We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
ANCOfficer82
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you ever travel to this island, this is the only place that truly encompasses the beauty and milieu of Kauai. Make sure you reserve a vehicle for your stay, since a one-way trip from the airport to the resort is about 90 USD, so its worth renting, plus you can drive around. The staff is extremely hospitable and professional. The views are breathtaking and the amenities are plenty abundant. The rooms (or at least the one I stayed in) are just ridiculous. WIth high quality furniture, electronics, sheets, and materials it's luxury at your fingertips. Breakfast, though expensive (40-50 USD), I would have to say is worth the price, unlimited buffet with gorgeous views allow you to soak up what you are there for, a getaway pampering vacation, an escape from reality. Spoil yourself and stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view with front patio, its worth the upgrade. The forest view, though still nice, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANCOfficer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Aloha ANCOfficer82,

Mahalo (Thank you) for taking the time to write such a gracious review about your stay at The St. Regis Princeville Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. Creating spaces with rich textures, beautiful lighting and amenities at arm’s reach where guest never want to leave is our ultimate goal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    495
    249
    104
    69
See reviews for
593
1,600
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have ever been to in Hawaii. The grounds, rooms, food, etc were all AMAZING!!! But the staff...you could not find better! They were all so full of Aloha, warm welcoming and friendly. We will absolutely be back soon. I love this place!!!

Room Tip: We were in 204. Loved the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Aloha Cary B,

Thank you for taking the to write such a wonderful review about your most recent stay. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising services makes us truly a unique destination and we appreciate your acknowledgment. We pride ourselves in providing a bespoke and flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. We look forward to welcoming you to back to Hawaii’s quintessential address.

With Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Truly a five star hotel experience with jaw dropping views of Hanalei bay. From the moment we arrived, the care the valet staff took to get us into the registration, to the moment we had to say "aloha" when we departed after 5 nights, we felt that the service was top notch-helpful without being obtrusive.
Check in was seamless and we were upgraded to a premier ocean view with unobstructed views and butler service (which we never used). The windows opened and we could hear the ocean.Though the view from our room was enjoyable enough to enjoy the sunset from each night, we opted for the regal St. Regis bar downstairs to gaze out the floor to ceiling glass walls while lounging on the very comfortable sofas and sipping on their fabulous North Side martinis to view the sunset. A couple of evenings we ventured out on the St. Regis bar outdoor seating area where we could hear the sound of the shell horn being blown when sunset commenced. Had a light supper after sunset in the bar of sushi and or samosas-very very good.
Makana Terrace for breakfast was again a photo opportunity with glass free outdoor terrace and those amazing views. Eggs benedict with kalua pork off the menu was divine as was the surfer omelet.
Kauai Grill was fine-the foie gras brulee with slow roasted strawberry was my favorite dish of the week. Very busy, need a reservation. Good wines by 2 glass carafe-if one just wants a little more than a single glass and does not want a bottle-great idea. No stuffiness about dress code that we noticed-we over dressed but we were fine with that, and noticed some in casual blue jeans and backpacks coming in.
The ONLY negative we experienced-and in the scheme of things, it is pretty minor-was the cocktails ordered at the outdoor pool bar-watered down and tasteless. We did not complain, but we were asked by two staff people as we walked away and left them mostly undrunk if everything was okay...we were hurrying to the St. Regis bar to get a real drink to watch the sunset.
The food in the outdoor restaurant was delicious and they could adjust the type of fish on a sandwich or on a salad without hesitation.
The beach below the pool was fine for walking on early in the morning and hanging out on during the day-same as the pool. No one was at the pool at night so it was a great time for some private time in the jacuzzi and some stargazing.
The hotel was immaculate-I could find no flaws in maintenance.
Comments about stuffiness I believe are unfounded...we witnessed a heavily tattooed casually dressed young couple on our top floor dragging a filled ice chest-and not a new one-and the butler asked if he could help them get it to their room. We did bring more clothes and probably changed clothes more than we would have if we had been in a condo-but that is a minor thing.

Would we go back again-yes, in a heartbeat! Expensive, but this time you do get what you are paying for...and it is worth it.

Room Tip: Only experienced the 11th floor and it was one of the quietest rooms I have ever stayed in-never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Aloha Dallasgirl53,

Mahalo (Thank you) for the gracious review. Our staff truly takes pride in providing
service that is beyond expectation. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, restaurants, pool facilities and captivating scenery. At the St. Regis Princeville we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, and we will let the Pool Bar Management know that the drinks were not up to standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

With warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I had the good fortune of spending a week at the St. Regis in August 2012. As other reviewers have reported, the views from this resort are incredible. You, like us, may find yourself lingering in the hotel bar for a while, unable to break away from the gorgeous views of the Hanalei Bay. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We were a bit disappointed in the lack of a balcony in the room, and while the room was nice, it didn't knock our socks off. The island of Kauai is fantastic, and the perfect destination for adventure seekers. We loved taking hikes from the hotel and the hike down to Queen's Bath in particular is not to be missed. We also really enjoyed our anniversary dinner at the Kauai Grill, which is a Jean-Georges Vongerichten restaurant. Overall, we had an amazing vacation here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillian771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Aloha Lillian771,

Thank you for taking to time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. Rest and relaxation is a veiled treasure found at our resort. The captivating scenery hold your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy the moment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at our resort and thank you for your acknowledging the Kauai Grill restaurant. We will be sure to share your comments with the Kauai Grill staff. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was expecting to be wowed, but was severely underwhelmed. Property was so in need of a update. Furniture was severely worn, room door was so scratched and dented. I stayed on the fourth floor where you have a outside entry room. HUGE rust stain on the wall, running down from fire sprinkler. Mattress was worn and lumpy, windows were dirty and I saw a bunch of ant like bugs on the furniture.
Now the bathroom, shower tub combo thing that is open, up against a glass wall that looks into the room. It's one of those flip a switch and it turns frosted. So while showering people in the room have a great silhouette of you taking a shower, this is a huge fail. I was staying with two fiends, you should be warned about this. The AC was hardly working and was very humid in the room.
Not a great stay. SO disappointed!

Room Tip: Stay at the Westin, it's newer and better maintained. Super expensive for a good name that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ndalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Aloha Ndalsteve,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about you recent stay. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, and we apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. The St. Regis Princeville reopened in 2009 following a major transformation to guest rooms and public space. We were disappointed to hear about the furniture being worn and other comments of your experience. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and we will be sharing your feedback with our Housekeeping and Engineering leaders.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

If you travel to the North Shore of Kauai you must stay at this property. While there are nice properties on the south side of the island there really isn't anything as grand as the St. Regis in Princeville.
The views are to live for and the service is going to spoil you.
There are multiple places where you must enjoy a sunset. It is spectacular.
I love the St. Regis Kauai.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, - at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Aloha ChrisCTB,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The St. Regis Princeville Resort. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising service makes us a truly unique destination and we appreciate your kind words. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Traveled here for my 6 yr anniversary w my husband and 18 month old daughter. We had such a wonderful time! Service was impeccable and the location was out of this world! We were pleasantly surprised at how many other people were there w children but overall it's still a romantic couples retreat. The resort really caters to all types. They had sand toys and pool floats to borrow for the kids and all types of activities for the young and old alike. The beach is perfect for young children as there are no waves and a nice little tide pool area. Pretty much every area of the hotel has sweeping panoramic views of the mountains and water and the sunsets are a tie with those of Bora Bora. As expected the prices were outrageous as is all of Hawaii so be prapared for the $22 cheeseburger by the pool and the $16 cocktails by the pool. If you want to have a few snacks etc for your room the Foodland is right up the street. Be sure to ask for the local discount which requires you to give your phone number and you will save big on your purchases there. We drove all over the island and although the south side was nice it didn't compare to the lush beauty of the north side of the island. Wish we could have stayed a little longer and hope we can come again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVE2LOUNGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing