We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property but Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Property but Needs Updating”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an ocean/golf course view room onvrhe first floor. The mosquitos made it impossible to sit out in the patio in the morning and evening as we were bitten numerous times. The rooms are standard Westin timeshare rooms but the floors were dirty, the woodwork paint was peeling, the air conditioning and refrigerator motors were loud. The beds, as in most Westins, we're outstanding and comfortable. As noted in other reviews, the knives were dull and the neighboring rooms noise was disturbing. There are no beaches in walking distance unless you want to go down steep hillsides off-property but the views from this cliff side resort were breathtaking. The pools were warm and large enough to handle the guests and we never had a problem getting lounges. The kids pool should stay open longer and the pool bar should be placed better (it is located in an out of the way corner) to enjoy the view and have a drink and a TV ball game. They would probably triple their sales of drinks and snacks if this were the case. Groceries should be purchased at Costco in Lihue or Safeway in Kapaa. The Foodland is close but prices are higher and the place was always packed with people. There are plenty of grills on the property, some with outstanding views of the coastline. Unfortunately, Lihue is about an hour drive away on the two-Lane road to Princeville.

We enjoyed our stay but our previous stays at the Westin Ocean in Maui was much better as it is closer to restaurants, the beach and the property feels and looks better maintained and modern. The staff here was very nice except for a bellman who tried to tell us that the large tip given to the employee who unloaded our vehicle of luggage was not shared with him. He had his hand out for more but we told him to work it out with the first bellman.

The property is nice, relaxing and the surrounding area is "old Hawaii style" but we probably won't be back as the Maui property is far superior.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrincevilleMgr, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha Gilroygarlic,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas and taking the time to review your recent visit. We are sorry the condition of your room did not meet your expectations and invite you to reach out to us to provide your room number as we would appreciate the opportunity to ensure our high standards are maintained. We take the quality of our guests' stays seriously, and look forward to addressing the lapses in quality you experienced. On behalf of the Westin resorts in the islands, we hope you will join us again and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    591
    207
    61
    42
See reviews for
575
991
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom villa (which was actually a single and studio with connecting door). Disadvantage: This meant was only one closed bedroom. One child on the studio and the other two one the sleeper sofas in each "room". Advantage: Two kitchens and two washing machine/dryers. Also made the total space very spacious. The rooms were nice and bed was comfortable. Bathrooms had both tubs and showers. Kitchens were adequately stocked with equipment and dishes. The grounds are immaculate with spectacular views of the water and golf courses. The pools were very nice but a little too small for the number of people there so during high season get there early. You have privileges at the St Regis next door except the pool. We did not go there, however. Pool side food and bar service available. There is a kids pool but it is only for really small ones so the main one is packed with "older children. If you have all older teenage children or none at all, this is not very relaxing. Fitness room available with nice equipmen Concierge service good. Big pain is you pay for $13 per night for overnight parking. Crazy, just build it into the price of the room. Good value though is in exchange for giving up daily cleaning of your room you get a breakfast brunch at the Nanea restaurant. With two rooms and our breakfast package, we enjoyed buffet everyday. They have Viking grills outdoors for guest use that are convenient and cleaned everyday! The Sunday brunch is very good. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tablefor5NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha tablefor5NC: We are pleased that you had a great family vacation with us. Thank you for your feedback on the room layout and amenities. The resort has 4 pools in which one is the Keiki (kid’s) pool and the Malie pool at the east end of the resort is designated as the tranquility or quiet pool. Thank you for participating in our You Tidy, We Treat program where our guests have the option to forego daily housekeeping service for one breakfast buffet per day. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to enjoy the Sunday Brunch in Nanea Restaurant as well as some of the 20 BBQ grills that we have spread throughout the resort. We do have a $13 overnight parking fee for either valet or self parking. We do not charge a resort fee although we provide amenities such as complimentary high speed internet access in the villas as well as throughout the public areas. We hope you will choose to have another family vacation with us in the near future. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We are SPG members and property owners here and we love it. The unit is spacious and decorated nicely. We always make sure to stop at the Safeway or Foodland in Kapaa to pick up food and if we get in early the staff always stores it for us. We also make sure to pack a swimsuit, in case we get in early and our room is not ready and just go swimming in one of three pools. I do wonder why the two smaller side pools could not be designated adult only pools, since the main pool is big enough to accommodate children and the noise they make, it would be nice for couples to have a quiet place to go. I don't think it would be an issue and I have seen this done at The Grand Wailea in Maui and the Westin Hotel in Maui and it was very pleasant. The small pools are to small for a big group of kids. Anyways, just a suggestion not a complaint. I love coming here and will continue to do so. We did not eat at the restaurant, but have heard great things about it. The grounds are immaculate and the staff are very friendly. It is great for couples and families and close to many great beaches off site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dremwver86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha Dremwver86: Thank you for your review and for your loyalty as an SPG member as well as owner. We appreciate the recommendations on tips for grocery shopping and preparing should you arrive earlier than the check in time to enjoy the resort while you wait for the room to be available. We are delighted that you enjoy the pools at the resort. There are 4 pools including the Keiki (kids) pool, the main two level pool and two smaller pools – the Malie pool and Na Pali pool. The Malie pool or tranquility pool is designated as the quiet pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just returned from our 4th stay (within the last 6 years) at the wonderful Westin Princeville and yet again we returned both revitalized and relaxed.

We are seasoned travelers and I can state unequivocally that the Westin is one of the best lodging experience from the beginning, middle and the end of our stay.

The staff that must be noted and applauded is Reena, who made our pre-trip inquiries planning and stay so helpful and pleasant, Reena is a joy. Dan at check was very accommodating and then there was the very welcoming concierge Natalie as well as the guys greeting us the moment we pulled up! These fine staff truly redefines hospitality.

The 1 bedroom was perfect as it always has been for our family of 3 (including our 8 year old). Whenever we had a questions or the need for extra supplies or anything else the staff were there in minutes to take care of business.

A few suggestions for the Westin: perhaps have the opportunity for guests to rent beach gear on the premises (we bring our snorkeling gears) but beach chairs and boogie boards could be nice and helpful.

Also have the kids pool stay open past 6 PM (perhaps 7:30) and keep the poolside bar and bites open until 8 pm.

All and all, this is 10 stars if they allowed that! Mahalo

Room Tip: We loved building 3 outside the quiet pool ground level. But I hear building g 6 and 7 are also wond...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything on the premises is beautiful and thoughtful - The recycling is reassuring and important.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha Sunny S: We are delighted that you enjoyed your 4th stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We appreciate your recognition of Reena, Dan and Natalie along with other staff members. We are pleased that the one bedroom villas are perfect for you and your family with the amenities provided in the room along with the many items we have on request and are readily available for our guests. Mahalo for the 10 star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in Maui and this hotel was different but very enjoyable.

Beautiful view, although not directly on the beach. The grounds were well cared for and the staff were very friendly.


This area is quieter than Maui and was a nice change.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank denlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Wa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have visited the Maui Westin ocean villas and recently stayed at the Princeville Ocean Villas. I must say that the Princeville Westin won me over. I truly enjoyed our visit and really my only complaint was that the A/C unit is quite loud..it would go off and on during the night and tended to become annoying. The grounds are gorgeous and the customer service was on par with what I have come to expect from the Westin. We enjoyed the cliff top pool each day and found the views amazing. We did have a couple of bugs get into our room but the housekeeping staff came immediately and used a "safe for kids and animals" pesticide....it smelled like rosemary and mint. What I truly was impressed with is that they left the can so I could read the label (which I did) and we had no issues after that. The room itself was spotless and we were not surprised to have a few bugs wander in (they could easily have come in on us after our days sightseeing).
The restaurant on site is a bit pricey but had great service. We also were pleased to have the market available on site to pick up a few items that we had forgot to pack. We ended up grilling quite a bit and there was always lots of open grills to use...no waiting. All in all we had a very nice trip and would recommend the Princeville Westin to anyone interested in a relaxing Kauai vacation.

Room Tip: We were in building 6 which had great access to the Cliffside pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: The pesticides used in our room were organic and safe for humans...this was great.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjjpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear mjjpower: Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your visit with us and that you took advantage of using one of the 20 BBQ grills that are available to our guests and located throughout the resort. Mahalo for mentioning the great customer you experienced throughout the resort and in Nanea Restaurant. We appreciate your recommendation for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas as a place to stay. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had no idea what to expect, we did not even know we were at the Westin until the morning we arrived on Kauai. From the moment we arrived the staff was amazing. Our room wasn't ready but the whole team of them did everything they could to make us comfortable. They took our perishable groceries to a frig somewhere, and delivered everything to our gorgeous room later once we were "in." The front desk agent even loaned me his personal car charger for my cell phone so we could safely go exploring in spite of little battery life left. We5, myself and my four ten year olds, loved the pool area. The kids had a great time on the property, and I did too. The service around the pool area, the food from the market and restaurant, was all delicious. But the best part of our stay was the room. We had a one bedroom suite and all five of us slept like babies. The room was so very comfortable. We loved the jacuzzi tub and the inroom laundry, and the bed. My children even commented that this was the nicest place we had stayed. The quality and care showed at every turn. Thank you Westin, for helping make this trip a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and loved our views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank we5scorpions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinPrinceville, Manager at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha we5scorpions: We are so pleased that you and your family had a trip of a lifetime at The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Thank you for mentioning the wonderful staff we have and how they go out of their way to ensure our guests are having a great experience. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the pools, food as well as the spacious one bedroom villas and the amenities that provide the comforts of home. We hope to see you back for a return visit soon. Mahalo and Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing