We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish this was our home because it was perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We wish this was our home because it was perfect.”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Everything about the resort and the studio room was clean, comfortable and exceptional.

What we liked:
- clean, clean, clean room and a very comfortable bed
- the kitchen and cabinets are fully stocked with clean, usable dishes, pots and pans and utensils
- Abundant number of gas grills around the resort
- market on the resort had an incredible selection of food and necessities (ice cream, Starbucks coffee, hot breakfast, meat for the grill, local products, etc.
- parking when not valeted is free
- the grounds were so well manicured and lush
- the pools were always clean
- the location is great for beaches and sight-seeing
- there is a restaurant on site which is great in case you don't feel like cooking or going out
- there was one maid service during our one week stay

We have NO negatives about this resort except that we couldn't stay there forever. :) It was actually great that there was no beachfront because it got us out to explore.

Tips:
- Hanalei Bay near the pier is a beautiful beach for swimming
- Foodmart in Princeville Market had the best selection of food - get the store card for discounts
- the Taco Cart by Hanalei Bay is an awesome, cheap lunch while you're on the beach
- if it's raining or grey, drive to the South shore and it will probably be sunny
- try the Farmer's Market on Saturday in Hanalei!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbieNRockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    603
    210
    62
    44
See reviews for
600
1,012
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas falls into the top 5 hotels I have ever stayed in, and here's why:

- Spacious, clean suites. We were upgraded to a 1-bedroom villa upon check-in, which gave us a full kitchen including all appliances and any utensil you could need, a huge bathroom, spacious seating area, and separate bedroom. We also had a patio overlooking the golf course next door and ocean. The room was amazing.

- Friendly staff. Everyone was very friendly, and one of the bellmen remembered our name from day 1. Even a week later when we returned to the Westin after being on Oahu, he remembered us when we checked back in.

- We received a welcome basket upon check in, both times, full of delicious snacks and goodies for the kitchen.

- Gorgeous pool with full poolside menu service for their restaurant. We ordered lunch and cocktails by the pool, and there were always plenty of seats available.

I just loved all of the space we had, and we were able to go to the Food Lion, just a 2-minute drive from the hotel, to grocery shop on Day 1 so we could fix some meals in our kitchen. Plus, housekeeping does the dishes for you! It really doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyphan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Kauai. The Westin hotel was awesome. It was our second choice in a Costco package, was not our first choice due to it being pretty far from the airport.....about 30 minutes on a good day. But, our first choice sold out before we could book. All I can say is "What a second choice!".

The hotel staff were helpfull and kind. On one particular morning I went to the marketplace to get breakfast and it started to rain hard as I was leaving. One of the workers came to my rescue with an umbrella and walked me to my building.

We stayed on the third floor of the second building and had a wonderful view of the pool area. I saw this tip on here before we left and requested a third floor.

The marketplace is limited in their selection, mainly sandwiches and pizza, but the service is fast and friendly.

The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were cleaned well daily.

There is a Foodland very close and the kitchens in the rooms are well stocked.

The only downfall was the limited parking that is available. There is a small parking lot that was for two buildings and it filled up quickly.

The hotel is close to Queen's Bath, Hanalei and the Lighthouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluteGirl128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville Resort in Kauai for 7 nights, and we had the most amazing time! The resort is new, so the rooms are all very well furnished, well equipped, lots of parking space- outside as well as covered. The resort has three swimming pools, we found the smaller one close to where our apartment was very convenient. We were on the first floor, so we had easy access from our lanai to the pool, the whirlpool, the BBQ. Very convenient. The views were breathtaking! Situated on the cliff, we had amazing views of the ocean, the lighthouse, the beach, the golf course, the mountains- what more can one want??

As for the staff at the resort- they were all very friendly and helpful. During our stay, we made some amazing friends- and real connections. We met this very friendly Assistant Manger in Training Paula, by the poolside who offered us some cold water- and that was the beginning of a wonderful friendship- we met up with her and Ed, the Manager of the resort later on during the week again during one of our walks,, and enjoyed some amazing BBQ pork, good laughs, and as Ed said, That's the way to celebrate Thursday" by the poolside BBQ.

Subsequently, we also made some other amazing friends at the resort, and still keep in touch with them- hoping to meet with them same time, same place, next year!

Each day at the resort was memorable, each day, the smiling friendly staff made our day, and ensured that we were taken care of. I would highly recommend this place to stay! Looking forward to going there next year!

Alka & Balaji Malur, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freespirit5568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westin since it had a kitchen, washer and dryer. It saved us on spending a lot on going out to eat, which we still did since we wanted to taste the local food. We bought our neccessities at the Wal-mart closest to the airport since I had read a review that was the place to shop. There aren't too many other little shops around. We did find there is a store around the corner from the Westin but I'm not sure how they were on price since we bought everything at Wal-Mart. We were very pleased with this hotel. We didn't know at the time it was a time share hotel. They never bothered us or attempted to trick us into a 3 hr lecture. We happen to over hear someone giving a tour. Rooms were clean, everyone was really nice & it was a quiet hotel. There weren't any kids but there is a kid's pool for families. I would give this hotel an A+. We hope to go back soon!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buffymolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Very disappointing. The resort has a "very worn" feel to it. We had a few sub par meals at the resturant and lots of attitude from the staff. Our room was tiny and when someone smoked in the nearby room the smell came through the vents into our room. In the fine print they disclose that if you skip having your room cleaned you get a daily $10 meal credit...I wish we did the cleaning crew actually stole money from us ! When we reported this to manager Jennie Manlutac she said "I'll use this as a training oppertunity." The police told us that people often have things stolen from the resort. To top it off the mosquitos ate us alive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MikeUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We were at this property for just two nights although I wished we had stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded at the time of check-in from a studio with garden view to a one-bedroom unit overlooking the water. The unit had very high end decoration and furnishings. It was a short walk to the pool, although one of the smaller pools in the back of the property had a nicer setting, overlooking the water, where you could spot whales off the coast. There is no beach at this property but they will shuttle you to the St. Regis (2 miles away) where you can use their beach (or you can drive yourself and use the valet for free). We ate at the restaurant onsite one night where we sat outside overlooking the pool and had a nice, if somewhat pricey, dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Property: Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas are atop the lush, emerald cliffs that line Kauai, this retreat is perfect to savor refreshing Pacific breezes while gazing at the sparkling ocean. Stay in spacious one and two-bedroom villas with up to 1,310 square feet accommodating up to eight adults. Each villa includes fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Princeville
Westin Princeville Ocean Hotel
Princeville Westin
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing