We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 January 2011

GREAT place with well-priced rooms. Upon check-in, we had a small maintenance problem with our studio room, so we were quickly upgraded to a one-bedroom suite which was amazing. The studio would have been really nice too. Full kitchen, amazing bathroom with jets in the tub (same as the studio room). They brought a crib for our baby which had the most comfortable mattress (the baby version of their adult mattresses) and the service was just amazing. Pool was wonderful, and you can also access the St. Regis beach, which is a wonderful beach for children and families. Too bad the water was too turbulent to go swimming. They also have grills there so you can buy your own meat and grill it. They are 7 minutes away from Hanalei town, and a short drive over to tunnels beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

Me, my husband and his parents stayed here for two weeks during December. While the hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly, two weeks was far too long to be at this resort. There is really nothing to do in the immediate vicinity of the resort, and there is only so much laying by the pool I can handle. The bar menu was standard food that tasted great, but the hotel restaurant was rather disappointing. We ate dinner there once, when our waitress had no idea about wine, and the food was rather bland. We also had the Christmas day brunch, which we found very disappointing and extremely overpriced. It is odd that the hotel only does brunch once a week, on Sundays.

Our rooms were very large and cleaned every day. The kitchen facilities are adequate, however, there is no oven. Neither my husband and I usually have trouble sleeping, but we both found the beds unbearably uncomfortable, despite claiming to be renowned for their mattresses. The pool was overrun by screaming children. Most hotels have a separate adults only pool, and it was disappointing that this one didn't. There is a beach nearby, but it is almost inaccessible. Without driving miles around the island, the only way to get down is via an extremely steep dirt track. My husband and I went down after it had been raining, and we were both slipping all over the place. You really need to go to Hanalei Bay.

I would recommend this hotel to a family that is looking to just relax and not do much. However, if you can afford the extra, I would recommend staying at the St Regis instead - we went there almost every day and the food, spa and bar was much more enjoyable than what was offered at the Westin. There is much more to do on the south side of the island, so if you are not looking for seclusion I would not recommed staying here. Nevertheless, Princeville is a beautiful area and has some amazing golf courses so I would recommend a 2-3 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Great location but a little hard to find in a mixed neighborhood of resort condos, hotels, and -- it appears -- year-round residents. We enjoyed the constant sound of the ocean from the bluffs above it and walking down a trail to the water where there was snorkeling and also some probably not legal camping. The resort has good, though not great food, and no breakfast service except to buy from the small convenience store on the grounds. I found that a little odd. Overall, better to eat in the local restaurants of Hanalei Town. Concierge services here sometimes include a pitch to become a villa buyer. It's not overbearing, but it is an example of the schizophrenic personality of what is, in fact, a lovely, lovely place to stay. Don't avoid it, but be prepared for not exactly a typical luxury hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiantsLosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for the last 4 days of our trip to Kauai. We started out in Poipu where we stayed for 7 days, where we did most of our activities, and I had no idea how beautiful the island really was until heading up to the north shore for our stay at the Westin. We celebrated New Years and my birthday (New Years Day) at the Westin, and they were so sweet they even had a birthday card for me! The hotel seems very new and well taken care of. The restaurant is great, the poolside bar is very convenient, and my favorite is that they have a little convenience store on site with groceries, to-go pizzas, breakfast foods and even beer and wine! And nothing is too over priced. Our room was perfect, a one bedroom with a full kitchen with granite, living room, dining area, a huge bathroom and a great lanai which opened right onto the tranquility pool. We felt like we had our own private pool and spa! The larger pool and spa is great as well, and BBQs are everywhere, and they sell steaks and burgers in their store. And while staying at the Westin you have full use of the beach (among other things) at the St. Regis right up the road, which is right on Hanalai Bay and is breathtaking! (There is a free shuttle between the two resorts, also there is free day time parking at the St. Regis.) We had a late flight out on our last day, so we still used the pool and grounds after checkout and they have hospitality rooms with showers/baths/TVS etc so we could get ready before our flight. After arriving I wished we had booked more time there. It really is great!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiek1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We enjoyed a 12 day stay here, using our Westin Resort timeshare exchange. Found the staff exceptional. Quiet even tho lots of kids but since pools are separate, not a problem. I suffered a broken foot just days before our Hawaii vacation & didn't want to cancel. Glad we didn't. They aren't set up real well for wheelchair access but went out of their way to help us out. A new experience being wheelchair bound & makes one realize how important handicap access is. all in all, a great place, well maintained with a great staff!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We booked our room through Expedia. We usually try to stay at budget friendly hotels but we decided to splurge because this resort had great reviews on Tripadvisor.

We stayed in a one bedroom studio which is a confusing way of staying it's a studio with a kitchenette. It's perfect for two people but can sleep up to four with two people on the hide-a-bed. The room is spacious but it would be cramped with four people.

The queen bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a glass shower, a separate jetted tub, and a single sink.

The kitchenette was small but adequate. We appreciated having the full sized refrigerator and microwave. It also had a mini sink and two burner stove.

The only area for improvement was that the walls were thin. We could hear a conversation in the adjoining room that was at a normal inside voice volume and the screaming children next to us might as well have been on our room.

The service was friendly and responsive for the most part. However it was unpredictable a few times. We made an appointment with security to fix our safe and he didn't showed up 45 minutes late. No one called us to let us know he was running late. Overall, the service was helpful and courteous.

While staying at the Westin you may also visit the St. Regis. It is a ritz resort where celebrities were staying during our time there. The St. Regis beach was beautiful but drinks were pricey- $16 for a mojito.

There were several pool beautiful pool areas. One pool area was on the edge of the bluff overlooking the ocean. There is a larger pool and a stream (not connected) with koi. There is also a children's pool with a small waterslide.

Overall, we had an excellent experience and would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WkndBoudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Outstanding stay at this property, one we'd return to in a heartbeat. We felt it represented outstanding value and amenities for the price.

PROS
- Location within Princeville - some of the rooms have good to great ocean views, although there is no beach here (guests are invited to the St. Regis beach, and receive complimentary parking)
- Grills located throughout property great for grilling
- Parking for most units very close by
- Good pools (especially by Hawaii standards)
- Great room amenities - spacious and clean
- Restaurant and Princeville Market are great value considering the price of food in Hawaii in general

CONS
- As mentioned, a few but not all units have ocean views (very few Princeville condos do, though)
- The smaller studio units do have a kitchenette but they're part of the room - the fridge does make a fair amount of noise (we turned ours off as we weren't using it)
- Be forewarned, particularly with children - the North Shore closes up shop pretty early and there aren't a ton of eating options. The Foodland at the entrance to Princeville is expensive but convenient.

We had a minor complication with a package rate we had booked, inclusive of a rental car. The manager at the front desk - Ed - and his staff were SO helpful and eager to provide outstanding guest service. They were proactive and resolved the issue to our satisfaction. The employees are what make this property special, in our experience. That itself exceeded our expectations. We look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFO-World-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £226 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing