We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Paradise”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True Paradise”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We just returned from a 6 day trip to Kauai and already miss it! The location is absolutely stunning and the ocean view from our room was worth the money. I agree with all the previous comments-it's a pricey hotel from the $30 a day valet parking to the $34 breakfast buffet but if you're booking the hotel, be prepared to spend money.
Breakfast at the Makena Terrace is a must when waking up to the sunrise on Hanalei Bay. When I didn't get the buffet, i enjoyed their Banana Pancakes!
We also enjoyed the Kauia Grill for my husband's birthday-it's a must to reserve a table around 6pm to get a good view of the sunset. We ordered the Swordfish and the Mahi Mahi and they were excellent!

The spa was clean and relaxing-I enjoyed my prenatal massage with Jane. My husband had a sports massage which he thought was good but still preferred the spa at the Mandarin Oriental in Vegas to the spa at the St. Regis.


While the staff was very friendly,there were a few issues with service. It took about 25 minutes after check in before our bags were delivered to our room. Also ,we initially requested a crib prior to our stay and it wasn't in our room upon check in. We talked to concierge and they assured us they would deliver.
We left for dinner and when we returned, the crib still wasn't in our room. We called again and the crib was delivered within minutes.
On our last day, we were required to checkout at 1pm, however, since our flight didn't leave until the evening, we were able to use their hospitality suite for an hour (to shower and freshen up after using the pool). The first hospitality suite they gave to us was actually someone's room so we had to wait about 15-20 minutes for another suite. There was obviously some miscommunication, but once that was resolved, we were able to use the hospitality suite for the full hour they promised.

Overall, we had a great stay at the hotel. This was our first stay at a St. Regis Property and while staff was pleasant and friendly, service wasn't what we expected it should be. That being said, the location definitely made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    519
    262
    108
    71
See reviews for
622
1,656
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The St. Regis in Princeville has the best location and swimming beach of all the North Shore resorts. Your get the best sunset views and dinning at the Kauai Grill and Terrace restaurant. The amenities are 5-star all the way, and the rooms all have spectacular views of Hanalei Bay. We visited after reading a recommendation written at http://www.voyagemonkey.com that perfectly describes the resorts amenities and dinning experience at the restaurants. We had to check it out for our relaxing couples trip. The pool has very attentive pool service and good food service. The pool is next to the beach so you can go back and forth between the pool and the calm waters of the ocean. I'll now recommend the St. Regis to all my friends going to Kauai.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a great view. All rooms are great, but the upper floors will have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I got married at the St. Regis this past month and had an exceptional time. The primary reason for choosing this resort is its location. There are no other resorts in Hawaii that offer the breath scenery and views as the St. Regis Princeville. My wife and I also love to surf and Hanalei is unbeatable for beginners and intermediate surfers. The resort was recently renovated and was great for our 65 person wedding. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay here and were blown away by the beauty of Princeville/Hanalei. The views of the mountains and ocean are incomparable. One knock though is that it does rain quite a bit in this area of Kauai, however most people choose to stay here because of how lush and beautiful the vegetation is. We were able to see several rainbows from our suite! The St. Regis overall has an amazing interior...the lobby, bar, restaurant, etc all have a very grand feeling and most importantly have the stunning views of the bay. The resort is very secluded and has a cozy feel. The beach is attached to the property and the pool is nicely sized. The pool is also open 24 hours a day. The food is great, but a bit on the pricier side. The spa services are great and overall the staff is super friendly and nice. My wife and I can't wait to go back at some point in the future. Hanalei town and the St. Regis Princeville are one of our favorite places on earth! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The location, service, food, and amenities is the best on the island, both North and South. We loved the North side of the island much better than the South. The lush, tropical climate and "50 shades of Green" (as my wife puts it) is what makes Kauai so special. The South part of the island really didn't have this. If you are looking for a very nice, big hotel, lots of sun, dry weather, go to the Grand Hyatt. If you want incredible sunsets, rainbows, views of tropical showers in the distance over towering mountains while the sun blankets the resort, access to beautiful North shore beaches, hiking Na Pali, waterfalls, kayaking Wailua River, stay at the St. Regis. We were upgraded to an ocean view room with views of the bay and mountains and a private terrace. Everywhere we went in the resort we were addressed by our name. Everyone went out of their way to make our vacation special - it was the service that made the entire experience so perfect.

Be prepared to spend money, aside from the room rate (we used Starwood Points). Drinks are expensive (but good - try the Aloha Mary!), the food at Makana Terrace, the poolside grill, and Kauai Grill is very expensive but good. Even though it's hard to justify spending $40 for the breakfast buffet we did it 4 out of 5 mornings and it was one of the most memorable experiences we had (the view makes a good omelet an AMAZING omelet). You can also order off the menu but the buffet is the best value. Basically, my point is, be prepared to spend some $ - if you hold back you are going to limit the experience. We spent $2K over 5 days for all meals (we ate all meals except one at the hotel), including a $230 dinner at Kauai Grill, drinks (every night at St. Regis Bar for sunet and a few poolside drinks), snorkel rentals, and valet parking.

A few other things - We hit the hot tub and pool after dinner almost every night and it we usually had it all to ourselves (it's open 24 hours). This was about 10pm. Make sure you ask for towels and bottle water when you call for your car for the day's adventures - it's complimentary. The concierge has DVDs that you can borrow for free if you want a quiet night in. The sushi at Makana Terrace is very good - try the seared ahi app. Poolside drinks are around $15. Mixed drinks at the St. Regis bar are around $12 but smaller. Snorkeling at the resort is decent in the morning when the sun is shining directly on the reef for the best visibility - stay in the channels to avoid getting scraped. It was a shame to see some of the guests standing on the reef - you can tell it is already very damaged and the marine life is limited. If you want some good snorkeling go to Tunnels (ask the valet guys about best parking there).

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade ahead of time and make sure you let them know if it is your first time at the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Luxury hotel in an amazing spot with a view to Hanalai bay and the mountains in the background.

The hotel is massive and you have to change lifts twice to get to the tiny private beach, which even has a lawn almost till the shore!!

The decor of the roooms and Common spaces is not to everyone's taste, but the rooms are spacious and comfortable and have every facility.

We booked the local dance show dinner, which was Just OK.

While satisfied in general thanks to the service and mainly to the outstanding view from our room and every part of the hotel, we feel it is a little too sofisticated in the wrong way. The locals told us it used to be colonial style before they undertook renovations. Now it lacks personality and the building is plain ugly outside.

Room Tip: Do not go there unless you are willing to pay for the ocean view or you will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

For 20 years we've talked about going to Hawaii and we finally got there. Driving to the hotel we thought we were in paradise as we viewed crashing surf, African tulip trees and native flowers. We pulled up to the St. Regis and it was confirmed. A grand lobby and beautifully appointed room was the tip of the iceberg. The staff at the St. Regis is amazing. We were in for a week, by the second day everyone was calling us by name. Bryson, one of the parking valets, offered up a number of great places to eat - none of which wasn't wonderful, one of the other valets suggested venues for my landscape images, again, all great. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning. There was a great selection of prepared dishes as well as an omelet station, all great, but the waitstaff would pretty much get you anything you wanted. For example, the bacon wasn't as crisp as I would normally like, I mentioned it to the waitstaff and within minutes crisp bacon was at my table. If you want to feel like the king of the world, the staff at the St. Regis will get you close. Downsides, everything at the hotel is expensive. I thought $30.00 a day was excessive for valet parking. Drinks at the bar averaged about $15.00 a piece, I believe half the price was for the best view on the islands. We never had dinner at the hotel as there was no way it could be done for under $150 a couple, and we are not related to Trump or Romney. The resort is kid-friendly to a fault. I could not find a quiet place. It isn't the hotel's fault, most parents do not seem capable of reigning in their kids. Children were crying or running all over the property. The only morning I enjoyed a quiet breakfast was when I ate at 6:30 AM when the restaurant opened. I really think the St Regis is a great property, but I would not go there again unless they designate adult or quiet areas in both the restaurant and on the beach.

Room Tip: Partial ocean views are the best bang for the buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

When I go to Kauai I like to visit Princeville for the day and the St Regis for lunch.As of the 1st of the year they no longer serve lunch in the Terrace dinning room. What a disapointment as this is one of the most beautiful locations for dinning together with the infinity pool that hugs the terrace.
A staff member told me that this was a Corporate decision due to a slow lunch business. I must admit the main lobby at noon was pretty deserted in mid April.The choice was to have lunch poolside and here the staff reduction issue was very evident. Slow bar service and even worse meal service. There was 7 in our party and it is unacceptable for 3 meals to come out and then the balance some 10-15 minutes later. The staff on duty worked very hard to please but they can only do so much.I got the idea that the poolside lunch room had more guests than anticipated and this was confirmed by the manger who admitted that the staff was a bit overwhelmed. He 'comped' us on drinks and appetizers, which was nice but the point is the service standard of a St Regis was lowered and made for a disappointing visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing