We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other then the Size of the Room, there isn't too much Positive”
Review of Wyndham Shearwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Shearwater
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My boyfriend & I are currently staying at the Wyndham Shearwater (Otherwise known as the Pahio at Shearwater). The room is huge... but that's about the only nice thing I have to say about it. Our kitchen is INFESTED with Ants (there are hundredddsss). I had called down to front desk about it, and they just someone over to drop off a can of raid so WE could kill/clean up the ants. We can't leave anything on the counter for more then five minutes without it being swarmed by ants.

We've also run into some pretty rude staff. This is a non-smoking property (which we were un-aware of when we booked). We were smoking on the patio when a member of the staff walked by and snapped at us that we were not allowed to smoke on the property. We insisted that we didn't know we were not allowed as we put out our cigarettes. My boyfriend said "well that sucks", and she snapped back with "Yeah maybe for you, but not for me!"

The wireless internet also drops every five minutes. It takes 10 minutes to be able to re-connect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Shearwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week and all I can say is that it was one of the best vacations we ever had. This condo has a great location in a great community. The views were spectacular(3rd floor, unit 311) with view of the ocean and the beautiful golf coarse. The unit was large with sauna tubs in both rooms large beds that were comfortable. The condo does not have air-conditioning but it is not needed with the breeze from the ocean (even in august). The kitchen and common areas are large with all appliances and cook ware you could want and even a washer and dryer in unit. The staff was excellent and extra TLC from the concierge Tiffany Pearce who made our stay extra special with tips on were to go, eat, directions, help finding lost items and everything else under the sun we could have needed.( you should ask for her she is a gem to this place). If you play golf the proximity could not be better. And it's location to all the things to do on the north shore is excellent. Visit the Tavern on Kuhio hwy for a great meal with fabulous view and ask for a waiter named Peter for excellent recommendations. Must dos while you are here are hiking the kalalau trail, swimming or snorkeling at tunnels beach, zip lining with prince ills ranch (9 zip lines one is 1200 feet long) and boat ride up the Na Pali coast line (if you go on the inflatable you get explore caves that can't be explored on larger boats like catamarans. There is just so much to do and see... One of the best vacations ever!

Room Tip: Ask in advance for and upper unit, they won't promise it but it is worth the request, use guest...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SanmarcosTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a top floor 2 bedroom suite. We loved it here! It may not be updated but it had everything we needed. The pool was great & the people staying there were so nice. The concierge was very helpful as well. We bought groceries & made most of our meals. We just went out for dinner everyday. We hiked to a secret beach next to hotel as well. I would love to come back here someday.

Room Tip: Try to get a top level room for the view.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sephorachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We traded through RCI for this timeshare. We stayed in unit 313, and loved it. I am sure there are units with better views, but the views of the ocean, golf course, and Kilauea lighthouse in the distance were lovely. As we were on the top level, the unit had cathedral ceilings, and as were an end unit, had more windows than those in the middle. Yes...the unit could use some updating, and the carpets are extremely tired, but overall it suited our needs to a tee. After a full day of snorkeling and sightseeing, it was so nice to come "home" and relax on our lanai, and enjoy our view.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuietTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We've stayed at various timeshares in the last six years and this had the best view yet. We stayed in unit 110 and loved it. The lanai was extremely spacious and the ocean view was unbelievable - what a great place to have breakfast and start the day.
The units are very comfortable and roomy. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our first visit to Kauai.
The pool is quite small but overlooks the ocean and was never crowded.
Be prepared to be woken early by the cockerels. There is nothing you can do about it - just part of the experience.
There is no air conditioning but you don't need it. There are fans and the sea breeze cools the unit wonderfully, especially at night when you can keep the screened windows and doors open and listen to the ocean below.
If you want privacy on your lanai then ask for a unit at either end of the resort, rather than overlooking the pool.
The resort does not have any restaurant facilities but you are close to the (very pricey) St Regis, Princeville Shopping Centre and Hanalei.
We were very sad to leave and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We loved the views and the Clubhouse professionalism. Having a computer available daily til 430pm was nice for airline tickets etc. The pool was super! Hot-tub and adjacent bathrooms and of course local chickens with babies. The condo needed the floors scrubbed and carpet deep cleaned or replaced due to heavy dirt and stains, your feet and/or socks became dark gray after just a few minutes in the condo. The walls were fine. Each unit has a Jenn-Aire grill stove which was nice although we would have preferred a Bar B Que grill outside. We was given the handicapped room without being told or asked, which means the shower water goes over half the bathroom, I was able to secure a squeegy from the Clubhouse to keep it dry and then I used towels too. With the view from the deck it was an ideal place to stay and we would return for sure. You cannot checkin or out at this resort you must go to their other resort which is manned 24/7 and offers 2 computers to use and staff very cordial. This resort is not lit enough to find at night, another sign would be great off of the access road and face the facility sign towards the roadway adjacent. We were "surveyed" by Wyndam during this visit with no time-share selling, just a "how goes it" type survey. Evidently Wyndham is asking time-share owners and previous owners the what, why and how come when it comes to time-share ownership. This is a really quiet resort with what looks like 32 total units settled on top of the clifts facing the North/NorthEast, beautiful sunsets, 3 resident stray cats and 3 chickens with 5 babies for the week which they do not want you to feed! Enjoy as we did!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This was our big family vacation of 2009. The first time the kids have been to Hawaii. We are owners at Shearwater, though we did not stay in our own unit. We stayed in room 312 from June 13 - 20 (then another week at the Bali Hai resort down the road). This is a 3rd floor unit in the builidng nearest to the golf course (which is under renovation at this time). Very spacious 2bd 2bath unit with lanai overlooking the ocean - stunning views. These units are one of the largest we have seen thus far in all the years we have used timeshares.

We were here 3 years ago, and I am disappointed to see that the units have not been updated, and the age of the appliances is showing. The freezer would not freeze water bottles, the hot water heater stopped working on the 2nd day, the mattress in the master bedroom was terrible - you could feel the springs (they offered us a stained memory foam pad that was too small for the king size bed). I will say that the maintenance people were quick to arrive and did fix the things that were broken.

There are no outdoor grills here, but the units have a nice Jenn-air cooktop with a grill on one side, so we cooked our steaks in the room. For food, we shopped at Costco, Safeway, Wal-mart when we were in the area near Lihue and Kapa'a, and for last minute stuff, Foodland in Princeville (sign up for the Makai card to save some money). Most of the time we ate breakfast and dinner in the room, and made sandwiches to bring to the beach (Tip - In the clubhouse, check the closet near the bathrooms to borrow a small cooler and beach chairs).

This is a smaller resort, and some of the activities offered were held at sister resorts, such as Bali Hai. Many of the activities cost money. We did not participate in them this time, as we preferred to spend our time visiting the beaches.

The kids enjoyed the pool, though it's small and doesn't have the neat 'extras' like Bali Hai with the waterfall and sand bottom kiddie area. The chemicals in the pool burned my husband's eyes when he opened them underwater. I also saw this happen to 2 other guests during our stay. I'm not sure what they are using in the water, but it's painful if it gets in your eyes.

The housekeeping staff is very efficient, and will exchange the used beach towels for new ones. It would be nice if the beach towels were a different color than the bath towels so you knew which ones were the big towels.

Note - Per the 'owner update' we attended, Wyndham is in the process of getting owners to transfer (buy in) to the Wyndham system, and supposedly a few years down the road, this resort should be getting the updates it should have been getting all along. I sure hope this happens.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeville hotels
0.4 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
749 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
#6 of 12 in Princeville
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shearwater

Address: 3730 Kamehameha Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: £175 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Shearwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Shearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahio At Shearwater Hotel Princeville
Wyndham Shearwater Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing