But, no one can really wreck onion rings. The grounds were kept emaculate. The pools were shallow. But, they were very pleasant. The pool bathrooms were very clean. It rained pretty much every day that we were there, but the rain didn't stop us from venturing away from the resort. We visited 4 beaches in the area and took in some amazing views. The currents were rough so I couldn't get in any ocean swimming. Still, we enjoyed ourselves and had a delightful time.

The only thing that sticks out as not so pleasant was our brief time at the St. Regis. We were told that the St. Regis was a sister resort. And, due to this relationship we could gain access to the beach there. Most of the staff members at the St. Regis were very helpful and friendly. But, as the saying goes, one burnt kernal of popcorn always leaves a bad taste in your mouth. There was one man who treated us like we were second class citizens. The color of our towels told on us LOL. He told us where we could and could not sit and that the beach chairs were only for St. Regis guests. Hmmm...that's interesting. He even accused the guy sitting next to us (also a Westin guest) that he stole a magazine. What?!?! Who does that?!?! Anyhoo....I don't care much for pretentious attitudes. Plus, that side of the beach wasn't even that great. Other than that, we had a fantastic time. Everyone was warm and friendly.

Room Tip: If we ever go back, I would opt for the one bedroom villa instead. The full kitchen and dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Aloha Shonda: Mahalo for the great review. We are delighted that you had a nice and peaceful stay with us. Thank you for recognizing the warm and friendly staff at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. We apologize that you encountered some less than welcoming attitude with one staff member at the St Regis Princeville. We work very closely with their leadership team and will share your feedback with them to enable them to address it appropriately. We are glad that overall, you had a fantastic stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Kaua’i. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed here in December 2013 for 5 days and enjoyed our stay enough that we are returning for a week at Thanksgiving this year. We will include our 5 year old granddaughter this time because we all kept saying "Elise would love this" each time we encountered something at the resort or in other areas of Kauai.

We had a 1 bedroom unit, which was large enough to give us the space needed for 3 adults. Our daughter used the sleeper sofa in the living room, while my husband and I took the bedroom. The kitchen was perfect for our needs - it has full sized appliances (fridge, dishwasher, and cooktop) but does not have an oven. While we would have used an oven once or twice during our stay, it wasn't too inconvenient to do without. Management does have a few toaster-ovens which can be requested.

The bathroom is enormous! It has a lovely, large whirlpool tub, a separate large shower, a spacious double sink vanity, and the toilet has a sliding door for privacy - nice when the unit is being shared. Another great feature is that the bathroom can be entered from the living area or the bedroom, which is nice for those who have different sleeping times. There is also a small washer and dryer in the unit, which is convenient. Just tuck a small amount of detergent in your suitcase so that you don't have to pay Hawaii prices for it!

The 1 bedroom unit has a nice sized dining table next to the kitchen. The living room has a queen sleeper sofa, a comfortable chair, and flat screen TV above a dresser with nice drawer space. From the living room you can access the balcony.

One thing I really appreciated during our stay was the friendliness and professionalism of the entire staff. If we needed anything, it was taken care of immediately and with a smile.

There is a small, but well stocked, store in the lower floor of the lobby and I found it convenient to run there to buy everything from postcards to salt and pepper and freshly made fruit smoothies. We made one trip to the larger grocery store in town for the bulk of our supplies, but the store at the Westin was perfect for last minute needs.

It is true that the beach for the Westin is down a trail that seemed too extreme for me to even try, but I had read about that in advance of our trip and we were happy to take the shuttle to the St. Regis to use their beach, which is lovely. And the sunset viewing from the St. Regis terrace is not to be missed!

The only drawbacks:
1. the limited number of parking spaces close to the unit - we usually had to drop one person off with all the "stuff" we accumulated during our adventures, then one of us would take the car back up for valet service in the main lot
2. the swimming pools could have been a little warmer for December

Bottom line, we are looking forward to our next visit to The Westin, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coldcreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Aloha coldcreak: Thank you for outlining the details of your recent visit. We appreciate your comments regarding the amenities offered in the spacious one bedroom villas as well as the convenience of having the Princeville Market on site at the resort. Mahalo for recognizing the friendliness and professionalism of our entire staff as they strive to ensure our guests are having a wonderful experience. In addition to the St Regis Princeville beach access (sorry, no pool access) that is available to our guest, there are a number of great white sand beaches within a short drive from the resort. The staff does provide Beach Experience Guides which outline these different beaches which include facilities available, driving directions as well as ocean safety information. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort including the first time visit for Elise. A hui hou (until we meet again), Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We are owners at this resort but had never been here before. We have been to the resorts on Maui and in Cancun, Mexico and this resort was every bit as excellent as others in this brand. The buildings are only 3 story and the atmosphere is much quieter and more relaxed.....we really loved our time there. Be prepared for extraordinary prices for everything from fuel to food on Kauai....even high for Hawaii standards, but our stay was wonderful. Once we found the nearby town of Hanelei Bay our trip was complete. This is a beautiful, quaint place full of shopping and fun places to eat.

Room Tip: We were in building 6 which was perfect. A great view of the ocean, and one of the smaller, quiet p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha steve7124: Thank you for the review on your first ownership stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are happy to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy the relaxing nature of the resort and the island of Kaua’i. Hanalei town is a great place to spend a morning or afternoon exploring and it is conveniently located just a 5 – 10 minute drive from the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next ownership stay with us. Mahalo & Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a wonderful week on beautiful Kauai and at the gorgeous Westin Ocean resort @ Princeville. The suits are so well outfitted and the beds so comfortable you will think you are at home in Hawaii. Be warned the stove hood doesn't vent outside the suit which is annoying especially if you are cooking up a storm...open your patio door and close the bed room doors when cooking. The pools are plentiful but shallow (max 4 feet)and the hot tubs are perfect;y hot for relaxation after a big day of hiking, beaching or sight seeing. There is a great little gym equipped with all the regular gym items and if you like jogging- the golf course has paved paths. The resort is attractively situated near beaches, adventures and hiking. It takes about 40 minutes by car to get here from the airport at Lihue. The restaurant in the complex is excellent.. You will love this place!

Room Tip: Suits in Building #1 4102 4101 are on the ground floor with views overlooking the golf course and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brodie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear brodie52: We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. The spacious accommodations provides the comforts of home with amenities including the fully equipped kitchens, whirlpool tubs, washer/dryer, Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, complimentary high speed internet access and more. It is nice that you had a chance to enjoy the pools at the resort, the Westin Workout and Nanea Restaurant & Bar. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the islands.
Mahalo & Stay Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great room with a little kitchen and laundry facility. Super clean and quiet.

The hotel is located in a little community with a great path for running. There is also a shuttle to the St Regis.

The restaurant seemed to be a bit understaffed for breakfast so if you are in hurry, have the buffet so you don't have to wait.

Do your groceries in Kapaa or Lihue. Things are much more expensive in Princeville.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing