We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons, but overall a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
NYC area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pros and cons, but overall a great experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We visited the St. Regis Princeville Resort on our honeymoon in October 2011.

Pros: Location is wonderful on north end of the island. Tranquil with ample space and great service. Staff was top notch from room service to the concierge to the pool. Unforgettable sunsets with ocean view room.

Cons: Quality of the hotel itself is not quite up to par with other St. Regis properties, despite their renovations. The layout of the hotel is a little bit annoying in that you might have to take two separate elevators to get to your room forcing you to allocate extra time just to get up to the main lobby to leave the property.

Room Tip: Ocean view room truly worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank n0npareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear n0npareil,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback about your honeymoon with us back in October of 2011.The St. Regis Princeville Resort offers a very unique uncompromising experience and service for its guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property, staff, and the unforgettable sunsets.
We pride ourselves in providing a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. From the details of the con part of your review, we fell below your expectations associated with The St. Regis, and for this we are very sorry. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the multiple elevators and layout of the property.I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    511
    260
    108
    69
See reviews for
610
1,640
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the St. Regis Kauai for our wedding anniversary. The experience was out of this world! Walking into the hotel lobby and seeing the majestic mountains and beautiful ocean is breathtaking! The terraces all around the property give you unparalleled views throughout the day, and they are particularly amazing at sunset! We planned our activities in advance through the concierge--they put everything into a planned itinerary for you so there is no work on your part! We did a Sunrise Helicopter trip from Princeville airport--it was unbelievable! One of my best travel experiences ever to see the Na Pali Coast and the island from the air. I couldn't believe the beauty--my jaw was on the floor throughout! Also at the hotel, we enjoyed the luau dinner show on Thursday, as it had delicious food and an unparalled setting! We also did the champagne brunch on Sunday, which was similarly outstanding. All of our service throughout the trip was top notch--very friendly, very helpful, and all a pleasure. The rooms are the height of comfort as well--such luxury you will never want to leave!

Also, one thing to make sure you do not miss--complimentary photography sessions from Pacific Dreams photography onsite. We signed up just wanting one or two photos of a special occasion. They created a video of our photos that was absolutely STUNNING. I can't even put into words how amazing of a job they did. It was the most priceless souvenir of our stay! I don't know how they manage to capture the sweetest candid moments, but they do. THANK YOU to everyone at Pacific Dreams--we cannot say enough about your talented staff!!!! Don't anyone miss this opportunity to capture memories in this stunning setting that will truly last a lifetime!

Room Tip: There is NO SUCH THING as a bad room here! I'd rather stay at the base room here than a high en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetasSodaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Sefutlaw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay. Memorable experiences are what we hold close to us through our lives and we thank you for selecting our resort to play a small role during your wedding anniversary. We will be sure that Pacific Dreams Photography received recognition for taking such excellent care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The St. Regis Princeville Resort and we wish you many more anniversaries to come.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We traveled with another couple to Kauai and Maui for 8 nights (6 of which were at the St. Regis Princeville). We paid for an upgrade to a Junior Suite (with an amazing view) and the room was a great size for all of us to have drinks before dinner, etc. Overall, the room was nice but dated (not that there was anything wrong with it). The only annoyance was that there was no airflow in the bathroom so if you took a shower everything was wet. When we asked the house keeper about it she offered to bring us a fan to help circulate the air (but i was hoping that the ventilation system could be fixed). One odd thing about the hotel is the lack of balconies or terraces for the rooms but the windows do open fully. We did not use the Butler service that comes with the suites for anything except bringing ice to our room but the butler was terrific and very friendly / helpful for bar and restaurant recommendations. BTW - in our suite was a small refrigerator and we moved the hotel provided (expensive) drinks around and made room for our own beer, wine, etc. This proved to save us $$$ at the bar. The supermarket in Princeville had surprisingly good prices on alcohol.

Our view of hotels and their star rating. A 5 start hotel in a major city is truly 5 stars (amazing service, excellent rooms, experience, etc) and a 5 star hotel on an island is more like a 3-4 star hotel (as respects service, quality of rooms, etc) but with a 5 star location / view. To be clear, this is an "Island" 5 star hotel but after visiting some of the other resorts on the island it is clearly in a league of it's own on Kauai (in our opinion). The other highly rated hotel is the Grand Hyatt and is on the south side of the island. It seemed nice with a great pool but the area down there is arid and flat (great if you want to sit on the beach in the sun all day) but it does not have the wow factor of the St. Regis and the amazing mountain / ocean scenery.

The breakfast buffet at the St Regis was very good but pricy. It was a nice relaxing way to start each day and they allowed you to sit and relax as long as you wanted. We ate all dinners off site and had some great meals in the neighboring town of Hanalei (we loved Bar Acuda, Halalei Dolphin, etc).

As for the hotel grounds, the location is the selling point of the hotel and it is amazing. The pool area is really nice and we never found it a problem to find chairs by the pool or beach at any time of day (one of the benefits of a smaller hotel with only 250 rooms vs the Grand Hyatt with 500 plus). Also, we cannot forget to mention the terrific staff at the beach / pool that always remembered your name when they gave you towels and pointed our where available beach chairs were located. The beach is nice but once in the water there are a lot of rocks / coral and we highly recommend that people bring water shoes to protect your feet.

There is no option to self park so you get hit with the valet charge each day but the valet service was amazing. The people were wonderful and we were constantly amazed how fast our car would arrive.

The only downside of our trip to Kauai was the weather... while we knew that it rains a few times per day, our week had more rain and clouds than sun which was disappointing but that has nothing to do with the hotel. Keep in mind that Kauai is a quiet place with little night life. We generally eat later but found that most kitchens are shutting down between 8 and 9pm. So plan to eat early and it never hurts to make reservations within 24 hours of when you want to eat.

While in Kauai we did a helicopter trip with Jack Harter Helicopters and it was a great experience as well.

After leaving Kauai we went to the Westin Maui (hotel not the villas) and enjoyed that as well but Maui is much more developed with strips of hotels along the beach... nothing like the remote exotic feeling location that we experienced at the St. Regis. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view... it is the reason the hotel is located where it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear NYCadventure,

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review on The St. Regis Princeville Resort. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service makes us a truly unique destination and we appreciate your acknowledgement. We are also pleased to hear that you anjoyed your stay at our sister resort, The Maui Westin (They are celebrating the 25th anniversary today) We hope you allow up the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We first came to this resort over 18 years ago when it was the Princeville Hotel and we were a newly married couple celebrating our honeymoon. We have been fortunate enough to visit again several times over the subsequent years; most recently just last month when we brought our children for the first time. Once again, we had a wonderful time at the Princeville and a most memorable family vacation.

For our traveling time and dollars, there is no place more magical than the St. Regis Princeville. They have taken a fantastic natural setting and enriched it with well appointed rooms, terrific restaurants, great amenities and attentive but comfortable service.

A week before we arrived, a staff member called and emailed to clarify what time we would be checking in and any special arrangements we might desire. This made us feel as if we were already on vacation! This kind of special attention and service continued thorughout our stay.

Having visited the other islands and multiple other resorts, we truly appreciate the fact that The St. Regis manages to accommodate every guest without ever creating a crowded, stressful or busy ambiance. With the help of the amazing pool staff, we were always able to get four chairs together with an umbrella and a view.

Everyone on the staff made us feel welcomed and relaxed and went above and beyond to assure a perfect stay. We are already busy planning our next trip to the St. Regis Princeville!

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Michelle P,

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for choosing The St. Regis Princeville Resort for your Hawaiian vacation. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a discreet experience of bespoke service. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed every moment during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our family recently spent a week at the beautiful St Regis Princeville Resort and opted to take advantage of a photo shoot with Pacific Dream Photography. From booking with Matt, shooting with Brian, and reviewing and editing with Jorge, every step of the process was seamless and professional.

Take advantage of the beautiful landscape of the St Regis property and book a shoot when you check in to ensure time for editing and photo selection. Our family now has photos that will keep our wonderful trip fresh in our minds forever. Best decision of our trip.

Many families we spoke with throughout our stay had a similar experience to ours. Pacific Dream Photography is absolutely a vacation "must!"

Room Tip: If you need a refrigerator, call before the trip to reserve! Waiting lists are common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Beth C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the resort and that Matt, Brian, and Jorge of Pacific Dream Photography could take such good care of you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The St. Regis Princeville as our ohana (family).

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

First off, some important disclosures--I was NOT a guest at the hotel. I had drinks at the bar on the lanai facing Hanalei bay and "Bali Hai" for the sunset. Also, I am a haole --but born and raised in Hawai'i -- and I visited Kaua'i long before it became a destination for rich tourists. That said--why would anyone who wanted to experience Hawai'i like this hotel? It has an amazing view. That's it folks. The hotel could be anywhere in the world. Its decor is "hotel très cher." Nothing else about it reflects Hawai'i.
My family and I sat on the patio for the sunset. Someone (who actually looked like a local boy) blew a conch shell. Then a very very haole guy in a uniform and with an ear bud gave a stupid (sorry) introduction to the sunset ceremony which involved breaking off the top of a champagne bottle. This is an old Hawaiian custom performed at sun down--not! The assembled guests were clamoring to take pictures of the "ceremony." My brother and sister-in-law said they saw Martha Stewart's TV program that morning broadcasting from a St. Regis in the Caribbean and they did the same thing there. Must be that whacking open a champagne bottle is a universal custom of indigenous peoples?

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaisri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Jaisri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The St. Regis Princeville Resort continues the tradition started by John Jacob Astor when he founded The St. Regis New York in 1904. Each evening at sunset guests enjoy a unique champagne sabering ritual to celebrate the transition from day to night. We hope that on a future visit you will be able to view the countless pieces of Hawaiian artwork and cultural artifacts we have throughout the resort. Within the St. Regis Bar you will find a 20 foot hand painted mural depicting the Oahi ‘O Makana, a ceremonial tradition particular to the North Shore of Kauai.

Warmest Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We just came back from 10 fantastic days at the St Regis in Princeville and had an amazing time. The hotel and location are unbelievable and the service is impecable and everyone at the hotel is super friendly. The sunsets from the beach or the lobby are the most amazing sunsets we have ever seen. The whole family had a great time. We are looking forward to going back and would highly recommend it!

Daniel F

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Aloha Daniel F,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit a review and for choosing The St. Regis Princeville Resort for your Hawaiian family vacation. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a discreet experience of bespoke service and we appreciate your acknowledgement. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing