We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice! This is an excellent condo complex.”
Review of Wyndham Shearwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Shearwater
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lafayette, LA
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Very nice! This is an excellent condo complex.”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were transferred into this condo after having some issues at another Wyndham property in Kauai. The unit we currently occupy is not updated yet, but it is still nicer than many condo units, and it has 3 things going for it….. LOCATION, LOCATION, and LOCATION!

The condo itself (unit 213) has a great view going up the golf course on the right, and fabulous views of the beach to the left. The condo has a nice kitchen that looks into the living area that is very well arranged for watching the 40+ inch Sony flat screen TV. The furniture has not been updated, but it is as nice, or nicer than the furniture in the updated unit at the Wyndham resort we were in prior to coming here.

The bedrooms are very nice, one with two full beds, and one with a King. Both have flat screen wall mounted TVs and both bedrooms have very nice bathrooms attached.

There is a small, but very well kept swimming pool with a nice hot tub. The resort is not very large, so the small pool and hot tub are more than adequate.

There are two brand new Weber Genesis grills. They need to add trash cans to this area other than the large dumpsters. Nobody wants to put something in a dumpster and then go back to cooking food. I’m sure this is something they will take care of soon.

Once this unit is updated it will be a 5 star condo unit. As of now, I’d rate is as a very nice 4 star unit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was a great base camp for Kauai. Not much beachfront resort in the North anyhow, so you might as well go for stunning views. We love Hanalei so liked being close. If your knees are OK and you don't mind hauling your luggage up stairs would recommend the top floor because of the sweeping cathedral ceilings. We had a great view to the lighthouse and the sunsets were gorgeous. There is a nice little (really little) pool overlooking the ocean. Might catch some glimpses of whales from the deck.

Room Tip: Top floor for great views and cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank HomerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and another couple just got back from Kauai. I would highly recommend the Shearwater to anyone looking for a great place to stay that is relaxing, clean and friendly. Our unit was VERY clean, had the best view of the ocean, friendly staff. The ground were nice as well. The unit are a little outdated, but not really a deal breaker. We stayed in 109, 2 bedrooms, 1 king, the other 2 queens...(both with bathrooms), kitchen, washer and dryer, dishwasher machine. The beds were a little hard...but really I didn't care that much. Of course, being in Hawaii, you don't spend a ton of time in your room, but you want a relaxing & clean place and this was it!! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is our second time being guests at this location. The rooms are very roomy and furniture looked updated from the last time we were there. Kitchens well equipped, but they need to update the appliances. The refrigerator had rusted sometime before we got there and they spray painted it. Not a huge thing, just minor items we noticed. They really need to clean their carpets. Our bare feet would get dirty and don't think about wearing white socks. We had a two bedroom with a great ocean view. Too bad the weather was not the best, so sitting on the lanai was short lived. (we forget our sweatshirts) Very quiet just about all day. We were in the bedroom with the two smaller beds. Not really a problem except the lights they have on in the evening made it seem like it was day time all night long. I'm not sure if their mattresses are poor, or we have a great one at home,

This location overall is very nice. We had a couple of minor incidents, and the staff was there quickly to repair the issues. The exterior was kept clean and looked freshly painted. I suspect that keeping anything nice in Hawaii is much more difficult that most places with the humidity and salt air. Enjoyable week at the Shearwater during difficult weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNancy_in_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We are the other couple that stayed at the Shearwater in February with shirken3 in condo #312. We agree completely with them. It was a very nice condo with large bedrooms and baths. I especially loved the large lanai with plenty of room for 2 lounge chairs and a table for 4. The view of both golf course and ocean from the lanai was beautiful. Since I am a music lover, I was very pleased to find an Ipod dock so I could listen to all my favorite music as we enjoyed our view from the lanai. I would definitely recommend the Shearwater to friends and family.

Room Tip: Try to get a condo on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moretrips102251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at the Pahio Shearwater Resort condo #312 February 4 to the 11th, 2012. This is a nice large 2 bedroom 2 bath condo with a full kitchen and a beautiful ocean view. We rented from an owner thru Redweek.com. We traveled with another couple and we both had plenty of room for our own privacy. Our condo was one of the highest units so we had the vaulted ceilings which really opened up the living area. We had a beautiful view of the golf course and a beautiful view of the ocean looking toward the lighthouse. We could see beautiful sunrises but we were on the wrong side of the resort for the sunsets. Spent every morning on our lanai eating breakfast and enjoying the views. Loved having the full kitchen so we could cook our own meals and enjoy them on the lanai. This is a smaller resort with only 28 units but each units has an ocean view. I personally would stay away from the 1st floor units only because the view is better the higher up you get. The grounds were very well maintained and it was pretty quiet too. Housekeeping only comes once per your week stay and they only change the linens and take out the trash but that was okay with us. The only downside as far as we were concerned is the beds could use an upgrade. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and I would highly recommend this resort to all my friends. I've attached a few pictures of the resort.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shirken3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My boyfriend & I are currently staying at the Wyndham Shearwater (Otherwise known as the Pahio at Shearwater). The room is huge... but that's about the only nice thing I have to say about it. Our kitchen is INFESTED with Ants (there are hundredddsss). I had called down to front desk about it, and they just someone over to drop off a can of raid so WE could kill/clean up the ants. We can't leave anything on the counter for more then five minutes without it being swarmed by ants.

We've also run into some pretty rude staff. This is a non-smoking property (which we were un-aware of when we booked). We were smoking on the patio when a member of the staff walked by and snapped at us that we were not allowed to smoke on the property. We insisted that we didn't know we were not allowed as we put out our cigarettes. My boyfriend said "well that sucks", and she snapped back with "Yeah maybe for you, but not for me!"

The wireless internet also drops every five minutes. It takes 10 minutes to be able to re-connect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.5 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
23.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai
#6 of 12 in Princeville
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shearwater

Property: Wyndham Shearwater
Address: 3730 Kamehameha Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Shearwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Shearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahio At Shearwater Hotel Princeville
Wyndham Shearwater Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing