We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to stay at this gorgeous hotel for 4 nights. It has the most stunning view from all the rooms but I think our room had a more amazing view. We were in the top in the corner so had a direct out to sea view with 2 windows so we got to see both sides.
The room is lovely. The service is incredible & the pool is so amazing we didn't want to leave it.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford to stay here. It is worth every cent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Signon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we couldn't agree more about the views. Mother nature put much thought and effort when she created the North Shore of Kauai and we are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy every aspect of it during your stay. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    524
    266
    111
    71
See reviews for
633
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis in early December 2013 and reserved a premium ocean view room with the possibility of an upgrade if available on check-in due to the type of package we reserved. When we checked in, we received the upgrade to a Jr. Suite. Our room was on the 10th floor and had wonderful views of Hanalei Bay although no front porch to sit on. We still enjoyed the room immensely as you could open the windows widely and get the great ocean breeze and appreciate the views from all angles in the room. The suite also comes with a bathtub that has views as well and butlers service. We weren't really sure what to so with the butler service but it was nice that they brought us freshly brewed coffee each morning and also provided lots of recommendations for local attractions.

This hotel does not have one of the open air grand view lobbies that many Hawaii hotels have but the lobby is beautiful and the deck views are fantastic. The dining room patio views are also spectacular.

Our stay at this property was fantastic. The beach and pool are very nice and service was excellent. The property seemed more natural and pretty than the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. There is easy access to the pool and beach level via elevator from the lobby. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the dining patio views were fantastic. Food was very good but typical resort prices which are expensive so be prepared to drop $ on food and drink if you don't leave the property. There are some good places to eat in Hanalei so we'd recommend going off property to explore the area and eat some of your meals.

We ventured off property to Tunnels Beach and Anini Beach as well as several visits to Hanalei Town. Tunnels was nice - got to watch surfers in some decent waves and also do some snorkeling in the reef which was a 3/4 mile walk in the sand from the parking area at Tunnels. The waves were fairly strong so we only Snorkeled briefly. If you go there, pay close Attention to the tides and don't venture out if you are not an experienced swimmer. They have a sideways rip current present at all times so pay attention to where you are when snorkeling. Tunnels is a fair drive on the 2 way road so be prepared for the drive. There is a waterway that goes across the road before the beach parking. I would not want to go across it in heavy rain. Anini also looks like a great snorkeling beach but same warning on the tides. We had shave ice in Hanalei and also ate at a local cafe which had a bar. Can't remember the name but the food was delicious and there were a mix of locals and tourists eating there.

We Snorkeled in front of the hotel as well and enjoyed that quite a bit. Snorkeling gear is available at the St Regis activity desk of $20 a day or you can rent it for $5 a day in Hanalei. This is not a great swimming beach as it is on a reef but it is great for snorkeling if the surf is calm. You would have to go elsewhere to body surf or boogie board.

There also is a nice walk from the hotel along the entry road that takes you by a golf course so walking is easy from the hotel if you want to get out and take a stroll for exercise.

After staying at the St. Regis, we went to the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. There was no comparison in terms of service - the St Regis wins hands down. If we had it to do over again, we would have stayed longer here and cut down our stay at the Grand Hyatt. The St Regis staff responded well to any custom requests that we had and they Hyatt did not. We also like the more relaxed atmosphere at this hotel versus at the Hyatt and Poipu. Hard to describe but we just felt more relaxed here and on the North Shore.

Not a cheap place to stay by any means but a great experience. If we come back and wanted to spend a bit less on accommodations, we would consider renting a house that is oceanfront and forego the service aspects but this was a great place to stay for our first time in the area. We also wanted a very relaxing vacation so having the services was fantastic!

Thanks to everyone at the St. Regis for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent a portion of our honeymoon at this beautiful resort. Upon check in, we met with Shawn at the reservation desk. Aside from being so kind and such an upbeat person, Shawn graciously provided us with an upgrade that was very much appreciated! Toppy - our porter - also provided a level of service that exceeded our expectations. He took the time to show us around as well as introduce us to the features in our room and provide some thoughtful recommendations. Our time spent with Caren at the concierge desk was well worth it as well! Again, the resort is beautiful. The pool view of the coast is not one we will soon forget. The wonderful breakfasts on the terrace were simply delightful. Don't hesitate to book a stay at this resort. You will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Aloha Erin 2131,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at our Resort. Our staff takes great in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible. We will make sure that our staff receives the acknowledgement that they deserve and we are pleased to hear they were able to offer you an upgrade. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I never been to beautiful place like that, these people treats you with a lot of courtesy ,love and aloha!! I was given the royal treatment. This place will always be remembered as a place with a lot of wonderful welcoming aloha!!!! Mahalo nui loa!!! May u folks continue to do all that you are doing and keep up the wonderful good work!!!

Room Tip: Be polite and bring a happy and wonderful peaceful attitude with aloha!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alohatravels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Alohatravels26

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review about your recent stay at our Resort. Our staff truly enjoys hearing positive feedback from our guests and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The location is magnificent. The hotel interiors is not what I would have expected from the St Regis, so they have obviously bought this from someone else, but not refurbished to the St Regis standard. Nothing wrong with it, but not the wow factor I come to expect from the hotel chain. Really friendly staff throughout - pool staff and breakfast staff in particular. Only downside is that they took 45 minutes to deliver a bottle of wine and it was not what we ordered, so we cancelled. Tried again the following night and was told it would be 45 minutes again (5 minute walk max), so we said no and the next day we asked for wine and beer to be delivered to our room during the day so when we returned in the evening we could finally have a glass of wine for our anniversary (which we tried to celebrate the previous two nights) and they still didn't manage to get it in our room. Finally the manager made it happen, but given it finally arrived on the 4th night after the anniversary the moment was definitely lost. This kind of thing should not happen. Location and views are amazing, be sure to take a helicopter ride in this magnificent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha Lonise,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that you did not receive the service in which you were entitled to. I have shared this review with our Private Dining Management as this is not the way our service should be conducted. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Recently spent 4 nights there during our first trip to Hawaii. The hotel is a little outdated, but the majestic scenery and incredible staff make up for that. The valet staff were the best!
Breakfast on the terrace was a real treat, only ate in the restaurant once, which was OK, but not great. There is nothing to do at the resort after dinner. You have to go into Hanalei for that, which has many fun places to eat. Come on, just a guitar player in the lounge would have been nice in the evening.
Our major issue was timing. There was a very loud Tony Robbins event which took over the place, centered directly below us. Why would they place us where they knew we'd be disturbed? I mean at 2am?
Would stay there again, but be careful of the room assignment next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha NancyV,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent experience at our Resort. We truly appreciate getting feedback from our guests and we apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Our Front desk Manager is very concerned when it comes to making sure our guests our satisfied with their rooms and I have shared your concerns with our Management staff in hopes that we may avoid these types of situations in the future. We hope you allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality for which the ST. Regis Brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked a garden view room. Upon arrive they upgraded us to a room on the beach 20 paces to the sand. Beautiful view. The entire staff was wonderful. I don't usually like going back to the same place for a vacation but I would make an exception here. The breakfast didn't seem too interesting and we ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt94598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Aloha Matt94598,

Mahalo taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing